I'm no good cook, but I'd love to try.

10 20

Good day, good day!

Have you ever felt like you were one of those people with good skills but not great? Well, I definitely feel like that in so many ways. Example, dancing, singing, playing guitar, playing volleyball, even in cooking. Those are some skills that I consider I know about but I am not great at, or not even good! Hahahhaa.

That was just the intro as I would like to submit another prompt article by @JonicaBradley , about food.

Let me introduce my sponsors first, go check them out and if you like my article feel free to be one too! :)

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

March 15, 2020

It was the day when the lockdown happened in the Philippines. I can still remember that as my boyfriend back then (now my husband) went back to the province, that's where he's office is. He immediately went back there before the boarders of Metro Manila closes.

Very unlucky me, that time I just resigned from my previous company and I did not expect that a lockdown will happen. I had no job that time and BPO companies are also adjusting on how will they make it work. It took me months before I got a new job though.

Why is this related? It's not hahaha! I just want to share a little story on why I tried to learn how to cook during that time. Since I have nothing to do, might as well try to learn other things.

Recipes and food that I learned to cook during COVID-19 PANDEMIC.

By the way, I only used condiments or ingredients that we can afford and what we already have at home.

Some recipes are what we Filipinos call 'pacham' from the word 'chamba' which means 'just lucky'. Yes, most of the time I just got lucky that it didn't taste bad. :)

Most of the recipes that I followed was from Panlasang Pinoy or sometimes the highest rating or review on google.

I'll put a little description about thr recipe for you just in case.

  • Garlic buttered shrimp

Ingredients:

Garlic, butter and of course,shrimp! Hahahaha! Even if I cannot ear this still tried to cook this recipe for my parents.

  • Adobo

Chicken adobo with mushroom
Chicken adobo with pineapple

I don't know how to translate Adobo but this dish is just simmered in soy sauce and vinegar, its main ingredients. You can also add potatoes or try other veggies or flavorings that you'll like. There are many varieties of Adobo too! As you can see, I made two.

  • Corned beef patty

  • Chicken tausi (chicken with saltred black beans)

  • Fish sarciado (fish with sauce)

It's sauce comes from the tomatoes and you can also add egg. I think? Hahaha well, you can always tweak a recipe.

  • Steamed chicken curry

Oh I remeber I wanted a roast chicken but we do not have an oven so I put the chicken in a foil and steamed it using a deep pot. I just wanted to avoid using oil whenever I cook. The oil in the sauce was just from the chicken itself.

  • Coleslaw

We always want veggies when we eat at least. That's why I made a homemade coleslaw.

  • Pork tokwa sisig (pork tofu sisig)

This dish is usually served during drinking session or what we call 'pulutan'. Filipinos love to eat, even when we drink. Pulutan is any snack or anything we can eat while drinking alcohol.

  • Creamy buttered porkchop

This was actually overcooked. The creamy sauce almost got dry, but it didn't taste bad so.... Hahaha!

  • Pork Hamonado

  • Fried chicken wings

I actually forgot what flavor I did on this one. I think it was sweet garlic flavor? Well the sauce was Sprite or Coke HAHAHAHA I can't recall!

  • Pan grilled porkchop

I called this grilled dinner hahaha just for a change.

  • Sweet and sour meat balls

  • Pork steak

Pork steak and again, the sauce almost dried up. Uughk.

And here are some snacks that I cooked during lockdown:

Puto (steames rice cake)

I thought maybe cooking wasn't for me, so I wanna try baking next but we do not have an oven so this is the least that that I can do. It tasted okay, but then I realized maybe baking is not for me either HAHAHAHA!

Mac and Cheese

This one is easy peasy.

Bananacue

Kamotecue

Custard Cake

Failed custard cake

Mojos and Fried Squid

Leche Flan

3rd attempt

I remember asking my sister if she can give me money to buy a tray of eggs, cause I want to cook leche flan. I want to perfect it. After a lot of attempts, the 2nd and 3rd attempt was almost perfect! However, I wasn't able to do that again. I forgot the exact measurements that I used huhuhu.

Dalgona Coffee/Milo

Yes, the famous Dalgona. I don't know why it went viral but I saw a post on Fb or in Tiktok (the coffee lovers) on how to make a homemade Dalgona coffee since coffee shops were closed. It was very challenging as some of them really took time in whisking the coffee using a fork or whatever they can use at home. Of course, easiest way is still using a mixer or a whisk. I even bought one and made my sisters dalgona coffee, but for me dalgona milo only as I don't drink coffee.

WHEW! That was a lot!

I hope you didn't get bored scrolling down to the end of this post.

My cooking isn't consistent. I feel like whenever I cook, it will result to almost just the taste of one recipe (adobo most likely). Maybe because we don't usually buy other condiments other than soy sauce, vinegar, salt and pepper. HAHHAHA!

I was thought that cooking wasn't for me. Well, I still have that thought but as I became a mother I wanted to cook decent food for my own family now. One day when my little one is not little anymore, I want her to invite her friends over to our house so I can also get to know her friends.

Cooking is also a great bonding time for families too!

If you also have suggestions, please do let me know. Share it below on the comment section. I'd love to try it soon too!

You can also join the Food prompt by @JonicaBradley . Thank you for giving us ideas on what we can post here in read.cash. hearts!!

Lead image from Unsplash

Pictures posted are mine

5
$ 1.21
$ 1.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Jijisaur
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Nakakagutom namn anyways natuto din ako magluto since pandemic start. I almost burn the whole kitchen when I started to learning. I lost focused kasi then nakalimutan ko na kanina pa pala nakasalang yung fryingfan and nausok na sya hahahha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hala syaaaaa! Well, we learn from our mistakes always hahahaha. Goojab satin ses!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatakam naman tong article na to haha! Gusto ko lahat tikman! Ako sakto lang magluto mga prito prito haha!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Inggit ako sa ate ko kasi, tapos ako prito ts mga sinabawan lang alam hahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mukahang ang sasarap ng Luton mo ah ..nakakagutom naman

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nako muka lang masarap HAHAHAHA.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Toyoo naman na mukhang masarap

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First of all we must have to focus on our body health. If we will maintain our health stronger, in this condition our barin will perform proper function. In short words all parts of our body will perform properly. You took such a great advantages from COVID-19 in the vacation. You leart much more cooking and i think we did same jobs. I also learnt such skills in that days and now i am able to make more difference dishes like mutton karahi, charsi karahi, achar karahi, beaf and other type of foods

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pagkatapos ko basahin yun post mo, ayun gutom na ko!! Ka kakain ko lang sis, gutom na naman ako. Uy pero proud ako sayo ha, eto talaga yun nagawa NG pandemic sayo. Para sakin you are great because you exerted an effort in having the big change in your life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay sis trulagen, kasi napagod nako kakaTiktok kaya gusto ko itry ibang career CHAROOOOT xD

$ 0.00
2 years ago