Is Crocheting really hard?

12 25
Avatar for McJulez
2 years ago
Topics: Crochet

Crocheting may be something which sounds hard for you, but definitely enjoyable once you tried.

I honestly don't know what to write today but since it's been a while since the last time I write here, I just decided to write about doing some crochet products, which is something I thought I wouldn't like at first, but yeah, I find it interesting now.

If you can remember from my previous posts, I shared a few articles about how my classmate do things like this and since I want to divert my attention to something more productive than playing mobile games during my free time, I gave it a try.

To be honest, I am a little bit frustrated at first because I really do not know how to properly hold the hook and do the knitting, but thanks to Youtube tutorials, I was able to learn some few basics.

As a guy, it is actually hard and it is not common. But regardless of your gender, it is actually a great thing to do and spend time with.

Trivia:

Single crochet is the first that I have learned.

Image credits to Annies Catalog

After a few minutes of trying, I got it right. I smiled as I continue doing it. Then I thought of something to make and that is a simple beanie. Yes, I immediately wanted to make a beanie even if I have just learned the basics.

My first try is not that good but I did not give up. But before continuing it, I first took a bath.

So on my next try, I tried harder. As I keep on knitting, I did not realized how fast the time is because there is still sunlight when I started it and it is already dark outside when I stopped. Probably, it is about sixty percent complete when I decided to stop for a while.

In the next day, I continue doing it during my free time. After a few more hours, probably two, I run out of yarn. So I decided to locked it up already. Besides, it looks good already.

I wear it and it fits well. Not too tight nor too loose, just right. As a beginner, it is a great achievement upon making my first ever project. Based on estimates, probably I made it for five hours, but not continuously. Anyway, what do you think about it?

Materials I have used:

  • Size 5.0 mm hook

  • Dark blue and light blue yarns (18grams each)

  • Pair of scissors

Just like what I am saying, I do it for about five hours to complete (as a complete beginner).

It is not perfect, but it is actually a great start. I hope to make more things next time. Probably, jacket, more beanies, and the like.

So, my next project (which is actually on-going already) is to make a vest which looks like this one in the following photo.

Image via Pinterest

I just do it during my free time and yeah, I can't stop from doing it once I started. But as much as I don't want to stop until I finish it, I can't since it is tiring too. Yes, you read it right. During my first time doing it, I experienced back pain but it's worth it.

So if you are looking for a hobby which you may do anytime, and could make you enjoy and make a product for yourself or for others, crocheting is definitely a great choice not just for girls, but for boys too.

9
$ 2.42
$ 2.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @ErdoV
$ 0.02 from @CrazyRichFilipina
+ 1
Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McJulez
2 years ago
Topics: Crochet

Comments

Crochet is addicting ,it seems hard at first but while you start and you created something you will grave for more crafts .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's my first time to know a guy that does crochet. All I know who have this hobby are girls so I was kinda shocked. But anyways, I find people who can do this as talented. I don't have any idea how to do this so I am amaze whenever I see contents about crochet.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah so I was really hesitant at first to try it but it's kinda fun naman. Nakakangalay nga lang haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's perfect Julez. I love it so much. Crochet for me is really enjoyable. If you are bored then having a crochet, it's really sure that your mind will divert into it. I making a crochet once Julez but I stop because I met this platform.

Hehe yes that's true. If it is your first time. You will experience back pains and also your fingers will aching but still it's really worth it. I know you can do it with your next plan for your crochet.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I plan of making a jacket soon po haha. Hopefully, it'll turn out good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It will Julez. I trust you. You can make it.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Look so Nice and maybe can't learn that easily.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It looks really good! I like the colour too. I don't know how to crochet and I have a feeling that it would take me several days to do what you did in five hours lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dami ko nga nakikita sa noise na nagcocrochet nacucurios tuloy ako itry kaso busy pa hehe. Mukhang ilang linggo mo din matatapos yung vest na yarn a 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Opo lalo pa't finals week namin ngayon kaya hindi ko masyadong naasikaso.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I envy those knows how to crochet. I haven't tried but I wnat to learn. I find people who crochet being peaceful calm and enjoying it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's just easy to learn po. Besides, a lot of tutorials can be found in Youtube.

$ 0.00
2 years ago