Ladies: How to Find a Good Man

27 42
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago

I should begin with a disclaimer, that being that I am certainly not the final authority on what a good man is to every woman. But what I am able to do is speak from my experiences. Now experience isn't always the best teacher, but for me it has been a rather good instructor.

High school years

During my elementary and high school years I was pretty much focused on my studies for the most part. But at one point during high school things changed. Though I was shy, I began to have an attraction to boys. And trust me, these were boys. There are no men in high school.

Image: Pixabay

While I cannot say with all honesty that I had numerous suitors, I did have some boys who came on to me and who I found physically attracted to. Being young and dumb, I finally fell for the old "I love you" line and lost my virginity at 17. That was a lesson I learned right there.

What I soon figured out was that this same guy was a serial user of other girls, both in my school and in the community. He hid his phone from me, was always texting, and I never saw his Facebook. I should have known better than to trust him.

The last I heard was that he was shot dead for cheating. Now I am not saying that was right, but it is a consequence of serial cheating and philandering.

Work

Disgruntled, hurt and shamed, I set out to find my solace in work. I did not seek a relationship and I did not do what some ladies do and look for a woman as a partner. I was brought up with at least some semblance of Christian morality by my Catholic parents.

While I worked as a common maid for low wages, I also studied on my own. I wanted to master English. And what money I earned I sent home to my poor parents in Mindanao.

Meanwhile, I often went hungry because my employers were stingy Koreans who fed us maids scraps. And I'll admit, there were times when I was so darn hungry that I stole bites of food from their ref. Like the boy in high school, I was being used.

Don't look for love

One lesson I learned early on was not to look for love. This often leads to finding the wrong guy and it typically ends after a short relationship. Maybe you've been there with me and felt that same pain, anger and intense frustration.

Love happens. Love is not infatuation because the guy is cuter than the Greek Adonis. There are plenty of those types, and trust me, plenty of women fall into their web of lies. And I found that love wasn't about money or finding some sugar daddy to cater to my every whim. I have "friends" now who are like that.

Love just happens

One day as I was browsing my Facebook I saw where a man had liked one of my images. I didn't think much of it because that's what guys do. Then he did it again and again. Finally he messaged me. Turns out he was a foreigner from the USA. I thought to myself, "Here we go again!"

But that did not turn out to me the case. Over the course of several months we chatted often, sometimes for hours! We got to know one another. Then one day he asked me if I wanted to fly from Davao to Manila and then on to La Union by bus where he lived on the beach. I was reluctant at first but I finally agreed to do it and we hit it off immediately.

Qualities

Now I cannot speak for all women, but the qualities I find in my man are not perfect, but they are certainly admirable. Like me, he is a writer, though he is a consummate professional and works hard. He is highly educated, unlike me.

He is kind, he was there when I gave birth to his son. He helps me cook and clean and run errands. He takes care of me when I am ailing and he is a great father to our young son.

While he is not a sugar daddy, as some seek, he does surprise me with gifts that are perfect, as if he really knows my mind and tastes. And he doesn't drink. He always wants to take me wherever he goes rather than leave me at home as some men like to do to their women.

He can be strict at times, but only because he dedicated our son to the Lord at birth and he disciplines him (though not physically). But he does this out of love. And as for love, it's not all about sex for him. It's about actions rather than mere words. And best of all, he is a devoted Christian man. We've been together now for over three years and I am truly blessed.

Lesson

Don't hurry love. Love will find you one day. Don't fall into the trap of chasing after some sexy looking stud or hooking up with a serial sex maniac. You'll be disappointed every time. Let love happen. It will. Best advice: don't hook up with a drunkard, a womanizer or a lazy man, but rather find a good Christian man.

Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty

11
$ 10.69
$ 5.33 from @Scotty17
$ 4.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.31 from @RazorFist
+ 6
Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago

Comments

love can give happiness and love can make someone fall and can't come back. Life partner is indeed God who determines but we also have to fight for love. As a man, I am certainly looking for love and as a woman, I am a waiting person for love. not all men are the same character. selective it is necessary to be the partner it should be. to happiness

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for reading and your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don"t look for love. Thats true! You need to wait and have the perfect time with God for your love.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hmmm. A good one. I picked this, Don't hurry love. Love will find you one day

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You plucked a good one from the post.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your so blessed that you have a husband who is a christian,it's a blessing.In seeking for love shouldn't be motivated with money because I think in the end there are consequences with wrong motives.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

God provides for our needs, and whenever it seems like money will run low, he always assures me and says, "God will provide" and God does!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, women needs to find a man that has fear on God, they should not base on looks since attitude is more important. In addition, morality should always works on everyone of us, we should now the rightness or wrongness of an action before we deal with it, sometimes people especially ladies easily get caught by sweet words and promises that ended up by surrendering their purity, it's sad to hear however humans are humans and we are making mistakes, however those mistakes can be a guide for us in order to know the truth and we won't do it again.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Even the Devil speaks sweet words into our ears and they are all lies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As long as all the positive/negative things we experience are experiences for us, our error rates in life will decrease.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very good observation!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats Mariel, truly God sent you a good man, yoir true that we shouldn't rush our decision coz God has the perfect plan for us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. He has blessed me beyond any deserving in my part.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good for you. Wise people learn from their mistakes. Your patience and insights paid off. I wish you the very best in your relationship.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wouldn't;t say I was THAT patient but things worked out for the best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is painful reading all you had to go through in life before finding a good man for yourself

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was a good life lesson but it ended well for me, Sammy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations, Mariel. You have indeed been blessed to find a good man. Now if I only knew how to find a good woman who was not a greedy gold digger!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Crazy Texan. aha ha ha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got that right!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Firstly congratulations for having a wonderful and special husband though you got it by patient. This is a great and wonderful article young lady , youth adult needs to read but the problem of the youth of today is being desperate and not patient enough to find love.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're right. Many rush into what they think is love but is not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that is true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very good content. I congratulate you for your ideal partner. God bless you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your comment and for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right...we shouldn't rush into relationship we need to know our partners enmity and what he loves and we should be truthful while in a relationship.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly. This is why we find so many single mothers in my country, the Philippines.

$ 0.00
2 years ago