Unfriend anyone who does not add Joy to your Life

15 51
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
1 year ago

Happy Thursday dreamers! How's are you today? I really hope so that despite of the struggles we've encountered today, you still end your day with a fulfilling outcome. You did a great job today and I know that there's someone who silently rooting for you. So laban lang.


What would be your reaction when you discovered that someone is unfriended you on social media? Or what if he/she unfriended you in real life? Will you feel offended or will you regret to befriend with that person?

I actually don't know about it but I saw it earlier on Facebook that today is "National Unfriend Day". It is a sign to unfriend those people who didn't appreciate you as a person and also added your burden in life. I'll be honest here, before I don't understand why do people choose to unfriend someone especially those who are so close to them before. Like is it really necessary to cut the ties between the both of you? Is the closeness is not enough to keep your relationship? That is what my idea before about unfriending someone. But it totally change especially when I reach the adulting stage. Now, I can say that I fully understand why there are some people who unfriending someone not only in social media but even in their life.

I believe that unfriending is not a childish act but rather it is an act for protecting yourself from a toxic one. Of course, we don't want to keep people who always insult or give us negativities. I admit that I also unfriended some people and worst, some of them are my relatives. I'm not proud of it knowing that I need to do that on my own bloodline. But it comes on my life that I decided to cut off my connection to them because they are really toxic to the point that I blame myself even I did not do something to harm them. They always pinpoint my flaws and all of the insecurities I had. There's also a point that they create a story that cause depression not only for me but also to my parents. I also remember that they said that I will not be successful in life even I worked so hard. That is the time that I decided to ignore their existence in my life. If they can't acknowledge me for who am I, better to step away myself from them. But I actually don't mad on them but I just only disappointed that the family that supposed to lift me up would be the one who drag me down. I unfriended them on social media and for me it is equivalent to a peace of mind.

Peace. It is probably one of the reason why someone unfriended a person. If she really think that the person is not good for her especially in her mental health, she choose to unfriend it rather than dealing with that toxic one. We can't please everyone so it is good for us to be aware what kind of people we want to be part of our life. Some did it because they want to set a boundaries or limitations for themselves. I remember last Sunday a priest shared on his homily that " We should not be too attached to a person. We should not depend ourselves to someone because sometimes those people who you treat as a friend will be the reason of your downfall. The real enemy is not a stranger". If we are too attached to someone, we tend to blame ourselves if something happens in your relationship. It has a tendency that we were questioning our own worth why that person cut ties to us.

On the other, I also be unfriended with some. She is my friend in High School and I was actually surprise when I saw that we are not friends anymore on social media. I didn't get offended in what she did because if it is something that giving her peace, it would gonna be totally fine with me. Maybe I also did something in the past or she just want to have a fresh beginning without me in her life. As long as I know that she is happy with her decision, that's enough for me. I just to remind you that unfriending someone is not a selfish nor a childish thing but instead, it is the most selfless thing that you can do for yourself. You are allowing yourself to bloom without the thorn in your surrounding. You just prioritizing yourself beyond others. But we should also be responsible with it. It doesn't mean that you have the power to unfriend someone at all, you should also evaluate the reason behind your action. All I can say is, we must unfriend someone who does not add Joy to your life. You are a gem that should not be surrounded with a fake one.


Appreciation!!

Thank you dreamers for all of your warmest support to me. I am happy that I can still able to express myself here. Thank you and have a great sleep ahead!!

10
$ 0.95
$ 0.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @Erickchristianmontajes
Sponsors of Mayiee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Anyone that doesn't bring happiness is good to keep the person far, because some people complains alot

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako langga na experience ko na yan. Bigla nalang akong inunfriend at nagtaka ako kung bakit. Pinabayaan ko nalang.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kaya nga ate, pabayaan na lang natin choose naman po nila yun eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo langga. Wag nalang natin pansinin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Since i'm not active on my soc med accounts i dont bother much if they unfriend me or not, hehe! Or just in case , i won't unfriend them , let them stalk and see what's happening in my life, and kill themselves with envy , hahaha!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahahah love it! Yep we should not be bothered by them

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wut, may ganyan na din National Unfriend Day? I only heard bout that today, lol. Anyways, unfriending someone is not bad basta you have valid reason. Wag naman sanang mag unfriend lang coz they want it or bla bla. Ako di ako mahilig mag unfriend,. Peri mahilig ako nang snob, hahaha charowtm

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahhah diba parang araw araw ate may National Day eme hahha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If a person dominates the life of social media, then he will be in a lot of loss. I don't make friends on social media, I only use social media to relieve boredom.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes to this! I unfriend people who disturb my peace. I also ignore friend requests from people I don't like to make friends with.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Me too ate, actually mas marami po akong ignored friend request kesa sa actual friend list hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I probably dont get offended, Im used to that scenario every time me and my partner quarrels hahaha she always unfriend me on facebook, now we are not friends on facebook hahaha I don't mind, when you became more matured, You dont take thing seriously more on being an open minded person.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ahaha it is somehow cute because she's your partner hihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

she is cute but psycho hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Madami na akong experience na ganito, and it's very useful lalo na sa mental health ko. kapag toxic ang isnag tao, I'd rather spent myself alone than being surrounded by toxics taht ruins my peace.

$ 0.01
1 year ago