Never Buy a Phone from Lazada

38 81
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago

Anyone who has ever bought something from Lazada or Shopee has been scammed, ripped off or received the wrong or a damaged item. That is the downside of online shopping. You can find some good deals on either of those shopping sites, but buyer beware is all I can say.

China

Most of the items on Lazada and Shopee come from China. They are cheap, and all are counterfeit items or, if you will, US or Japan or Korean knockoffs. I admit I have bought a few great items that came from China, but the vast majority are worthless. Like my fiancee always says, "If it sounds too good ton be true it is likely because it is."

China pollution

My friend

My friend works at the beach resort near my home. She has a boyfriend from the UK. They live about a 3-minute walk from my place. Anyway, her boyfriend gave her 8,000 pesos to buy a new phone, because her Oppo is 4 years old already. But it's in perfect condition - no scratches, dents or anything. The only downside to it is that it has only 16gb of storage space.

Her older smartphone is an Opportunity A3s.

Anyway, let's call her Gina so I can protect her identity. Gina likes to buy primarily from Lazada when she shops online. So she gets the idea that she can buy a smartphone there and save 6,000 pesos to shop elsewhere in town. Bad mistake!

The phone arrived as promised and man is it a cheap counterfeit. The only thing it is good for is a paper weight. The camera sucks sour grapes, the screen resolution is horrific, and since it's made in China, it tracks your every move and attempts to keep you away from Google Play to download apps.

Her dilemma

Now Gina has a dilemma. She has 6,000 pesos left but she needs a good phone and doesn't have enough money to but a decent new one from a reputable source in town.

Furthermore, she can't ask her boyfriend for more money because of her shyness and her mistake. She told me he might think she was trying to trick him out of his money and that was not the case. But foreigners think differently than us Filipinos.

Our solution

She offered to sell me the phone for 2,000 pesos but I bargained with her for 1,500 because it's only 15 gb of storage. So later today or early tomorrow we are going to town to buy her a new phone for around 7,000. She may wait till tomorrow so she can use her tips to buy the phone my fiancee has, the Opppo A15s.

Opposite A15s

The lesson

NEVER buy a phone from Lazada or Shopee. Never. Even the iPhones are fake. Be careful when shopping online. I am a lot more careful nowadays.

Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty

17
$ 24.50
$ 11.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 11.35 from @Scotty17
$ 0.80 from @AceyDeucey
+ 10
Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago

Comments

I can't really trust buying my gadgets online. I buy in Shopee and Lazada if it is not a gadget.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too. But usually products made in Korea, Japan or the USA.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never bought anything from either lazada or shopee but I'd be really careful not to make the mistake as I do not want to be in a loss.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wise decision on your behalf.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is quite normal that's why we need to pay more attention to this things. Once I ordered a smartphone for me luckily I got the exact model which I wanted with the best quality but when I tried to order for the second time the same model I got scammed, so I think It is really better to buy expensive and gadgets personally instead of online.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with you. When I get the surveys from Lazada I always list scammers and Chinese counterfeit items as the reasons why I don't recommend Lazada to anybody.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are flagship stores online though. Those are trusted sellers. She could have taken more time to think about it. If it's too good to be true, most likely it's a scam.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're right and I told her that. But even those trusted sellers overprice their items.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The phones sell on those shopping sites are promising yet we can't assure that it's legit. Those phones are made form China as all items they are selling. It's better to buy other things than gadgets since it's just a waste of time and money. I remember my orderd badminton set that until now the seller doesn't have any move to ship it to me, it's almost 4 weeks since I ordered it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow. I had that happen to me on a t-shirt I bought. That's why when I do buy I make sure it's COD. The seller never sent the item so I reported him to DTI.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never catch me buying online. And even here in the States in Texas we have Walmart. They sell a lot of Chinese crap, but a lot of American made products too. I do my best not to give China penny of my money.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Unavoidable here. The import tax on US products is way too high.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Scotty told me that when he went to buy a Ford Mustang GT 500 it was like $20,000 higher than the US price.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see people still don't get it. Gullible people is why Lazada survives.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Seems pretty darn obvious that people there don't get the concept that you get what you pay for. Buy cheap, get cheap crap.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You got that right homeboy. Before my wife buys anything online I approve it. Too many thieves and scammers on those two sites. Then there are some good products from the States but they are like double the price. Heck with that noise!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've heard of Lazada from reading articles here on the platform, but I'd never buy without seeing the darn phone first. I don't even trust buying from Amazon here in the US. When I upgrade my phone, I simply call my provider and order the phone I want over the phone. It arrives in 2 days. And as a T-Mobile customer, I always get free perks when buying. For example, they might throw in a wireless phone charger or give me 6 months of Netflix, etc.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly my feeling. I even warned her before she bought it but she didn't listen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to this,my friend also have ordered a smartphone from lazadazm,she was confident that it as good according to the picture on the app,it's redmi note but when it is delivered,it was just a my phone 8gb capacity and had a poor performance already.,but she already paid for it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very typical of those too good to be true prices.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should be very careful while buying things online so we won't get scammed, let's try to look at the item when been brought before we pay.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am but still get damaged items or the wrong size. I've really limited my online buying as a result.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd trust sitting in a cage with a hungry lion rather than buy anything on Shopee. Too many scammers. I buy from Lazada from time to time, and though I have been scammed a few times, overall I am very careful. But I never will buy any electronics. I want to see in person what I am buying when it comes to electronics.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Too funny. I also want to see, feel, and play around with any gadget before I consider buying it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not all sellers in Lazada and Shoppee are scammers. I was able to buy a 10-inch tablet from Lazada that lasted me 2 years. It was only for P3.900. My rule of the thumb in buying electronics online is, read the reviews both positive and negative. But if the price is too good to be true ... then it's too good to be true.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

2 years? I've had my Apple mini 2 32 gb 8 years now and it is still upgrading and in excellent condition. Seems to me you lost out and could have bought a better deal elsewhere besides online.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I disagree when it comes to phones. On other electronics, I agree with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There have legitimate stores Ate on that online shopping platform ate. Naalala ko nga na may dalawang user rito sa read.cash ate, galing lazada yung phone nila. Of course, your money is still on the risk. Maybe mali lang ate yung store na napagbilhan niya kasi itong phone na gamit ko ate na redmi note 10, buhay pa rin hanggang ngayon at sa shopee ko rin po nabili. Oppo is originally came from china po hehe. Anyway, mas maganda pa rin po sa physical store ka bibili.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are legit sellers of good items from lazada and shopee as well..maybe she just got unlucky to order from bogus seller

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Read the post again. I spoke specifically about phones, not all items.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah..i meant phone as well..there are legit sellers out there ate..need lang maging mapanuri bago bumili..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We agree to disagree. Buy at your own risk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tama kayo diyan ate, yung phone ko nga ate buhay pa in hanggang ngayon eh sa shopee ko rin binili haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're lucky!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks. I bought it in Shopee because of someone's recommendation here. I checked their reliability in Xiaomi site, and it is legitimate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I agree! I'm not used to buy gadgets online because I'm afraid of getting fake ones. We should always be careful in every purchase we make online. Better buy personally at the store where you can really hold the item and check its quality.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's what I always say. I want to inspect the item and if possible, test it out. Like with Apple and Samsung and Oppo, they always have test models you can play around with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago