Fantasy in my dreams III

8 28
Avatar for McYusuf
2 years ago

Good day to you all

Today is another beautiful day to witness on the earth's surface, life itself has not been so easy, we continue to pray and hope for better days to come. At times even weekends are always much busier than working days. I had been off for some time due to my schedule with my supervisor. I hope I am done with her in no time then I can focus more online.

Sponsors of McYusuf
empty
empty
empty

The story continues

If you haven’t read the first two parts then you should do that. Click the links to enjoy

I knew life would be so hard for me in years to come, but I had to create happiness for myself and live the present then worry less about the future. My neighbors never cared for me and I didn’t even bother to seek them out. I would rather starve myself and eat from the little I have than be a slave to them.


Years passed by, it’s been 5 years now. I was able to cope with the rent for just two years and the landlord out of pity decided to give me an extra year so I could sort things out and maybe time to pack my things together and leave. I can’t blame him, he would have to collect the rent and feed his family too. He can’t just harbor me in the house for free.

Two months before the rent expired I had walked around the streets to get a perfect location for myself. Then I came across a building that could be perfect for my stay.

I would have wished to meet with the house owner before I sheltered there but what if he decided not to help me out. So I met with the people around and requested that I could meet with the owner. I explained myself to them then they told me to stay there because the house owner is already dead and his daughters are abroad. So no one is there to look over the building. They showed me his burial ground right in the backyard of the building, I hardly recognized it because it was already covered with bushes. I promised them I won’t misuse the place and never disappoint them because I owe them a lot.

My rent has expired and I have to pack out, but how would I pack all the televisions, wardrobe and other things at home in an incomplete building? So I decided to sell them off. Water dripped down my face as I decided to put them for sale, at some point, I felt I should just burn them all. It would be better to burn them with my own hands than to sell all my parent's belongings to someone I never knew before. Then another thought would come up again and remind me how I would have to survive if I don’t sell them.

Finally, I decided to sell them, my neighbors were the first to ask me if I wanted to sell them. I wished not to sell it to them but I had no option. They bought all they wished to buy from it and I sold the rest. Now I got some cash at hand to survive even though it might not last me longer but pending the time I would get myself something to do. This was how my journey to the street began.

The change of environment affected me a lot, I got slimmer and at some point in time, I was like a child with kwashiorkor. Malaria got into my bloodstream but in the long run, it became a part and parcel of me.

Waking up every day to the street had become my addiction and sometimes my source of happiness. But never would I forget how my dreams vanished into the thin air. I have lived in suffering for additional five years. Now I am 18 years of age. I had a dream of becoming a medical doctor at the age of 25, but I never think such a dream could come true ever again. Sometimes I do think about the future, would my wife and children be proud to call me a father and husband? How do I care for them? Would any woman even want to be with a suffering man like me?

When I think 💭 a lot then I come to realize that it won’t solve anything but the only solution is to find my way out of this so-called poverty. There are friends I met on the street when we hawk together in the traffic, some of them would steal from the car owners and even from passengers in commercial buses. Now they are advanced robbers, they form a gang and go for operations. But their lives are not much different from mine because when they get all this money, they spend it on hard drugs, cigarettes, and go to clubs and hotels. I realized they were not even ambitious, if I had the opportunity they had I would have found my way back to school to continue with my studies

To be continued…

IT IS NOT GOODBYE BUT SEE YOU AGAIN 👋👋👋

Header image edited on canva application

3
$ 0.28
$ 0.15 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 1
Sponsors of McYusuf
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McYusuf
2 years ago

Comments

Keep your mind focused and never retire before of the challenge of life. Get back on your loins and for the goose laying the golden egg.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Thanks so much for the kind words. Hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never ever be discouraged, if that is what you aspire to become there is still time to go for it and make the best happen....this was touching

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. It’s fictional 😂

Not the real life scenario. Maybe I forgot to add it at the end of the article And you are right, if we want something in life then we go for it. Thanks so much for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whoa, this gets even more interesting😁 Hoping to read the continuation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. One last one and that’s the finale 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should find your way back to school to continue your studies. Don't look at the negative side of the world

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Ma’am thanks 🙏 so much for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago