Appreciate what you have!

18 44
Avatar for Mhizutty
1 year ago

It's no secret to Nigerians that universities that were closed down because of the strike have been opened and students have been called back to resume in their academic journeys.

Myself being a student as left for school a few days ago. I packed my bags and every belonging I had in my mother's house while bidding her goodbye and saying in my heart that she would not be seeing me in months.

I was so excited to finally go back to being the boss of myself and deciding what I would do with my time but one thing I forgot about was that everything that has an advantage comes with a disadvantage.

I first got to school and there was no water nor light in my hostel. I almost fainted cos I wasn't expecting that at all. I felt a pang of pain in my chest and it seemed as if someone had hit a fat rod on my head. As if that was not enough, my room was looking like a heap of dirt. Apparently, rodents had turned my belongings to theirs in the 8 months I was away and trust me, they showed no mercy.

I have been struggling to clean with the no water situation so I can live like a normal human but with each step I make at progress, it seems like I have not yet begun. As if that was not enough misery for anyone to be in, I have to trek to school everyday where there is light so that I can charge my phone and other things cos I do not own a generator.

Having done this for two days, thoughts of home are beginning to flash to my mind and I'm really considering going back to rest and be taken care of because I've been suffering since I got to school. I have began to eat late at night cos by the time I come back, it would be late already and it's either I cook or I'd eat junk or sleep hungry.

I miss the days I used to come back home and meet my food in the kitchen sitting and waiting for me. I even had the luxury to select and complain if they cook what I didn't feel like having and I'd still be petted and told to manage it on top. Now I'm here wondering where those days have gone and it hurts.

You who has the opportunity to enjoy good life should appreciate those who work hard to make it happen and if you're the one doing it all by yourself, appreciate yourself while you still can cos there are days coming where you might look around for those things and they are absent.

I have been taught a valuable lesson for these two days and I won't forget it in a hurry.

I had thought that I wouldn't miss home anytime soon as I had enough of it for 8 months and more but I have been proved otherwise. I really can't wait for December to come already so I can just go home and be with my family. I miss they already!

You have to promise me you won't tell them though, cos if they do find out I won't hear the last if it ever!

Lead image source..

Author's Epilogue

They have supposedly fixed the light today and water is running now. I'm still patiently waiting to set my eyes on the light though, that's if it comes at all today. Anyways, wish me luck.

Thanks for reading..

Mhizutty the voice of truth 🎡🎢🎡

8
$ 0.09
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.02 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.02 from @Bilqees
+ 1
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
1 year ago

Comments

You guys are just giving me lots of reasons not to resume πŸ˜‚ why will anybody like to do that after reading this your experience?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

You better dey come school you this boy...I can't be alone in this na

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You guys are just giving me lots of reasons not to resume πŸ˜‚ why will anybody like to do that after reading this your experience?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry to hear about the rats ravaging your belongings. And glad that you now appreciate the time and moments you spend with your family from that experience :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks alot...I've learnt my lessons and it was definitely the hard way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We usually learn lessons from those that make us feel the worst :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being independent has it's price. Though hard it may seem , it'll teach you to appreciate every little things you have. Goodluck dear and be safe always. Fight!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks alot dear....we have to keep fighting and trying our best no matter how hard it may seem.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh yeah, small or big that is worth appreciations so I am always thankful to what I have and I achieve in yhis lifetime hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's exactly what everyone should be doing, appreciation is fuel for more..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I relate to you my friend. I experience that also and I said to my mind that "There's no place like home". Home are different because we had a family there who always there for us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly! There's really no place like home. I really can't wait to be home soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Soon you will be your home again my friend. Stay safe always.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you my friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thats is a great a opportunity to be staying on your own. You will grow in their and you might also discover amazing things..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I look forward to amazing things....I just hope I'm ready for the challenges to come.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Home is different really, you will be really taken care of unlike when you only live on your own. But living on your own can help you realize many things too, so indeed appreciate what status has given to you too. Cause in reality, there will really be times that you have to do things on your own.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are definitely right...I've had to learn to decide for myself on alot of issues that I normally wouldn't do if was home.

$ 0.00
1 year ago