Be More Productive While Keeping Your Sanity with these Time Management Hacks

7 37
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

In my previous post, I have shared tips on what we should do when we are overwhelmed with stress. Those tips were meant to be reactive - meaning, it should be done when we are already at the point where we can no longer handle the pressure and we need to let go of the "steam". In this post, I will share some proactive tips. Being proactive means acting in anticipation of future problems, needs, or changes. So before the insurmountable stress gets you, you are more than capable to handle the pressure. 

Think ahead

Sort out your tasks into urgent, important, and not so urgent and not important. Remember: not every important task needs urgent attention and vice versa. When all your tasks pile up, check what can be postponed for another day so you can address the most important ones first. But this doesn't mean you will neglect the non-urgent tasks. Learn to schedule properly.  

Think smart

We think smart when we use tools and hacks that make our tasks easier. Like when we make use of our smartphone’s to-do apps to monitor our progress. Have you heard of Pomodoro technique? Use it to accomplish more. I've mentioned it in one of my posts: Study Hacks to Apply on Your Next Review Session. You may read that to get an idea. Get rid of distractions. If you can minimize, or let go of your mobile games for a while, do so. Especially when assignments pile up, it is not wise to prioritize leisure. Make use of your time wisely. Oftentimes, what we lack is not time per se, but discipline. 

Think over

Analyze your capacity to handle things. We should not accept every task that is given to us especially when it is beyond our ability, beyond our comprehension, beyond our authority, and beyond our available time and resources. We are not superheroes. Treat yourself better - give yourself a break. If you think your tasks overwhelm you already, say NO. Again, learn to say NO to unnecessary things. It does not mean you are letting opportunities pass, it means you are saying YES to better things, which includes your health and sanity. 

Think fast

Being decisive is one important element in proper scheduling. When you fail to decide for yourself, others will do it for you. And most of the time you will get exhausted when you do not take charge of your schedule. Use a scheduler, think of the things you need to do. List them down. When tasks pop out, decide whether you will accommodate or not. Decide not on feelings but principle. Will it help me? Will I deliver? Usually, the ability to think fast when the situation calls is learned from experience. So, gain experience while you are young. Learn the habits. Study the cause and effect. Your future self will thank you for it. 

Think big

Thinking big is creating a picture of yourself that you are in charge of your schedule, you are responsible and you will not allow distractions to bother your peace. When I say you have you think big, you should know why you are doing things. You see things from a wider perspective. You do things for a purpose. You schedule because you want to enjoy life. You postpone leisure to be productive because you are investing in yourself. You are delaying some gratifications so you will enjoy things later. 

One factor why people are stressed is poor time management. While the demands for our time will not magically disappear because we know how to schedule, we can work around these demands, at least. It helps to be prepared. If we are wise in how we spend our time, no matter how many tasks get into our lap, somehow we can manage. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my own blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you pay me a visit! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people. 

5
$ 5.84
$ 5.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @immaryandmerry
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

All that you stated above is true and helpful. I'm putting that up into practice before and I have been successful doing that. But these past few days, I don't know. Procrastination is winning! I always do my schedule, I plan ahead, I know how to prioritize, but I am too lazy right now to put my plans into action. Well, i'm trying hard again to bring back my old habits. I am just thinking that i'll treat this as my break for now, and i'll be back on track tomorrow.

Tho I am not missing requirements, it's just feels odd for me not to work on schedule. I feel so unproductive on not keeping up with my schedule.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehehe take that as a break, a springboard before you launch for greater things! Fighting! 💪🏻

$ 0.00
3 years ago

kaso ilang araw nakong nakabreak hahaha pero sana bukas balik na sa dati. may exam na din naman kaya mapipilitan na din siguro ako

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wala ka nang choice hahaha. Sabagay, deadline at nakakapressure na teacher ang best motivation 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

true hahahah ganyan nangyayari samin ngayong online class. di namin pinapansin mga modules tapos pag may schedule na ng quiz or exam saka palang mapapaaral. ang hirap din haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

what you say is very true, but sometimes things can hinder us, whether personal problems or problems around us, but most people definitely do this.😇😇😇

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I agree. Sometimes it's not about the tasks, it's can also be the people around us or our personal problems that give us headache. Hehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago