A Soft Answer is Like a Kiss on the Lips

7 26
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago

People the world over are increasingly bitter and there are many who seek conflict. I make every effort to avoid unnecessary conflict so I may live in peace with others. There are times when we must pick the battles to fight and when to remain silent. When we choose conflict, it should be approached with truth intertwined with a healthy serving of kindness.

Rarely will someone treat your kindness with disrespect. But if they do, respond with a soft answer, for it is like a kiss on the lips. As the image reveals, kindness has a way of catching on. When we act out of kindness, people have a tendency to pass it on to others.

Kindness takes practice. Regrets linger when we are not kind. These emotions are instruments to get an individual to employ kindness the next time around. Repetitive acts of aggression and unkind words lead to bitterness, despair and grumpiness.

Friends and family

It's easier to be kind to friends and family than those whom we do not know. But our true friends usually come from outside of our families. Ever noticed that? I have. While I love my family dearly, we do not always see eye to eye and that's okay. It doesn't keep me from loving them and treating me with kindness.

We make friends by being one, being there, and being kind. The lack of these is incapable of finding true friends. Indeed, acquaintances are the result. I try to make my acquaintances my friends. Even if one is an introvert, these abilities work well.

Change

Everyone has a desire to change the world, but they don't know how to be the change. It seems to me that while it is difficult, kindness is a great first step. Conversely, conflict for conflict's sake is counterproductive.

Self-assessment

I usually take an honest self-assessment daily or at least thrice a week. I ask myself: "How can I change for the better?" The answers don't always come immediately, but one's conscience, if not hardened, lets us know where we may make improvements.

Keeping a clear conscience is good for the soul. It definitely beats bitterness. I don't know about you, but when I make positive changes in my life I have more freedom and much less anxiety.

As Paul wrote: "Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you" (Ephesians 4:32, ESV).

I hope you will join be today in expressing kindness and giving a soft answer when conflicts arise.

Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 11.96
$ 6.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 5.26 from @Scotty17
$ 0.08 from @RazorFist
+ 2
Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago

Comments

I agree. Kiss kiss. Always the best.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You always have interesting articles to share :) Thanks.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Always welcome. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Sis, it's all about keeping a clear conscience, even you are surrounded with bad people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely, Ling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, kindness! It's one of the fruits of the spirit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. Appreciate the comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago