Assumptions

8 30
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

I was having a conversation with a friend earlier today or was it yesterday πŸ€” either way I had a conversation and in that conversation, the word assumption was brought up and I was sharing my personal experiences with him on how assuming has pushed me to error many a times but he was still convinced that he was right about the topic we were discussing.

After the conversation with this dude, I kept on thinking about the tons of things I could have done right and at the perfect time if I had just waited to ask questions before concluding on my own that a thing was what it was not.

Many of us who have had first hand experiences with this matter of assuming would agree that when the truth eventually comes out and everything is brought to light which makes all of those thoughts you were having invalid, one begins to feel like a fool and can't help the feeling of embarrassment that usually follows suit.

Funniest thing is that despite the fact that went know that on a scale of one to a hundred, that we might just be 10% right and the rest 90% is wrong, we still move on to assume and take our chances with our assumption. Funny right?

Assumption according to the English dictionary means..

"To authenticate by means of belief; to surmise; to suppose to be true, especially without proof"

Emphasis here is on the without proof. As long as it's beginning to look like what we think it is, we go ahead and believe that's what it is with a perfect explanation lined up and total conviction that we are right without wanting to find out if it's true or not.

I used to be very good at assuming, concluding the results from a thing just because I've observed and it's looking exactly like what I think and among the 50 times I've assumed, I have been wrong almost all fifty and in all times, it had cost me one thing or another and most times it's my peace of mind!

Dangers of assuming

  • It makes trust between 2 people start dangling. For example a man is beginning to stay out late than his usual and the wife starts to assume that he has started cheating. No matter how much she loves him, the trust that they both have will and must be affected.

  • It gives room for doubt to creep in. When there's a lack of trust, there's definitely doubt as you will start to think thrice before doing anything that's involving the other person.

  • Then comes the big rift. You start to stay away from him or her, because you think they are mad at you or that they are avoiding your calls or they are hiding from you.

Sadly all of these things are make believe scenarios that are not true that we've conjured up in our mind and held on to.

One can never be more certain about anything unless one asks the question directly. Asking if someone is mad at you yields better and faster results more than assuming they are and avoiding them. Most times, these people are going through stuffs that they'd tell you if you would just ask!

It dosen't matter what type of relationship you're in with someone, never get to assume how they are feeling nor what is in their head. I've often heard people say " I saw you smiling and assumed you were fine". The fact she was smiling this one time dosen't mean all is well, ask! The fact that you see her chewing something dosen't mean she's eaten, ask!

Don't forget that the mind can play tricks on us, especially when emotions are involved. It's easier to see things that are not there as if they were.

Assuming really dosen't help anyone, and should not be entertained.

Author's Epilogue

I've been there, seen it all and I've done that and I can put it to you that assuming only hurts you and the people involved.

If you have something you need clarity about, go ahead and ask. It not only gives you the authentic answer, it gives quicker results rather than assuming and then when you're wrong you find out that you've been stressing yourself for nothing.

Turn a new person today!

Thanks for tuning in and taking time to read today. Until tomorrow, stay without assumingπŸ€—πŸ€—

Mhizutty the voice of truth 🎡🎢🎡

3
$ 1.65
$ 1.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.03 from @Aimure
+ 2
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Comments

Well if we have no idea about a particular thing we should ask questions rather than assuming what isn't right... Assumptions most times lead to the wrong way so we should try not to be lazy and ask questions

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We really need to stop or minimize assuming things, I believe if you don't understand something about someone, the person owes you an answer if you ask properly.... Don't assume

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly! Assumption should be the last thing that comes to mind cos with it comes many troubles.

Thanks for the comment friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In other to avert assuming things, we ask questions right? To be sure. Well, I reckon "I can choose to not answer" sounds familiar 🌚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

One has the right to answer a question or not and there could be many factors responsible for this choice such as the other partys intent for the question asked .

At least I can choose not to answer is better than the person lying to your face just to give you an answer. Plus I think what you give is what you get. I reckon 'I won't answer that' sounds familiar

$ 0.00
2 years ago

With what I read, assumption can be bad, but sometimes, it can save us a great deal, you know, people don't assume without point picked from the environment, before you can assume, you must have seen some fact, and there where your instinct kicks in, can I say assumption in this sense is also speculation

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess one could say speculations, observations and calculations vthat all end up in their grand finale assuming...

Have you ever assumed and got wrong?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmm... Yes but rarely.... 😊😊 I see what you did there, but you're right anyways

$ 0.00
2 years ago