1.   When it became “Phobia”

5 37
Avatar for Martine4
2 years ago

Good Morning friends!

“A phobia is a type of anxiety disorder that causes an individual to experience extreme, irrational fear about a situation, living creature, place, or object.”

Above is the simple definition of a Phobia, I was reading it on internet, I have experienced and still I am witnessing a real “Phobia” in my childhood friend’s personality. Today I am going to share with you that how a small incident can affect our whole life?

Sponsors of Martine4
empty
empty
empty

Maybe it was an unconscious incident happened daily in our life but we were not aware that this is going to be an unforgettable incident of our life and life changer of my best friend’s life. In 1994 when I was 6 years old and my friend Alen was 6 years 3 months. Alen & his family was our neighbour, we used to play together most of the time. Some time we used to go in small ground near to our house because we found some other kids also, who used come to play and we usually joined them in some of their games.

It was 09th of July 1994, we were playing in the ground with other kids, one of us had bring a new football on that day and he invited us to play with them, we happily joined them and we were enjoying our game.

After some time one boy kicked the football and the football went near to a street dog sleeping under a tree shadow in the same garden, the boy went and picked the football back and we had started our game again. After some time Alen kicked the football and again it went near to street dog but this time it was little closer to that dog, as Alen has kicked it so we asked him to pick up the football but this time street dog has noticed it and opened his eyes. We didn’t noticed anything because we used to see many dogs sitting there many time. Alen was going there to pick-up the ball. As Alen touched the ball, suddenly the street dog attacked on him and bit him and gave a big cut on his left cheek, we all start shouting. Two of neighbours has come and through some stone on the dog to make it run away. Alen’s whole shirt was full of blood and he was like unconscious and crying without taking any breath inside. Neighbours hold him and took him to the nearby doctor clinic, someone inform Alen’s mom too and she also came on the spot and run towards doctor’s clinic with both neighbours. I was in shock and cried for full day, my mom try to hold me but I was not able to come out of it. I was so scared inside in my heart, whole incident was re-occurring in my eyes again and again.

Next day I went to Alen’s house with my mom to check his health and I saw that his full face was swelled and it was hard to recognise him. We used to go daily to meet Alen and in few days he was recovering from that injury. We were started playing again in his house for 10-15 days and doctor has removed his bandage also. One day I invited him to come to my house on land line phone but he refuse to come, I thought I needed some more time so I went there. We played for an hour or two and I asked him to come with me to my house and he refused again, I didn’t asked him again. Now Alen’s house was our new ground to play.

One day we were playing outside of his house and we saw a street dog just passing from the Alen’s house street. When Alen noticed that dog he started shouting loudly and started crying loudly, his mom came out and took him into her lap and said him, no Alen it was just passing away. Don’t worry I am here with you my boy. Alen’s full body was shaking and he was continuously crying. I tried to made him feel little secure so I pick up a small stone and move towards their main gate by saying “Go doggy Go away”. Alen stopped me loudly “Don’t go, he will bit you”, “Don’t go, he will bit you” and I stopped.

From that day I notices this change in Alen’s behaviour, he didn’t go out alone, he tried to avoid to come to play in ground but he came sometime with his mom or dad, If he saw any dog anywhere he started trembling with fear. He was growing with us but his fear was also growing inside him. He avoid meeting dogs, he changed his way if he saw dog anywhere. He don’t go to the relative who pet the dog in their house.

We tried to talk to him many time but nothing worked and even he is consulting psychiatrist but he admitted it will not go out of his mind. Although he is not trembling now his fear is still inside in his unconscious mind, He can’t see the people playing with pet dog, he can’t see anyone hugging the dog means he can’t see anyone come in direct contact of dog. He don’t allow his kids to go out alone anywhere. Now he is living with this problem and we have also accept him as it is and try to avid make him scared, we support him in all the ways.

We lough sometime when his small son says “My papa is scared of Dog”

Thank you very for reading it with patience.

Waiting for your valuable suggestions and advices

5
$ 0.11
$ 0.05 from @sharmaji
$ 0.05 from @Flockthreater
+ 1
Sponsors of Martine4
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Martine4
2 years ago

Comments

What made that incident more traumatic for Alen was the fact that he was only six years old and he was attacked and hurt in the face. Even an adult would probably develop a phobia if that happened to them. Good thing, the dog was free of rabies! It's hard to conquer fear or trauma when an event happens full on in your face because what happened is indelibly imprinted in your brain.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, you are right, even it is a past now but it left the scar on his face and in his mind and heart too. Thank you very much for reading my article my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes we do not imagine how serious an event in our childhood can be and that it can mark us so much. It is said that phobias come from there, from some traumas we had as children. I am afraid of heights and closed places, I do not remember any trauma in my childhood but I can tell you that there comes a time when I literally get paralyzed and stop breathing. Phobias are terrible and can never be eliminated as such, we just have to find a way to try to control that feeling and survive on a daily basis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes you said very well atleast Alen has a reason but it develop in your mind unconsciously. I can understand your fear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago