Splinterlands Obsession: Making Some Good and Bad Purchases!

21 50
Avatar for MegaKyodaiBanrai
2 years ago

It's been over 3 weeks since I bought my Summoner's Spellbook in this game that costs $10. Well, I have purchased even more than that, and those were worth it while some are kind of depressing. This week, the prices of the cards are in downtrend especially with the new reward cards in circulation, plus the upcoming pre-selling and release of Chaos Legion Booster Packs which I am excited about! This game is really addicting and I regret that I should have come in early and invest, since I bought traditional videogames that do not have value at all. I am willing to spend money because first, I like the game, and second, it's an investment opportunity.

None of these are financial advice. I am just sharing my experience and journey, not to brag. Please do your diligent research before diving into any form of investment or blockchain game.

Getting Some Bad Deals

I tried to get my eyes on the three great cards in game, namely the new Reward Cards, Level 3 Djinn Renova ($27.18) Level 4Venari Crystalsmith ($26.83) and Djinn Biljka ($17.05) for a total of $71.06. They have great stats and ability for the mana cost they offer. And for me they look cheap for a legendary, epic and rare cards at those levels for Silver League. This was done on a Tuesday.

Some of the in-game cards I got from chests and purchases. From the Splinterlands mobile app

Two days later, I saw the card prices plummeting like crazy. I checked on my card prices and I was shocked to see that these three cards dropped by almost 50%! I am feeling robbed because of that lol and my cards should have been bought at $35! That money could be used instead for other cards. But for me, since I am looking at this as a long-term investment, I am not worried much about this. I am positive that the cards will rise in value in the future, that I can sell at higher price. I heard from older videos that cards from 0.1 cents reached to an ATH of $44! For the meantime I am renting out these cards for some passive income, at least I can get something back.

Taking advantage of the dump for bargain

Since I saw that the market was plunging ever since Tuesday, I tried to get the opportunity to buy new cards that I really liked. Since my favorite splinters are Water, Life and Neutral (for their overall utility) I tried to prioritize getting them. I started with the common cards since they are pretty cheap for the prize, then some good epic cards to begin with. I got the common cards: Level 5 Feasting Seaweed ($35.4), Lvl 4 Wave Runner ($11.28), Lvl5 Demented Shark ($7.87), and the epic Level 3 Axemaster ($50 instead of $85), and a neutral legendary Almo Cambio ($20 instead of $35) for a total of $124.55. I am glad to see my water deck going stronger for Silver league. For the summoner, its better to rent as they are fairly cheaper.

My Water Deck (except the nectar queen lols)

Account Value and Passive Income

I am currently renting out most of these collections since I only play 25x matches a day for the daily quest and to maximize my capture rate I am mostly using the free cards given at the beginning then I will rent at the end of the season to get the Gold League rewards, which is a cheaper way to get chests. The rental price per day of my cards are are around 107 DEC or $0.57. As for the SPS daily airdrop, my account gets $1.231 a day for a total of $1.8/day which is not bad considering it is compounded daily. I have 32,715 airdrop points for this. And that's not including the rise of card values since they are hyper deflationary NFTs that are limited in supply, along with the increase in players causing higher demand.

Current SPS airdrop status

Closing Thoughts

Splinterlands is a highly addictive game because of the in-depth strategies and tactics that can be used to win battles. It's also a great source of passive income and a good long-term investment. The game has been out for almost 3 years already and has a good track record. With the growth of player base and new cards to play with, it's going to get even better! So what are you waiting for? Try out Splinterlands now and get your $10 spellbook in order to get your rewards!

I can't wait for the season end and Chaos Legion pre-sale as they are great opportunities for new players like me. See you there!

[#24] September 24, 2021

12
$ 4.27
$ 3.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
+ 7
Sponsors of MegaKyodaiBanrai
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MegaKyodaiBanrai
2 years ago

Comments

Eeeek! You already have high level cards. Hahaha I just got familiar with renting out and stuff.. and at the moment I think card rentals are priced high because it is ending already. So I'm staying in the bronze hahahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oonga, ilang araw nalang haha. Mukhang pang max bronze nalang din muna ako na team ang irerent, tapos ung kita sa pagrent out ng higher lvl cards ko ang gamit haha. Di din worth it minsan ang chests e.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lols. ilang beses pa lang ata ako nag open ng chest. after this season try ko mag todo. Hahah. Iyak na lang sa losing streak

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha naku pareho kayo ng sinasabi ni Monika. Nakaka adik nga daw yan. Tignan natin pag nakaluwag sa time. Baka kayanin pa ng powers ko hehe. Sayang eh passive income din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess you are doing really well despite that purchase hehehe. Congrats and all the best on your gaming journey! I am curious about the game so recommended to the farm boy but seems he doesn't like it because the app is kinda laggy. Must be our network connection.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can also play the game in pc, better interface and you can rent. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see, will let him try maybe tomorrow :) Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This game is new to me, but it looks interesting. Just the cards is so expensive to buy, this is a good game for those who have extra money, as we cannot assure to win all the time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It can also be affordable at $10 to begin earning here, it will take some weeks to get the ROI.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I imagine how you felt when you saw the price drop 50% the next day. It is true that it is long term, but you could have bought another card with that amount. It is best to think long term, or all or nothing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, I don't regret anything at all since I was using the cards anyway and helps me win more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What is done can no longer be changed. And regretting it is wasting time. Moving on is what it takes. Look to the future with a fixed goal. Good luck!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just joined in today Bry. I have no idea what to do there, so I'm gonna watch tons of video tutorials first :D

How many hours a day do you play?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can learn a lot from those videos in youtibe, those were my guides too haha. I usually play around 1-2 hrs to complete my daily quest plus to deplete my capture rate to 70%, so it will replenish the next day. I hope you'll have fun!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It sounds really fun, but I'm afraid that it will take so much time to learn about the strategies and the cards to get better at it. I might try it come Christmas or any upcoming long breaks. Anyway, how much in total have you spent on the game?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I might have spent over $300-400 already but some of them are on hold just to gain airdrop points while waiting for the new card packs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That price getting down by almost 5p% after purchasing it is frustrating. Because we like being robbed for a number rod money. I also wanted to play this game before but decided not to because of some current issues. Goodluck on your gane

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks! I hope you get your issues sorted out soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My brother is just renting cards since he don't have thr money to buy some haha..i was the one who bought his spell book. Btw, what is DEC?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

DEC stands for dark energy crystals, one of the tokens in-game hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Splinterlands seems to be my kind of game. You know life is a struggle and battle and such a game that advanced your consciousness on been in strategic battle is great.

$ 0.02
2 years ago