Too long or short?

19 37
Avatar for Mhizutty
1 year ago

I've always wondered why people complain when a service in church spans for too long. It has always puzzled me Everytime I hear my friends say that they can never attend a church service that spans more that 2hours.

I even heard someone ask with so much annoyance in his voice, what kind of message a pastor would preach for 1 hour plus. He even added that he was sure half of the members were asleep 30 mins into the message.

Somehow, I think he has a point cos whenever anything spans for too long, it begins to become boring but that doesn't mean that I entirely agree with him.

Ever since I was a child, I have always attended a four hour service and at the end of church we would still be happy that service ended early. On very bad days, we would spend 5 hours plus. I call it bad days because at that point my stomach is already screaming for food and the remaining parts of my body are already showing signs of weakness from having eaten nothing all day.

The hunger was and still is a constant thing every Sunday in my house all thanks to mum, who never allows us have breakfast (until something happened), because she says going to church on Sundays in a fast activates your blessings more or so to speak.

I can't forget the day I almost fainted in church because I had not eaten and I was losing strength after singing in the choir. I had to come out with my last strength and sit outside with my choir robe and my scared mum running up and down to get me an energy drink.

You might laugh at it right now but then it wasn't funny because she was very scared and surprised cos I was so healthy when we left home and she couldn't understand what had happened in the short time.

My sister couldn't stop thanking me for that incident because ever since then, not eating to church became optional and not as compulsory as before because my mum doesn't want history to repeat itself. She now made sure there were light foods like just tea and bread or pap to eat every morning because according to her, rice and other foods are too heavy and one cannot dance or sing freely. You don't have to say it, I know I have a wonderful Mum.

Going back to church services, I attended a church with a friend one time by 6:30am and they closed their first service at 7:45am. When we got home, I began to feel like I didn't attend church for the day cos it felt so odd and I just wasn't satisfied.

Before I could get to enjoy praise and worship, it was all over. Just when I started enjoying the message and it started making sense, the pastor was done and before you know I was already on my way home.

I might seem weird but I do not like services that are so short. I should be able to dance to my heart's content and feel like I have had enough instead of it stopping just when I was about to get my groove on.

What's worse is that there is hardly any church that doesn't do this short service thing and even if they exist, they are not liked by many. Do I get offended sometimes when service is extra long yes, but would I trade it for a short one? Definitely no.

I guess the bottom line is to attend the service that sits well with you and serve your God.

Author's Epilogue

The morning today was cold and it rained. I was curled up in my bed when my mom came to wake me and I didn't like it at all. The rain was still on when I got to church but it was no longer heavy.

The service was nice and somewhat funny at least to me. The bible truly said that there's fullness of joy in the house of God.

Do let me know which service schedule sits better with you, long or short?

Thanks for reading and happy Sunday!

Mhizutty the voice of truth๐ŸŽต๐ŸŽถ๐ŸŽต

16
$ 4.83
$ 4.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Aimure
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 9
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
1 year ago

Comments

For me, it depends. There are ministers (Pastors or Priests) who render services that we enjoy but there are also those who would make me feel I'm not in church by listening to what they are saying.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, some are just so boring and sometimes tell stories that I can't understand and it just gets tiring.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, it depends on the Preacher. I never get tired oflistene to my favorite

$ 0.02
1 year ago

True, most pastors no how to give a blend of God's word and serve it in a manner that is easy to digest, while others are just too serious.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

back in the province, our church services would range from 2-3 hours while in the city, it ends in 2 hours... I always want a praise and worship that is lengthy enough

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you, I have to dance to my heart's content..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

and yes, human has a short focus time... in 30 mins indeed some gets to close their eyes already but we must resist...

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You're right when you say we must resist. I wonder why sleeping in church comes easy though ๐Ÿค”

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, 4 hours service??? ๐Ÿ˜ฒ I go just die. Me that complains if my church uses up to 3 hours, why will church service even take that long? The worst thing is that the normal church activities will take like an hour, then thanksgivings and launchings will take the remaining two hours, meanwhile hunger wants to finish me in one corner

$ 0.02
1 year ago

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚Pele...I feel your pain ooo. As for that thanksgiving part, it's now they want to tell us how the thief held the Gun and almost shot them, as if I care. All we want to hear is that God saved you finish. Interested parties can meet up for the rest of the gist but they will not hear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember coming to your church and complaining about the unending service๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚. It is funny because I grew up attending such kind of long service but along the line started attending short ones and got used to it because it's like you can go to church, come back and wash and still go do other things too.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Omor....that service was end of year thanksgiving na...but nonetheless you are right when you say short services allows one to do other things and sleep too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I only attend mass in our church, and it only last one hour. However if I am going to choose I also like to attend church with a length of time that may gives my inner soul a fulfillment with the word of God.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Enough time is what I'd pick because I can enjoy everything to the fullest and feel fulfilled.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a tricky one because most of the time we include activities to make services long. I really don't care if a service is long or short...it's not in the duration sometimes but in soaking up the atmosphere...taking delight in the presence of God.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The atmosphere is truly what matters. It could be long and boring but short and spirit filled or vice versa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly... It's in that presence.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, your mom is really wonderful. I also prefer long services but I won't want it to exceed 4 hrs plus due to the reasons you already know. I remember when we went to Cannanland, I was left unsatisfied.๐Ÿ˜”

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Omor....that canaanland own just funny me die, cos the service was so short then we spent the rest of the day on the road. I almost fainted!

$ 0.00
1 year ago