Just one time

8 23
Avatar for Mercury1
1 year ago

One of the greatest regrets in life is being what others would want you to be rather than being yourself. -Shannon L. Adder

How did I get here? My life wasn't this miserable? I should have never stopped being me. Now, see me. I have been living in my shell and in self-pity these past weeks. I would love to tell y'all how it all started and what really happened. But first, get to know me.

My name is Romola. I am the only daughter of my parents. I have two brothers. My parents income is not that high, neither is it low. Yeah, average—that's the word.

My parents value education and they made sure we attend a well-to-do school with high standards even if it meant making sacrifices. I do love them.

I'm currently in the university and in my final year, studying my dream course and loving it all along.

My parents, especially my mom, are ardent lovers of Christ. They brought us up in the fear of the Lord. "Don't cheat; flee examination malpractice", were their words and they kept ringing it in our ears.

"I, Romola, vow to make my parents proud", I said on the night I was to leave for uni. I did good. I read my books, studied hard into the night and took my studies serious.

I also made friends. There were four of us-Bolu, Victory, Annie and then me. I didn't particularly have a best friend as we all moved together. Bolu was the 'heaven helps those who help themselves' type;a great reader, while Victory and Annie were the life of the party. Always saying that you only live once (YOLO). So, why not enjoy it to the fullest? And that life is all about balancing, I. e school shouldn't affect your social life. That sounds convincing and I half-heartedly agree with them.

The truth is, I sticked with them because they were actually fun and friends shouldn't be boring right? Imagine staying together with your friend for, let's say an hour and you haven't smiled talk less of laughing. No teasing, no gisting, you guys are just there. I'm very sure it will be no fun.

Not to waste our time, we were very good friends until exam came. Instructions were issued before the commencement of every exam. The supervision was also very strict, making sure the hall was dead quiet such that if a needle drops, it will be heard loudly by everyone present.

Also, there was no room to cheat.

Our year 2 examination came quickly. The invigilators, although not nice, were lenient with us. Sides talks were overlooked and students whisper answers to themselves of which I refused to be a part of it. It didn't matter who called my name, I didn't answer. Not because I knew it all but the vow I made kept flashing through my mind. "Cheating is cheating! "I would say.

I was termed a stingy person. I was not bothered at first until my friends started to nag me at every slightest thing I did.

So, in year four, I let down my guard. It was our last paper. I was glad I was done or almost done so to say. I was feeling really confident so I sat in the front row. It's two on a bench. My friend, Victory sat at the other end of the bench.

Since it was our last exam, supervision was very strict and thorough.

Towards the end of the exam, Victory was trying to speak to me about explaining a question to her. I gave her a 'no way that's happening' look. She looked at me disappointed. "Why then are we friends if we can't help one another in the time of mind? " She must have said in her mind.

But then, her expression changed to a pleading one. "This one time, please", you could almost hear her say.

I obliged. Even though it was hard to do. But there was a problem:there was no way she can hear whatever I say. I can't be loud or audible enough afterall, we are in an examination hall. "What am I gonna do? " I asked in my mind.

Yeah, I will help my friend this one time. "Now, I know what to do", happy I finally found a way around it.

I turned stylishly, not so obvious, so as not to draw attention to myself and then asked her which question she needed help with. "1a" she replied. Okay then.

I scribbled the answer on my question paper which I know was against the rules. Your question paper should be without ink or led. But, I didn't mind. Trying to be fast with it so as to be able to go back to mine.

Thank God! I'm done! I inhaled deeply.

Now, this is the main part. How do I get my question paper across to her and also get hers without being noticed? A very big problem.

I perused the hall very quickly, making sure the invigilators weren't looking my way. All good. I slid my question paper very quietly across the table. But at that time, that very moment, one of the invigilators came across, saw the paper, went ahead and collected it from Victory.

It was as if my world had ended. The invigilator came to my side, and deliberately asked for my question paper. I couldn't provide it because it was with him.

He took out his red pen. At this point, I was already crying. Then, he wrote cheated in caps on both Victory and I script. Victory was crying too. We begged, wailed and pleaded but all to no avail. It all fell on deaf ears.

...

We were both rusticated. Victory was expelled for examination malpractice while I was expelled for aiding it.

I don't think I can face the shame of going back home a dropout.

My hand got burnt to ashes the first time I put it in the fire.

I have learnt my lesson.

Hello there, I hope you enjoyed reading this piece? Do leave a comment and remember to subscribe. Thanksss

9
$ 0.07
$ 0.02 from @Bloghound
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
$ 0.02 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 1
Sponsors of Mercury1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mercury1
1 year ago

Comments

That was kin of sad :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Like seriously. It's very sad

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life indeed is not a bed of roses, life continues, she will scare through and finally be a victory someday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope she does. It won't be easy though

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Put up a profile picture sis... It would make people to be more interested in you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay. I'll do that. Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awe, that was sad and a heartbreaking experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed. I feel deeply sorry for her... Life!

$ 0.00
1 year ago