Where superstition got us to.

2 87
Avatar for McYusuf
1 year ago
Topics: My day, Nigeria, Writings, Happy, Myths, ...

Good day to you all my friends and families here on readcash.

I hope we are all having a nice time and a great day today. Every day is another day to wake up and appreciate our existence on the earth's surface. Life is a place where you just just have to be for a temporary time.

All thanks and adoration to the source that created life and all in it. Take a look at the moon and the stars, the sun and the clouds so high, the mountains and the seas, the animals in the wild, and also our existence so far. We have nothing to say other than to appreciate him for everything.

Today I would be dating back to days when we got some superstitious beliefs and how far they went in our lives. It’s quite obvious that different parts of the world believed in different things. The same thing applies to our beliefs and traditions which are inclusive of superstition and myths.

So as for Nigerians we also have some trending superstitions that cut across almost every tribe or ethnic group. The funniest part is the way it goes viral and almost everyone gets to know about it no matter where you are.

But now that we are grown up, I realize those superstitions begin to fade away gradually as we acquire more knowledge about our way of life. I can’t say if superstitious beliefs still exist among our younger generations since they are tagged the computer generation.

Some superstitious beliefs I could remember

Lizards and teeth

I remember those days when our teeth were removed and we would be asked to make sure it is not seen by lizards because if a lizard could see them, those teeth might never grow again. So most of the time we count stones according to our age and then throw them together with the tooth on the rooftop and make sure no lizard is watching.

Whistling at night

Whistling at night is believed to attract the presence of ghosts. At times it is said to call snakes closer to the environment due to the nature of snakes hissing 🐍 πŸ˜‚.

Eating from the ground

This is the funniest part. It is said that when your food drops on the floor then you are not to eat them again because the devil must have eaten it. The most painful part of it is the fact that when I just start eating something and it falls then it hurts so much to hear not to pick them anymore. I remember the day I looked around and picked them up again with the thought that whichever the devil eats I must eat this too.

Spitting on the ground

Another naughty belief we had back then was the fact that they said when you spit on the floor and someone else steps on it then you would have a sore throat. So when I have a sore throat I quickly flashback if I had spit and not scrubbed it with my legs.

Rain and sun at the same time

When it rains and it's sunny, it is said that two elephants are fighting or a lioness just gave birth to a cub. πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

Itchy palms

Itchy palms are also related to having good luck πŸ€. When we have itchy palms then we expect good fortune to await us.

Conclusion

All these superstitions most of the time are lies and nothing related to what it's tagged with. But I see it to be an act of training and warning or discouragement from doing something bad and unethical and also promoting good behavior among ourselves.

Header image source

10
$ 19.16
$ 19.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 2
Sponsors of McYusuf
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McYusuf
1 year ago
Topics: My day, Nigeria, Writings, Happy, Myths, ...

Comments

In my place when it rains and there's the sun at the same time, werhorses or halfihuman and half-horse are having a wedding ceremony. Having itchy palms for us means, pay check is about to come hahaha. it's our favorite kind of itch.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can relate with the itchy palms, lol! πŸ˜… I always tell myself that something good is about to happen when I feel.it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago