Middle Child Syndrome: Is it Really Exist?

10 24
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
2 years ago

Good evening dreamers of read cash Universe!! How's your day today? I hope that even though you still have a hectic schedule, you still get a chance to take a deep breath and rest. Don't overused yourself okay? If it wished to rest, then give it because it's really necessary. And I just want to say to you that no matter how small your progress today, it is still accepted and if no one say this so I'll be " I'm proud of you and I'm always rooting for your success. I know that you are already on half of it, so keep going".


I'm not feeling well because I have a slight fever since I got my booster shot yesterday. But it didn't stop me to be productive, I realize that I need to conduct a meeting with my thesis groupmates and asked them about the progress. I'm glad that my group is cooperative. Then one of them choose to stay on the meet, I supposed to end the call but she asked me if I'm busy then I said that I'm kind of. She asked me if she can open up to me about her family problems and I answered okay immediately especially that I can feel that she carry some problems in mind. I already notice it earlier because I called her so many times to speak but she only nodded. I don't want to asked her because I thought that don't want to talked about it but good thing that she is the one who asked that thing.

So here's her story, they are 3 siblings and she is the middle child. Ever since, she felt that she seems not belong to their family. That her parents give so much attention to her eldest and younger sibling. Don't get her wrong, she is still glad that her parents take care and send her to school. She also admits that she tend to became attention seeker because she wants to feel how to be favorite. She even do everything to excel in everything most especially in acads. She thought that by doing this, her family can appreciate her so well. But nothing's changed. She seems an invisible one to the eyes of their parents. When she is already a college student, her parents stop supporting her and said that she should support herself because they want to send their youngest on the private school.She can't help but to asked her parents why they seems to be unfair to her. Her siblings get what they want while she needs to work hard before getting any reward. Aside from that, her eldest sibling is a certified tambay and her parents let him do what he wants. He only waste his parent's money for his vices but even though, their parents still support that kind of child. Even it's hard to adjust, she tries to find part time job in able to support her studies. She works as Cashier in a fast food chain and the sad part about it is, only 1/4 of salary was for her and the other portion was for her parents. Her parents obliged her to give some of her salaries because according to them, she have an " Utang na loob" to them. She can't do anything because she knows if she say a word, they might think that she rebels to them. But she is already tired on that situation. She did her best but no one in the family appreciate that. She create a dreams for her family but no one ever support her. She wants to understand where her parents come from on treating her like that but she can't get an enough answer. She thought that maybe it is the curse of being the middle child. Then she asked me one thing " What's better for her; to leave on the house and live alone or to stay on their house even her family treat her like that and she can't feel any home at all?" I don't also know what it's better one for her so I write it here to know some advices from you hehe.

Middle Child Syndrome; Is it a real thing? I tend to asked myself this question. I'm the fourth among five siblings so somehow I can considered myself as a semi-middle lol but most of the time, I can feel that I am the youngest one haha. On the other hand, I tend to asked myself if my sister also feels this syndrome? I realized now that she didn't open up to our parents about her problems even the latest one when her boyfriend cheated on her. I'm the only one who knows it first because she told it to me. I also notice that she the most quiet one among the siblings.Maybe she don't want to bother our Mom because we both know that our Mom is also into broken pieces since our Dad leaves her. Maybe she choose it to be her silent battles that no one could ever know. I admire her a lot because she is so independent and she is the peacemaker on the family. But I can't deny that sometimes they forget to asked her " How she's doing?" because I know that sometimes she only waits for this question. So I tend to asked her earlier but she just answer me I'm okay but you can witnessed on her eyes that she's lying. But I don't want to push her to open up because I know that she's still on the process of healing her broken hearts.

I've searched about Middle Child Syndrome and according to it, it a a belief wherein a middle child are ignored, feel out of place, turns to be attention seeker and feel neglected. Since most of the parents favorite is either the eldest or youngest one, middle child sometimes becomes rebellious to their parents. They can feel that the love they get is only a percent of the love that their other siblings receive from their parents. Middle child labeled themselves as " No ones favorite". Sometimes they tend themselves if is there a place for her to the family or she/he always be left behind. It seems that don't have an exact place on the family cause they already have their bets. But not all middle child experiencing this kind of syndrome because there is also parents who equally treated their children. Even this syndrome is still a theory,one thing I could say is " Your still matters even you are a middle child. You are not obliged to please anyone especially your parents because at the first place, you deserve to be loved".

So I also want to remind those parents who can read this one, may you treat your children equally. We should not look on their birth orders because after all, they still our child and they deserve to receive care and support from us. I can understand that some have their favorites but we should not forget that at the end of the day, there's one child who waited for your hugs. Please understand middle child the way we understand eldest and youngest one because just like them, they need some who can truly understand them. I promise to myself that if I will be a parent, I will treated them fair and square but I also realize that I only want one child ahahha. May all middle child find their peace and their home.


~~~~

Just wanna give my warmest appreciation to those people who continuously supporting this little dreamer. To my sponsors,thank you for not leaving me. To those who always read and leave some comments, thank you for appreciating my article. Let's enjoy the rest of night and have a peaceful sleep later. 🤗💚

10
$ 5.80
$ 5.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @Ayane-chan
+ 1
Sponsors of Mayiee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Omg hahaha, I'm a middle child too and I feel the same sometimes. I don't know if I'm just dramatic but c'mon I'm no longer a little kid who can't read things through. I'm the one who excels in academics more than my siblings but I'm the one given less appreciation. There are times as well that I feel so left behind. But, that never stopped me from loving them. They're still my family. I have nowhere else to go but to them who somehow made me independent and strong.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I admire you for still loving them, thinking that way makes you matured and independent ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Better leave than ipagsiksikan pa ang sarili sa Family kuno na di naman maalam sumupurta. Live on her own and achieve her dream on her own. Maigi pang magsarili kesa may pamilya ka nga pero di mo rin naman matawag na pamilya talaga. They are so unfair. So don't blame their child if nag decide yung bata ma bumukod at piliing kalimutan sila. Yan ang gusto nila ee. Kakagigigl sila ke aga aga hinahighbloos ako grrrrrr!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wag kang manggigil ate hahaha, masyado lang maaga haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eto dpat ang isipin ng nga parents na dpat pantay pantay ang pgtrato sa lahat ng mga anak kya ang sakit sa heart pg pg feel mo di ka kasali.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga po ate, ang sakit po mafeel out of place sa sarili mong pamilya🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a Middle child and I guess sometimes it's unfair to always associate emotional problems and the like to the aforementioned syndrome because not all context are the same. I've heard about it multiple times though, saying that if you're the middle child you can either be the black sheep or good sheep of the family. I guess it just depends on how you handle your situation 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, maybe it can also be that way. Thanks ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, every child matters, no matter what he is still we should accept them cordially.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko alam kung totoo po yan. Parang may favoritism sa family nila

$ 0.01
2 years ago