Be intentional about it!

10 28
Avatar for Mhizutty
1 year ago

I was making a phone call today and as usual, I saw the above message pop up on my screen so I decided there and then to write about it.

I'll be more focused on teens and youths cos I believe they are mostly affected by the band wagon effect- doing things simply because other people are.

This seeming compulsion is becoming evident in almost all spheres of life these days. People especially youngsters now but and wear clothes because it is trending and everyone owns it so they do not want to be left out.

What is more surprising to me is that both those with the means to get and those who actually make no form of money all strive to get these things.

I was in church a few months ago and I over heard a teenager saying that she needed an iphone. Normally, I would not be interested in that conversation and just listen in the background but the word need there was something that I could not over look.

As I sat and listened to here go on and on about how most of her friends now have iphones and she dosen't, I really wanted to know what she needed it for and so I asked.

You would not believe the answer I got. She had told me that her friend said that to have quality TikTok videos, one needed to have an iphone and that's why she needed one. So I went further to ask her the kind of videos she had in mind thinking she would probably say something to make me less angry but to even further annoy me she said she would just be dancing and wearing fine clothes and hopefully she'll trend.

Whilst most young people envy and want to be like their counterparts, I just wish that they would learn from the mistakes of their counterparts too.

Why do we all feel the need to want to do what the majority is doing. It's like it is a spirit that just calls and keeps calling for attention.

I was standing with a friend in church one day and she looked around and told me to sit and I asked her why? And she said I was the only one standing. I looked around and then I asked her is standing wrong? And she said No. So why then should I just sit because others are seated even when I don't feel like sitting?

That's how society is right now. People only go when they are certain that crowds are moving with them.

We should be intentional about our choices. Eat that food because it is what you want and not because someone else ordered it.

Buy a new bag because you want to and can afford it and not because you're the only one still using an old one.

We ought to remember that the habits and life we live today while we are young adults will stick with us even till we grow old cos habits and patterns are not so easy to break out off.

Do that thing because you want to, be intentional about that choice from now on.

Lead image source..

Author's Epilogue

Today turned out to be a good day. There's alot of tension in the air cos we are anticipating news about school resuming tomorrow after 8 months. Truth is I am not anxious at all, as I am surprisingly so calm. Let's see what tomorrow brings.

Thank you for your time..

Mhizrutty the voice of truth 🎡🎢🎡

9
$ 0.56
$ 0.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
$ 0.02 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 4
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
1 year ago

Comments

The compulsion has become a norm in the society and it's growing everyday. Even when people know that what they're copying or imitating is bad, they don't care anymore, they just want to belong.

Sometimes I wish God could just come down and wipe the earth to start afresh, but keep the good ones like me untouched cos I never enjoy life😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ you and me you mean cos me too I have my whole life still ahead of me oo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sad but true. Peer pressure aggravated by social media . What's in trend should they get by hook or by crook. Teaching kids the difference between wants and needs at an early age will probably make a big diference to the next gen though it will be really challenging if they are exposed to what the social media are feeding youngster nowadays.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The whole social media influence is so massive. Sometimes I wonder if people really sit down to remember that social media is not real life but the edited version because nobody posts their pictures or videos when they look ugly or sad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is the sad reality of the new generation nowadays. Youngster's are into fame, and so they become needy for the advance technology. Hopefully they would realise that life is just too simple and contentment is the real key to fame and happiness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just wish they would be content like you e said and push for the real things. Not things that won't last.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, you got the right point.. We don't need advance gadgets to make famous or excell on a platform.. It must base on the quality message of the content not the appearance.. Just like me.. Until now my 3 year old phone is what I am using in writing my article today in read cash..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly....why change a phone that is still functioning?

I just wish this generation would learn..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great write up, we should be content with what you have, be international

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks dear...you're too kind with your wordsπŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago