Three topics I usually avoid in a discussion

19 76
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
1 year ago

***

Anyone one of us here loves healthy discussion with our peers or parents or family but there are topics that make it awkward for us and we may find it inappropriate even. And we usually avoid it, because it brings us down, or some of it is really personal that you should just keep it to yourself. 

Here are some of the topics I really avoid discussing and when things are going that way, I easily switch topics.

SALARY

Thanks to Alexander Mils @alexandermils for making this photo available freely on Unsplash 🎁 https://unsplash.com/photos/lCPhGxs7pww

I really don't know why people have to ask about it. 🙈 I'm even more curious as to why they need to know, or would they belittle me or whether that would help them sleep better. You see, asking someone how much their salary is, is a bit too much. It is awkward and it can create jealousy or either mocked you behind your back.

Or even you say to the one you're talking to; please don't tell a soul, words will still flow. Yeah, so it is really better not to talk about it or ask for it. 

My parents asked me about it too, but I didn't tell them. Haha. I mean I'm old enough to handle my money. And it's mine. I work hard for it. I can spend it where I want to spend it or save it for my future. 

How to avoid this kind of conversation? A little tip is to draw them out of the topic. If anyone asks you about it, ask them why they want to know. And ask them too are they willing to tell theirs? If they do. 🤷 Just let them boast and praise their salary. And soon they'll forget to ask yours. Haha. #Lifehacks.

RELATIONSHIP

Thanks to Shingi Rice @bluespit for making this photo available freely on Unsplash 🎁 https://unsplash.com/photos/2mXFyrJq2M4

Hi kamusta ka na? Why are you still single and not yet married? Bakittt? These annoying questions I would always banter with, "Ay di ko alam na required po pala?" 🙂 

Well that was a usual convo when you go home, when you meet different people, they are curious about your status in life and all the why's. I think everybody has a reason why they don't have the same way someone engage in a relationship.

Some people have choices, some people have goals in life, some people just went through a break up, some people are going through the rough phase of their relationship, some people don't see marriage as sacred, and some people just lose the one they love. Its okay if you ask someone of their status but asking why is a different thing. Its a little too insensitive. 

What I learned growing up is to get curious about life 's wonders, not the lives of others. 

So my little tip here, if you are just interested with gossip, please try to avoid this kind of conversation. 

And when you are asked about this question, just shrug it off, and ask why would they want to know? That would shut them up. 

PERSONAL ISSUE and FAMILY RELATED PROBLEM.

Thanks to Tim Gouw @punttim for making this photo available freely on Unsplash 🎁 https://unsplash.com/photos/bwki71ap-y8

I really don't know but I'm usually the type of person who never brought up my own personal issues or problem to just anyone. Or even my parents, I don't come running to them as if my world is crumbling down. I mean, maybe growing up I've already developed the idea that, "No one will catch you when you fall, so don't get trapped". So I'm really cautious of what to share and what not. 

I find it really intriguing how anyone could share their problem so easily, I mean every detail of it, my friend who is talkative is one good example. She had told me her whole life. On my part I could only discuss vague parts of it, especially when I needed to ask for opinions. 

And I'm usually the least talker in the group. So yeah, when someone would point the discussion to me, I feel like I shouldn't be there. So next time, if you hear someone about hearsay issues avoid asking them, you might scare them out. 

I also avoid the discussion about politics and religion, because it is not my area of expertise and it can lead to friends and not friends anymore. 😆 Everybody has different perspective so If you are a bringer of the politics and religion topics, chances are you wouldn't get invited on the next alcohol session or you are getting laugh at. 😄 There are appropriate place and people to discuss with it. 

Anyway, how about you what are the topics you usually try not to get involve into?


Hi Again! Thank you for reaching this far!

Lead Image edited on picsart, photo taken by me :)

13
$ 10.38
$ 9.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
+ 11
Sponsors of Meyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Uyy ako napaka prangka ko na di ko narerealized minsan na grabe din sagot ko kpag ganyan hahaha. yeah I also hate about the money topic, nakakatakot kasi feeling nila apaka yaman ko eh kulang nalang mamalimus na hahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pareho tayo, yan lahat ang topic na iniiwasan ko mapag usapan. Pag may discussion na ganyan, kasi di naman maiiwasan, tahimik na lang ako kung di ko rin mapapanagutan ang sasabihin ko hahaha

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahaha kaya nga eh. Iwas iwas na lang. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

About the income naman, casual naman akong magsabi pag may nagtanong. Maliit lng naman income ko so people won't find me arrogant if I reveal it. Malaki na ang 5k a month ko sa read and noise combination. Hehe

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hehe yeah, sakin open naman sa read and noise, pero dito lang, pero if personal hindi man. Hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All these subjects, i.e., income, relationship, personal issues, and religion-politics, are people's private and personal matters. I am with you in opting out of these discussions.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yeah its too personal, but some people can be very persuasive haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But, if anybody makes a very absurd comment on anyone of the topics, I try to avoid that person.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah we really have some certain topics that we avoid to discuss and we want to let it just keep in ourselves. I also have some personal topics that I also avoid to discuss with anyone even to my closest friends or family member

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Lols. Laugh trip yun salary. In some circles, it is unethical to casually ask about someone's salary. Even your tax bracket hahaha.

On politics and religion .. i engage for exploratory discussion para lang alam ko kung ano ang stand/opinion. If they unfriend me after is up to them hahah.

As for lovelife lols nagiging casual opening kasi no? Annoying hahahaha.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yeah sa mga kaempleyadobawal talaga itanong. Haha. Pero kung sa mga kaibigan mong walang habas ang bibig talaga ay tatanong yan. Hahaha

Uu lagi yang relationship tanong kahit saan. Aahah ginagawang kaswal eh noh?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Discussion like this e hindi ako masyado iimik, hindi din ako masyado maingay pagdating dito, basta ako ako lang nakakaalam haha but if I'm with those comfortable people to talk with maybe ill share mine

$ 0.03
1 year ago

You are absolutely right that these three issues should not be shared with anyone,, Anyone asking questions in this regard should be avoided or avoided..

$ 0.03
1 year ago

We have this kind of feelings that its hard for us to talks about our personal matter to others, we can share it only for those people we are comfortable with.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Indeed! Only on our bff or has special role in our life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A lot of things that we needs to avoid in our conversations,for me depende kung sinong kausap ko,lalo na lag masyadong sensitive na tao,talagang di ako masyadong nag open ng discussion.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hehehe kaya nga medyo personal kase.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Basta ako dito lang ako nagsheshare ng earnings hahahaha but maybe I'm not gonna do it na hahaha depende

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Haha okay lang naman yun anonymous naman hehe 🙈

$ 0.00
1 year ago