They All Want to be a Model

19 36
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago

Every once in a while when I have a lot of extra time, which is rare, I scroll through Facebook and observe selfies and captions. Owning a DSLR does not make a person a photographer any more than a pretty face makes one a model.

Everybody's beautiful

Be encouraged - we are all beautiful in our own way and highly valued. Nothing could be further from the truth. The world defines beauty one way and that is by looks and size and body shape. Don't fall into that trap because looks fade, the body weathers, but the heart and one's actions are what makes a person truly beautiful.

A story and a lesson

I remember a girl in our high school - a foreigner with freckles and red hair. She was bullied mercilessly. She was skinny as a rail and wore glasses. She was ignored, called all the usual names, and was treated horribly by others. True, she wasn't attractive to look at.

Well, Alice (I'll use that name) changed. Five years later she was unrecognizable. Her hair was still bright red and she still had freckles, but she had gained weight and her face had changed dramatically. She was a swan who had bloomed to life. The gradual change was really remarkable. Now the ladies were jealous of her beauty and the boys were flocking to her for attention.

Many of us, had we been her, would have shunned those who bullied her. But not Alice! Nope. She had one valuable asset: the ability to forgive others when they didn't deserve it. She was one of the most popular ladies in town as it turns out. Now that I've moved away I don't know what ever happened to her, but she was a great lesson to me. She was the epitome of beauty that was more than skin deep.

Who to model?

The would be models on social media are sometimes attractive outwardly. But showing one's body is not necessary and is certainly immodest. And guys with their abs. Laughable. Maybe you are impressed but I'm not. I don't need makeup to impress. War paint is what I call it. A little lipstick and I'm good to go, not 45 minutes in front of a mirror to turn myself into something I'm not.

And show me a man who in a one-woman kind of guy and who devotes his life to his woman and children and works and I'll show you a man. Not a drunkard and an unfaithful playboy.

Pixabay.com

Show me a woman who is caring no matter what she looks like and who sacrifices herself for the sake of others and I'll show you a real woman.

Model Christ

None of us are perfect, especially me, but there is One who is - Jesus. We were all created in the image of God. (Genesis 1:26). We certainly do not look like Him, but rather we are fashioned to resemble and represent God on this earth. Rather, it is Jesus who is the preeminent and perfect image of God. He alone is the exact representation of God the Father and is God Himself. And God is love.

Pixabay.com Free images

To be created in God's image, as one scholar put it, "denotes our capacity to rule over creation and be in relationship with God and other humans and to exercise reason, intelligence, speech, moral consciousness, creativity, rationality, and choice." In other words, we have His attributes, though to a much lesser extent.

It is this Jesus that I practice righteousness (be obedient) for to be more like Him from day to day. I don't need to be nor do I aspire to be a model that the world adores, but rather a member of His church - His body - the one the world does not recognize.

We are all beautiful in His eyes and highly valued. We don't need to model for Facebook, Instagram and whatever, but we should model ourselves after Christ.

"Follow my example, as I follow the example of Christ" (1 Corinthians 11:1, NIV).

Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty

8
$ 12.30
$ 7.43 from @Scotty17
$ 4.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.12 from @RazorFist
+ 2
Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago

Comments

We are beautiful with our own different ways, that's why we are unique. Sad to say, some people, didn't actually see it. What's more important for them is just what they saw, especially in the physical.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is sad indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree to you sis. We are all beautiful. It's just that other people did not see it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is on their conscience rather than ours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Finally found someone who is not impressed with guys pulling off their shirts and showing abs. Different one.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You have that right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’m inspired. There are no lies there. We all need God in our lives.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Definitely. Without Jesus, life is meaningless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perfectly said. I used to have a lot of "friends" on FB but I unfriended them and have like 82 now. I still see the scantily clad dramatists looking for attention coming across my timeline, though. I spend maybe 15 minutes a day on the FB platform - to upload my Christian teaching for the day and to post a meme in the morning and one in the late afternoon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I post pics of my boy and interact with my parents and siblings but don't spend a lot of time on there either.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heard that. It's pretty much a waste of time and there are a lot of insecure people on there which FB targets to make them feel worse whereupon they post more selfies and drama. It's an everlasting drama created by Zuckerberg.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God created us all beautiful, the society is the only one who judge us and telling that we don't deserve to live on this cause we are ugly. It's normal that people keep judging cause they feel jealous on what we have that they don't have. It's better not to fight back and just kill them silently, show them that they are wrong and transform yourself into new you.❤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, correct! They judge because of their insecurity in order to make themselves feel better and place themselves above others. I ignore people like that and just pray for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super, short and to the point! My ex-wife was extraordinarily beautiful and I emphasize was. Now 20 years later, oh, my, what a huge change!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's averse in the Bible about that but I don't remember where - likely Proverbs. Beauty fades.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember it being quoted and I'm sure I read it before. It's certainly true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing can stand to even times indefinite other than the love of the Christ for the so called beauties are for a while while that of the Christ will help us endure for live

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I support that, when we model christ, it will surely change a lot of things in our lives

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It really will, Sammy. Pride and all of its resulting actions stemming from it will diminish and we will see ourselves as worthy, not because of what we look like, but because of how God the Father sees us modeling Jesus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago