Aphorisms from Tuesdays with Morrie

5 39
April 16, 2022
Saturday

Simple aphorisms can be full of lessons and realizations worth knowing. A lot of these inspiring maxims can be read from the runaway bestseller that changed millions of lives-Tuesdays with Morrie.


Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash 


As of this moment, more or less 20 pages are what is left from this book I am reading. To tell you honestly, I was moved and touched by the words it contained and how they were delineated. Every page is worth reading, and every aphorism is worth sharing. So, to help you make up your mind about whether or not to read this inspiring and one of the best books, I will list down my personal favorite quotes from the book.

Note: Authors utilize literary devices and techniques like aphorisms when they want to get their point understood clearly. Tuesdays with Morrie, the biographical book written by American writer and sports columnist Mitch Albom, makes frequent use of aphorisms to convey universally applicable moral truths.

"Accept what you are able to do and what you are not able to do."

Remaining true to who I am is one of the things I realized through this aphorism. Instead of trying to be someone I can't be, I will focus on what I can do. In order to reach their full potential, everyone has a set of special skills that only they possess. Even if I'll never be a professional athlete or the top student in my class, I can still do well in school and get outstanding grades by just being myself and putting in the work required with compassion, love, and faith in God. 

"Don't let go too soon, but don't hang on too long."

This one has something to do with age. You may read this aphorism on page 162 of the mentioned book. After living their lives to their greatest potential, the dying doesn't feel the desire to go back in time and experience their youth, much like elderly people who have fulfilled their lives with significant and rewarding pursuits don't feel the urge to return or recreate their younger generation. They are content with what they have achieved and do not want to go back to the past. They have lived their life to the fullest and are satisfied with their accomplishments.

"Don’t cling to things, because everything is impermanent."

Things that won't last a lifetime are what I think of when reading this one. Everything, including your possessions, relationships, and even life, is not permanent. So don't cling to things as if you may carry them wherever you go. Do not put too much stock in a single scenario, since it will eventually change. Everything isn't here to stay forever. Everything will eventually come to an end. So, we have to learn to live in the present moment and not worry about the future or the past.

See, these are just a few of the countless aphorisms you may read from the given book. As much as I want to write more, I can't because it's already getting late at night and there is also a power interruption in our area due to something that had happened in one of the tourist spots in place. That is all for now. Thank you!


If you are enjoying it, feel free to check these out too:

All photos are edited in Canva.

© 2022 McJulez. All Rights Reserved.

5
$ 3.75
$ 3.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @Ayaan258
+ 2
Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty

Comments

kailangan ko na talagang basahin mga gawa niya lahat huhuhhhuhhu super ganda at insipiring coming from you too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I stumbled in this book before but I just don't remember where but I will try to read it next time that I saw when I saw it. I am not just sure if I saw it in my aunt's house or cousin's house.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amazing writes my friend. And thanks for the books I'll love to check them out. Have a wonderful day

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you dear to mention out this book. Is it available in PDF form?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, you may look for it on internet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago