Distractions Lead to Inactions

35 42
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago
Topics: God, Improvement, Goal, Focus

It sure is easy to become distracted, isn't it? Most of us have routines we stick to which have become our daily habits. Some of us have no schedule at all but rather go with the flow of each day. Whatever type of schedule we follow, there are always distractions that set us off on an unexpected tangent.

Mornings

My mornings are full of things to do: feed the baby, make breakfast, check emails from clients, write on read.cash, get the day's laundry started, feed the cat, clean up the house, and entertain my child (among other things that arise on any given day).

But it never fails. I find myself distracted by something or someone daily. Sometimes I am even hesitant to open up my email. This is because a client may have sent me some work overnight that needs my immediate attention. Balancing work, chores and taking care of my young son can be difficult. I'm sure you readers have a similar situation as well whether you have a child or not.

But the biggest distraction I have observed is social media. Talk about a complete waste of time! Posting a selfie or some drama is not productive. It can lead to big distractions when people leave comments or message us.

Major distractions

I do get on FB to communicate with my parents and siblings since they are far away in Mindanao and I am here in Luzon. It's our only means of staying in touch. Using Messenger or Viber helps keep us in touch, providing they have Internet. But FB Messenger opens up distractions when people see the green dot that signals you are online. This is why I prefer #Viber.

Inactions

When we become distracted we sometimes want to give up and take a break. We want to run away and hide and forget about everything. That is not a practical solution, however.

This is precisely why I get on FB and get off as soon as I can. Even 30 minutes a day wasted is too much for me because it leads to inactions. I could be doing more productive things like reading my Bible, praying or writing or helping my neighbors.

Pause and focus

When I recognize I am being distracted, I pause what I am doing and determine what sent me off track, then I eliminate the distraction (if possible). Sometimes we cannot do this, what with dogs barking, traffic backed up beyond belief, and people needlessly shouting. I'm thankful I live on the beach and only have to put up with an occasional dog barking.

But for me the important thing to do is manage my time and remain focused on my tasks for the day. I have a general routine I keep in my head, but I also write a to-do list and post it on my laptop. If I do not, I can easily forget because of the daily distractions. Distractions lead to inactions.

Time management

We get 24 hours in a day and 172 hours in a week. How much of that is wasted on sleeping, playing video games and logging in to social media to read the drama and latest gossip? As far as I am concerned, these are all distractions that I do my best to distance myself from.

Pixabay.com

Focus is everything. Without purpose and direction, distractions that lead to inactions take over and rule our lives. They become bad rather than good habits.

Prayer

The first thing I do when I wake up is pray. I also set my mind on what needs to be accomplished for the day and how I will go about fulfilling all my tasks. One of the better moments of the day comes when my son is down for his nap and I can read and study God's word.

Bible reading and study brings about focus in my live and gives me direction. It reminds me that although I am in the world I am not of this world but am a mere alien passing through on my way to glory thanks to the grace of God.

Easy tips

Getting organized isn't as hard as some might think it is. Here is a sure way to determine what you can eliminate from your life and provide you with more productive time. Simply make a list.

On the left hand side write down everything you normally do each day. Some of these things might include, but are certainly not limited to, work, writing, laundry, appointments, social media, playing video games, sleeping, chatting, cooking, cleaning, and many more things.

Once you have completed your list, go back over it and try your honest best to write how much time you spend on each one. Be honest!

Now that ou have your list and time spent on each item, decide what you can eliminate from your life. Be wise. Either scratch it out or put it on the right side of your list. Can you cut down on your sleep? Diminish your time online? Reschedule tasks? Cook meals in advance?

Whatever you decide, take action and make your revised list a priority in your life. Develop your new habits. And if and when you become distracted, fall back to your list for a reminder of the things that are a waste of productive time. Heck, post your list on your refrigerator (ref for us Filipinos). It will take a couple of weeks to find a groove that will be comfortable but productive.

Try it and see if it does not change your life and make you more productive and better able to handle life's distractions.

And don't neglect prayer and bible reading/study to regain and maintain your spiritual focus.

Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty

14
$ 23.05
$ 12.96 from @Scotty17
$ 9.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.44 from @AceyDeucey
+ 7
Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago
Topics: God, Improvement, Goal, Focus

Comments

It is undeniably true that time management is the one of the most difficult thing to apply in our habit but we need to overcome it.

I actually have a blog about an app where it can help you to manage your time by blocking the apps that easily distract you. I hope it helps.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for the offer. I manage rather well but will have a look later. Bday for my son today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really nailed it, distractions are the problem for my inactions!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Now that you know what they are (hopefully) you can make changes and observe a much more productive life, which I hope you will do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I know what they are. When I need to be productive I am productive, the distractions and a fun way to give myself a rest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay, I understand. As you know, too many distractions are not useful, but yes, we must include some fun in our lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for those uplifting words. Really appreciate it. I need to develop some of my habits.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, and you can do it. Be filled with the Holy Spirit and He will guide you. Have a good night.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Soy de las que me gusta vivir sin rendir cuentas a nadie y sin horarios a cumplir. De echo cuando algo debo hacer en esas condiciones como que me pone los pelos de punta y Me mal humoro. Así sin presisas me siento libre y divina. Por esto no me gusta ir al fb. No me complase en absoluto

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good for you for avoiding Facebook. But what about being held accountable by fellow Christians?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learned I didn't need FB after being suspended for "inappropriate content" several times. Anything that is contrary to the prevailing narrative goes against FB's community standards. haha. Anyway, I go on it once r twice a day and rarely comment. You're right, it is a big waste of time and a huge distraction.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was suspended once for 12 hours for the same thing. The alien got me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I've been in FB jail 20 or more times easily.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! You're a bad boy. lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes and no. I'm just not politically correct and easily see through the lies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me either but I just do not comment much. Too many bashers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to get into internet wars but I gave all that up. It's a waste of time and changes nobody's mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely a waste of time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lord knows how much time I waste. Thanks for the reminder.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Welcome. Now make the changes you are able to make. Application is everything.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Heard that like an amplified cowbell.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Great to hear, Ace. More power to Jesus!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading the comments affirms what I've always known: social media is a major distraction. Good write up.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I knew it would be!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Pretty much a no brainer right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely. Tsk Tok and Twitter are just as bad.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

That alone is worth a dime.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I rarely open Facebook because it's toxic there. I only open it when I upload my covers but I don't really engage which is a downside to promoting my channel. Haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Heard. If it isn't helping your channel then find another way. Also, you're right about FB's toxicity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a great time management skill, though ever since I joined Facebook I have been always distracted. Facebook consumes too much of my useful time

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Social media is a trap. It not only influences your thinking but is able to addict you and lose your focus. Eliminate it or decrease it little by little until you break the habit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was not yet writing ny tine management for this day, but thanks for reminding me hehe. I don't want to be burden in unexpected deadlines, so I prefer to take down notes for my daily to-do lists. Thanks for reminding me. I hope you will check all your to-do lists.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I keep a mental list and stay focused. If I get off track I recognize it and shift my focus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You nailed sis and indeed distractions leads to inactions. I am so guilty when it comes to social media (FB). I am so focused of what my partner is doing on her FB and it really lead us on arguing and causing me not to do the things that I normally do. Now, I'm really working on it and only focusing here in read and noise.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Great. Now you have identified your major distraction. What else is there? You will be more productive when you eliminate all the unnecessary distractions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago