The hope of friends..

7 31
Avatar for Mhizutty
1 year ago

I stared at my blank page for a few mins trying to come up with something to write and it just wasn't coming. I have given but this is me just trying to see if something will come along the way like it usually does.

It's so sad that the academic staff union if universities in Nigeria has decided to call off it's strike and we are all happy. I have tried to smile at the occurrence but it just won't happen. What runs through my mind is how they have tampered with 8 months of my life.

Now I'm thinking, what was it all for in the first place? So what they just went on strike only to get promises which they already had and gave up 8 good months.

I can't wrap my head around how the government seems to think that this occurrence is okay to even let it happen year after year.

Just last year, I have up 9 months to the same strike and same promises were made only for them to go back to their default less than a year later to take another 8 months from me.

What hurts is that these people will he paid for their 8months at home while us the students had rents that we're counting for that 8 months, foodstuffs that got wasted fir that 8 months, dreams that were put on hold and relationships that were thwarted all for their meaningless strike.

I would be less angry if we resume and the chairs in our lecture centres got changed and replaced with new ones, or if more LTs were built and we didn't have to rush to class so we could get space cos if the high numbers and low infrastructure.

It's just sad. The average Nigerian whose children are in these public universities are definitely in another world. A world of pain, hardship and a choked system of doing things still were willing and they never fail to extinguish the fire cos that seems to be their priority.

I'm only grateful for the friends we make along the way who help to put a smile on our face which make us overcome bad days. These friends have been rays of hope in darkest times and I appreciate them.

Sometimes I imagine if we were alone alone to face challenges and I'm grateful that we were created with the ability to meet people.

The friends I have made who I've missed is one of the strongest reasons why resuming is not so bad. It would definitely be nice to see them again after spending 8months apart.

I guess I'll just take things as I see them, and pray that I have the opportunity to be the change that my country needs.

Lead image source

Author's Epilogue

See, I was about to come up with something meaningful In the end. I never really knew I felt the way I did until I started writing. I can't really say I wrote this article, my subconscious did.

Thanks for reading..

Mhizutty the voice of truth 🎡🎢🎡

12
$ 0.56
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @tired_momma
+ 4
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
1 year ago

Comments

Aww, I feel your frustrations dear. Big power hug! I'm glad to know that you're with your awesome friends and not alone in this battle. Fighting! It will be all worth it. God bless you. Xx

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At least, you are not alone in the battle oz of those friends you meet in the way. I hope everything is good at your end now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True friend. Having a real friends are the luckiest that's why I am grateful having a friends that always beside us friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Finally the long awaited Assu strike, I can't wait to return back to school equally

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Having a friend to hold your hand along the way of a bumpy or boring road could make it an interesting journey after all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am sorry to hear about that. That is eight months of holding back your dreams. Just look at things in the positive side. Maybe you can do other things in that eight months to earn and save. Keep on writing!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why did they embark on such strike in the first place? These people just decided to waste students lives all for their selfish interest. It's so sad and now school have resumed, I will only advice students to get prepared and do the best they can. I just hope they do not bring up the strike again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago