What Do You Say About PDA

22 44
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

I was very tired from a stressful day in class a few weeks ago and at that point all I could think about was a cold shower, food, my bed and sleep. I got home and a friend of mind mentioned PDA. I couldn't even understand what she was saying but I had to just pretend and smile with her so she could conclude and I would have my peace. But today, I just had a flashback and the word popped into my mind from nowhere. I decided to look up the word and it's quite interesting what I found. I know it's a little shameful that I didn't know anything about it before now, but then there's a first time for everything and I know now, and I'll like to share my thoughts on it.

PDA is an acronym for public display of affection, which according to wikipedia 'are acts of physical intimacy in the view of others'. It also say that "....What is an acceptable display of affection varies with respect to culture and context. Some organizations have rules limiting or prohibiting public displays of affection. Displays of affection in a public place, such as the street, are more likely to be objected to, than similar practices in a private place with only people from a similar cultural background present."

Physical intimacy refers to any touch intended to arouse feelings of love in the giver and/or the recipient, and it is on this basis that PDA is predicated. These physical affection includes, holding hands, sitting beside each other, hugging, playing footsie beneath the table, fixing/messing up air, fixing and straightening collar and ties, kisses and pecks, public affirmation of your relationship status, introducing your partner publicly, cuddling, backrubs, massages, caressing, stroking etc.

Is This Ok?

https://twnews.it/us-news/if-you-do-any-of-these-five-things-in-public-you-might-be-ruining-your-friendship

Well, this is a question that has no affirmative answer from relationship experts. Personally though, I think it matters that whatever form it takes, it's consensual and your partner is okay with it, that's first. Then you have to think of the people around you too. Why no one can expressly tell you what to do in a public space, they are entitled to be comfortable. Public spaces of course, usually have kids and in such places, some form of PDA will certainly be inappropriate, while the same form of PDA will be totally okay in an adult-only space. It's important we understand the concept of public spaces and we don't make people feel unsafe and uncomfortable by our display of affection. There's a time and a place, and also a limit, depending on the place in question.

Is It Beneficial?

Majority of studies that have looked into PDA specifically and relationship generally have always come to one conclusion regarding PDA, and that conclusion is that it is beneficial, as couples or partners who are into PDA tend to have better quality and happier relationships. It has also shown that partners who do PDA are almost surely likely going to last longer in their PDA. The effect of PDA is that it reaffirms and assure one's partner of one's love in ways that words would probably not be able to. It has the ability to ensure happiness and bliss in any marriage if it is harnessed properly.

Author's Epilogue

Actions they say, speak louder than words. Why words of affirmation and such will make your partner safe and assured of your love for him/her, PDA will do it so much more. But like I've said before, it's important we do it appropriately to not defeat it purpose.

Thanks for reading guys, I hope you liked!

Mhizutty the voice of truth 🎡🎢🎡

11
$ 2.70
$ 2.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Marts
+ 5
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Comments

In the culture i'm living in holding hands is acceptable. But not other more intense forms of PDA like kissing and making out. That's my two cents right here.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the comment..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Well, I don't like PDA πŸ˜‚ it gives me sore eyes πŸ˜‚ just kidding.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I learnt from this piece. I never knew what PDA stood for, much less knowing it's meaning. Like you said, there's a first time for everything and I know, now! Hi, I'm Vince. Nice to meet you. :-)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's nice to meet you too VinceπŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing more light about PDA now I have noted the meaning ,is an acronym for public display of affection. On my own point of view i don't think it right all times to display that looking at the first image which shows that the person between them feel sad or jealous Showing this act with your friends may make them plan or set up an individual

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There's also that. That's why you need to be sure of its appropriateness when you're doing it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After the full day tutorial Lucy gave me and @Kushyzee, seeing your title alone just made me burst into laughter

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aswear πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course you wouldn't know what PDA is until now, you're a good child of God πŸ˜†. I don't have a problem with PDA, as long as the other person is cool with it. Me I no get shame πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Everybody first know that one.. you don dey run am with AFM babes since time immemorial

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No na, that one is just play play 🌚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agbaya... Where you go for see shame get before

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ abeg leave me o

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people are comfortable with showing public displays of affection but personally, I'd rather keep it to myself as a courtesy to others who would feel secondhand embarrassment. A little privacy is always better for me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess. We all have different choices and I like yours actually. So considerate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is indeed a first time for everything. Just learnt of this now. I think I will go with it being consensual, that is, your partner must be carried along. It should also be appropriate like you said, you know, kids and all. Above all, I feel it's a little okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing I wasn't alone in not knowing πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah you weren't lolπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not a fan of PDA. Must we show off in public?. Probably because I'm a shy person though.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's not actually show off, but it's okay too... Shyness may also play a role in shaping are you see it

$ 0.00
2 years ago