My interview with @princessbusayo

32 136
Avatar for McYusuf
2 years ago

Good day everyone.

I hope we are having a nice day today. Maybe I should take it as a sublime Sunday. It's not cool over here because I should have made this post earlier before now but right now I am just waking from my sleep and trying to compose something.

Just rounded up the laundry work which I have been doing since yesterday so it was cool to have succeeded on that. But after washing I had to take a quick nap to give myself some rest and think over.

Like I do say in my content actually in my previous ones I do say that we should always try to appreciate our existence no matter what. This life is too short. Every day we wake, we have to give thanks to the almighty God that created life and all in it.

Death is indeed inevitable and no one knows when it would actually come to visit him so we should try to prepare ourselves ahead, and always remember that we always live once.

Waking up this morning to the sad news of the demise of my maternal uncle. He had been sick for some time now. And he was carried for treatment before he could make it no more. Such is life, who knows what tomorrow has in place for us we have to just keep living like we won’t see the next second ahead of us.

Back to the discussion of the day.

Reading through articles yesterday I came across a tag from @Princessbusayo and she challenged me to go ahead and answer some questions from an interview post. I took the challenge and promised to make an entry on that.

The article proclaimed that some Nigerians were called upon to a show to answer a few questions about their country so she decided to answer hers. You can check out her article here

Her first question goes thus;

How was Nigeria back then versus now?

If I'm to answer this I will say that the country has been in a state of sympathy and needs prayers. The Nigeria I knew back then isn't the Nigeria we are present. Things had been getting worse I would say. But we keep praying and have hope that it will get better someday.

Nigeria as a country is blessed with a lot of natural resources. We are blessed with fertile land and many more. We are known to be the pride of Africa. But all of a sudden the story changed.

Nigeria everyone was proud to be in became a country with no direction. Corruption, theft, robbery, kidnapping, insecurities, and many more bad vices became an order of the day. Each day every citizen trembled in fear and prayed for peace to reign.

The Nigeria I knew back then wasn't the Nigeria we are now. Maybe we got a swap. I can't say lol 😁

What was your first money experience?.

I think we all have a similar story when it comes to this aspect. Most of the time we get our money to school instead of taking a lunch box. But that's not general. Because some would always go with a lunch box and are not trained with taking money on them.

But when we get a visitor, we are sometimes given some token amount of money to buy biscuits and all sorts. I remembered when I kept mine 🀣 and said today I am not giving out this money to mum.

The next thing that happened after the visitors left was that I was the one giving out the money to her when she said she would buy a new pair of canvas for my brother and sisters 🀣🀣🀣.

What was the first time you earned money?.

I would say this was when I had finished with my secondary school education and I had to seek admission to the university. I knew there wasn't much money with my parents at that time because my elder brother was also in the university and the expenses of my younger ones too.

I had enrolled as a teacher in a primary school and taught them for a few years. That was when I earned my first amount as salary paid for the job done at the end of the month.

How has the value of money changed over time?.

I would say the Nigerian naira had lost its value. Yeah, I would love to ask a question, in a country with good economic growth how do we expect to have a currency with no value?.

The 5 naira currency right now has been of no value to the extent that it couldn't buy anything in the country again. It's just so useless. Thereby the inflation rate in the country keeps escalating.

I remember some days in the past when we bought a sachet of water with 5 naira when we bought gums, pencils, and sweets with this same 5 naira, even the matches we use at home were affordable for 5 naira. But now all of these things I mentioned can’t be bought with 5 naira anymore. The matches I just got this morning were at the rate of 20 naira.

Image from my device camera

There are loads of five naira I have at home and the only means of spending it is to join two of them together so it adds up to 10 naira before you can spend it on something.

What a pity. And to the 1000 naira notes. Once you buy anything out of it, then its value has been lost. You won't know when you finish spending it.

What was the first thing you saved for?.

That should be my first Nokia phone. I remembered that I bought the phone with the extra savings I got from tutorial classes I took the kids back then. I saved the amount till it got to a desirable amount to buy myself a phone. I was so happy to have bought something with my savings 😁. Maybe I became a man πŸ‘¨.

Thanks so much for the interview. It was fun going back to the old days and remembering how things had changed so fast. It is my pleasure to be on your show today @Princessbusayo

You can also take up the challenge and let's know about your experience in your country.

Thanks so much for reading.

My appreciation goes to my sponsors, readers, commenters, and those who give tips. I appreciate you all. Without you my account is nothing. Thanks so much once again.

IT IS NOT GOODBYE BUT SEE YOU AGAIN πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹

Header images source

12
$ 1.23
$ 1.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Knowhere
+ 8
Sponsors of McYusuf
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McYusuf
2 years ago

Comments

I believe Nigeria will change, it might not just happen overnight or a sudden one but gradually.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good article, can wait to gain more ideal from your article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful responses and aptly put. The situation of the country Nigeria is really scary. What is more worrisome is the inflation . prices of goods and services keep skyrocketing on a daily and nobody is saying or doing anything about. Sometimes, I wonder when we things get better because it seems to be getting worse everyday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God help Nigeria

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amin. Thanks for the πŸ™ prayers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is cool and fresh....Nigeria really has changed like really a drastic one....I will take on this interview with you and Princess, it will be fun as well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah cant wait to read your article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am amazed by the fact that you still have N5 note. We are the leaders of tomorrow, let us hope there is still a government to save when the hands of power changes.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha. I still have them. Maybe I should just try keeping them for the unborn generations to come πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Topical issues are discussed here and I like the concept too, putting the most populous black nation in the world in the picture. Good job guys.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah thanks so much sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im sure with your tough experiences in life, it made you even stronger. Most nigerians i know are strong . They are wise and brilliant. I know you're one of them so keep on praying your nation's freedom from your current situation now. Keep going!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks so much for the kind words and encouragement

We pray for a better Nigeria and a better world at large. Because if Nigeria alone is at peace won’t be good enough. We pray πŸ™ peace for the world in general.

And how is your country over there my friend?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So there are lots of nigerians here! Wow im starting to know some nigerians. Im excited to know some cultures from others

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. It’s cool have have friends from different part of the world

Where are you from?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm from Ph my friend! Hope you're ok now! Keep safe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks you so much friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We're doing fine here! If you mean our government, we're at peace now! Though about politics, no comment! About covid situation, it depends on where you are exactly, we're archipelago, composed of lot of islands. There are places that covid cases were high and some are in moderate . But we're trying to be good!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Waiting for my own invite to do an interview with you sir 😹

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahah. My boss. I don interview you be that ooo.

Feel free to make your article about the question make we read about our so called Nigeria oo πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😹😹😹no p boss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Five Naira notes be looking like vintage people don’t really spend it anymore.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sincerely. Gone are the days. Make Dey remove am like they did with kobo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will definitely do this challenge too. There are so many things to say about Nigeria πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha My boss. You were already challenged by princess. Thought you already made an article.

Can’t wait to read sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haven't made the article yet. Got my hands full and writing about Nigeria requires me to be in my vexing mode.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ You are kinda funny. Vexing mode?

Then I wonder how the article would look like πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha the article would be full of rants.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always nice to learn about other countries, even just snippets. Thank you for sharing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah I appreciate your read. Feel free to share your experience too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why didn't you take me with you for this interview? I used to join you too. Looks like I missed a lot.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚. I am interviewing you too. Please feel free to compose your write on the questions sir.

Can’t wait to read

$ 0.00
2 years ago