My top picks on 90's OPM bands

15 46
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
2 years ago

Another weekend is come. How are you dreamers? I hope that even there's a unexpected struggles, you still able to overcome it. Don't forget to rest especially when you feel that you need it. Achieving goals is important but don't sacrifice your health just to achieve those goals. Always prioritize your health.

As usual it's so hot here in our area. There's no shadow of any raindrops. I actually hate this kind of weathering because I can't focus properly. It seems that my energy is quickly depleted even I'm just only sitting on the couch. I can't also able to focus on thinking about what to write tonight because my mind is occupied on the ideas on how to combat this hot weather. But I'm laughing on myself because I'm fully aware about the weather but I'm still wearing a pajama and jacket . Haha so weird but I can't sleep without this attire. So I just listen on my OPM playlist because I remember that we need to perform a particular OPM song on one of our subject and suddenly idea comes on my mind.

As an avid fan of music, I can appreciate melody and rhythm easily. I know that music lover can relate too. It seems that a particular song is compose for us right? But called me an old soul or what but I much prefer listening to the 90's music rather than the music we have today especially when it comes to OPM. I don't know why but I feel like music before is more relatable to me and it becomes our history. I also searched that during this era, our country is known for the iconic bands that turns into legends. No doubt because there song is really worth it to listen. So now, I will shared to you my top bands during 90's. Hope that some of you can relate also to it.

1.Eraserheads

I guess every Filipino knows this band right? They are one of the bands that creates a name to the industry. I love their songs not only because they are legends but also because it really soothing to my ears. I can't pick what's my favorite to their songs because honestly all of it is really comforting and worth it. But you know what, I appreciate their songs even more after I watched the " Ang Huling El Bimbo" the musical. If you have watched that also, I'm sure you are also belongs to the one who cried because of that. And maybe that's the reason why there's a lot of song covers of their songs because it so good.

Lift your head, baby, don't be scared

Of the things that could go wrong along the way

You'll get by with a smile

You can't win at everything, but you can try

-Lyrics from their song with a smile

This song of them is really inspiring because " With a Smile" seems reminds us that sometimes it's okay to if you didn't get what you desire. It's okay to take a pause when you are tired because you should be hurry on achieving it. If it's really meant for you, God will give it to you in the right time. So enjoy your life with a smile.

2.Rivermaya

"The world could die, and everything may lie. Still, you shan't cry" Familiar to this line? Yes, it's from their song 214. If I'm not mistaken , this song is also used in one of the movies but I can't remember the title of that movie hehe. It's one of my top picks on their song lists. Even I don't have a special someone, I feel like that I'm in love because of this song haha. Rivermaya is also a good band, I remember that me and my cousin even go to the music fest just to see him performing with the band.

3.Parokya ni Edgar

Another best OPM bands for me is the Parokta ni Edgar. Their songs is my favorite when I'm still playing drums before. And you know what? Their band name is come from the joke of one of his classmate. He can't even imagine that this joke will turns into reality and booms like an iconic one. Some of their songs is bagsakan which I always heard to my prof everytime we have a recitation ahah,Gitara and Your song.

4.Sponge Cola

Actually at first I didn't know them. My brother introduce it to me especially when I heard the song " Bitiw" on the serye Pedro Penduko. I thought that this band is puro paangas and pa-cool lang because I can't deny that their vocalist ( Yael Yuzon) is so maangas but when I searched their songs, I got the point why my brother fell in love to their song. Even now, he is always listening and singing their songs. He got LSS over a decade lol hahaha.

Dehado kung dehado

Para sa'n pang mga galos mo

Kung titiklop ka lang

Titiklop ka lang

Matalo kung matalo

Huwag ka sanang magkakamaling

Sumuko na lang woh

-Lyrics from Spongecola song "Puso"

I really love the message behind this song of them. When you heard the songs, it seems motivating you not to give up so easily in life because once we give up, we are already lost at the game of life. It's better to lose while you are fighting than losing without even trying.

5.South Border

I thought that it was a foreign band before because of their name. It's sound like a foreign one not until I heard a Tagalog song of them. I even asked my brother ( because he is a music lover too) why this one knows how to speak our language then he said that they are an OPM band haha. I was young back then so I didn't realize it though haha.

Even if there is pain now

Everything would be alright

For as long as the world still turns

There will be night and day

Can you hear me?

There's a rainbow always after the rain

-Lyrics from the song Rainbow

This is actually one of my favorite OPM song because the tone is so good. It's just mapanakit yet so inspiring that the same time ahha. It makes us realize that there's no permanent thing in the world even people could suddenly hurt and leave us. But sometimes after the painful ending is the beginning that we've never expected. Life must go on, even they stay or leave you, you must choose to live your life without depending to other's back.

So for now, I only share to you my Top 5 favorite OPM bands. And while writing this one, I can even choose what to perform. I will gonna do a With A Smile x Rainbow Mash up. Akala mo talaga singerist noh hahaha. I'm not but I can sing a little bit lol. I hope that there's also some that also enjoy this kind of music. And I'm sorry if it's a boring article for some, I will make some bawi to you once I finished doing my performance hihi.


~~~~

Thank you to every dreamers who always got my back through supporting me on my journey here. To my sponsors, readers and commenters, thank you for motivating me even more. I appreciate you a lot. Thank you and have a good night sleep later 💚💚

8
$ 0.99
$ 0.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @charmingcherry08
$ 0.02 from @BreadChamp
Sponsors of Mayiee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Gosh sis. We definitely just go vibes with each other when it comes to the taste of music ahhhhkk I love all of them. The nostalgia I felt everytime I'm listening to their songs.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

South Border talaga yung idol ko, 🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Napakanta mo 'ko dahil sa mga lyrics sa itaas sis hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am also a music lover here. Your top 5 songs are also my favorites. Parokya ni Edgar is the best for me. They are still in the group today. I hope coach bamboo will join rivermaya again. Also with elly buendia.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I also wait for the comeback of Bamboo to rivermaya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully, there will be a reunion concert for rivermaya. Just like the reunion concert of Eraserheads.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Habang binabasa ko yung mga lyrics Langga. Iniisip ko din ano ang tono. Di ko talaga familiar Langga. Every song talaga Langga nuh may mga lesson talaga tayong nakukuha na ma connect natin sa life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga po ate eh, sobrang relatable talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo Langga kaya ang sarap makinig ng music Langga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love these bands. There music is evergreen and they give us comfort.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

All the bands you mentioned produced good quality music that even until now, their songs were just released yesterday. The beat, the lyrics, and the performers are all phenomenal. Even young people who were born in the 2000s know those bands and their songs as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Music lover here, hehe, by the way my taste of music is reggae and so heavy song. I love also OPM music.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I also love reggae songs hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napakanta naman ako konti doon sa Smile na song. Yan madalas ko kantahin sa videoke eh. Haha. Yung iba di ako familiar pero siguro kapag tinugtog eh masasabayan ko. Di ako maalam sa title nila eh. Haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha ako din sis, Minsan di din ako familiar sa title ahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago