"my entry for the @gertu13' Christmas challenge"

9 59
Avatar for Manjudeck
2 years ago

You can join the xmas challenge@gertu13 here๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡

https://read.cash/@gertu13/hey-you-this-is-the-promised-christmas-contest-d0bcd659

Christmas

according to the Oxford dictionary definition, is an annual christains' festival celebrating Christ's birth, and held on the 25th December of every year In the Western church.

I really enjoyed celebrating anything Christmas as that day is usually a day of joy for me given my many well induced and materialized reasons I wish to shar with you.

As a young growing child in the early "80's, I remembered that my parents would from time to time teach us the importance of giving which reflects a true and genuine Christmas love and I usually noticed that their gifts to other family members, friends, relations and sometimes, our enemies, lolzzz, usually come on this said day of Christmas that I had to muster up the courage to ask them one day regarding what their gifting actions

to many persons meant and their reply was very subtle, sweet and an absolute beauty to swallow down.

Yes I can remember vividly that my parents response to my questions of curiosity regarding their gifting of items to many persons was that of an expression of love which Christ whom we all claim to follow did and that of the joy and happiness that comes from giving.

I also noticed yet another thing that got me thinking regarding my parents gifting actions and that's the fact that they never really lacked in the abundance they had for us for the Xmas even after giving.

Haven remembered that they usually don't lack anything after their gifting habits, i was totally subjected in a state of awe and while I was yet remunerating on what powerful spiritual implication that such actions of theirs had that my dad made a little tap on my young shoulders asking me what my worries were which I told him and the next he did was to bring me into his inner chamber and right there, he opened the scriptures and instructed me in what happened to be my living memory of the past down to this very present day and at the Bible book of: Luke 6:38, which he read aloud in an undertone saying; - "Give, and it will be given unto you. A good measure..., for the measure you use, it will be measured to you.

Hmmmn! That biblical injunction and quotation kept me mute over some few minutes as much emphacy was laid on giving because, givers never lack.

Look! My parents gifting act became a rather welcomed, justified and a grossly accepted behaviors in the family rather than the much expected rebuke that they both almost would have faced from us as we saw no need in dishing out much gifts like that.

" The things I want for this coming Xmas"

Ever since that time, the Xmas celebration have been a very sweet and a wonderful experience for me as I won't even wait to replicate my parents sweet habits of giving, cite seeing and to this point, I want to use most of the money I will realize from this platform and the saved ones to buy some newer clothes for me, my mom who happens to be the only surviving of my both parents and then my kids so that they will all be happy and look almost as exactly as their mates.

Infact, to crown it all, I will ensure that this coming Xmas, I will slaughter four big chickens as against the two I've always slaughtered in the last Xmas for us and moreso is the fact that we have to visit many places of attraction like the Elegushi beach, the Bar beach, and so many good and lovely eatries and bars of higher reputations than what we've had in the last xmas for a better experience to the fullest.

from unsplash.com

In addition to all that, I've not forgotten traveling home(to the country side or the village) with my kids and mom where I will be meeting with most families that do not have any hope or means of celebrating the Xmas and I will ensure that I will reserve at least a hundred & fifty dollars ($150) which is about Seventy-five thousand naira (#75,000) in the Nigerian local currency Naira which I will use to assist these very wretched families in my village by sharing it amongst them so that they too can join up, brace themselves up, eat some chickens and everything good during this Xmas festive period and at least make them happy for that would even make me even lot happier seeing that I've been able to put some smiles on others faces even from my own little means of livelihood remembering that biblical injunction @Luke 6:38 which says in part that "givers never lack".

A screenshot of me selling my BCH so I can raise the said $150 amount to use and help those who can't afford to celebrate the Xmas in my village

"Now let's talk about the sweet Xmas celebration I've had in the past"

Just like the saying goes, "what is worth doing is worth doing well", yes, I find the Xmas celebration as what is worth doing which I usually do give in my best celebrating it and with so much joy in my heart because it was the day the Perfecter and finisher of our faith and saviour of our lives Jesus Christ was born, which makes it what is worth celebrating and as such, celebrating well.

At least we have that very ultimate and quite elusive prize gift -Life! And as such, should celebrate Christ's birthday very well if we really claim we love him well.

My last Xmas celebration was filled with so much joy and happiness as I visited many places with a household name and that is very usual of me to do so with my kids just to make them happy and have the sense of belonging rightly put in them.

A picture I took of my daughter on the said Christmas day

The fun was so much so that I had wished that everyday that comes by becomes a Christmas day for me hahaha...but in all, what will be will be no matter what.

Sometime last Christmas day, I went to visit many places with my kids and had them ride on horses at the beach side even though I'm very much afraid of water being my only reason for not taking pictures of them ridding on those lovely horses let alone going close to the water to deep me legs in the high pressured angrily beach rolling water as I was afraid I was going to be swallowed up by the high pressured water that seems to be lashing out very hard from its banks.

Though I helped myself with the sight of other beautiful engagements in the beach side that seem to be attracting everyone's attention while I was busy sipping a can of a well chilled Coca-Cola drink that had been placed on my table by the Waiter who was dressed in an immaculate sparkling white t-shirt and a pair of a well ironed trousers that seem to compliment all the worthy dishes that were given out on requests.

The songs that were played by the DJ were of a different class cos they delighted me so much and the speeches of the anchor man

who talked to amuse everyone present was a big massive thing of joy for me and the much laughter ensured some cash were letted out of my pockets which I sprayed on this very anchor man or if you like, the master of ceremony (MC) that seem to have kept everywhere bubbling with his sublime sweet funny speeches that almost made me loose my steps to fall down in laughter hahaha.

When it was getting a little bit dark, we decided to take our leave and with my children and myself, so that we could end up in another location that is much more closer to our house so we could as well avoid the ever notorious jam-packed Lagos traffic congestions

that seem to worry and burr the mind and remove past enjoyable memories in a twinkle of an eye once you are trapped in the middle of the notorious lagos traffic congestion while making an attempt to navigate home.

Yes, we did end up in yet another location and right there, we had our last enjoyment of the Xmas day.

One very exciting moment about this place is that we met with the father Xmas and we also bought some of those decorations that made us look like him and as such, we had the best of sweet ice cream and fed our eyes with the sight of many persons walking up and down in packs or as singles.

No one was left out in these whole marathon series of enjoyable moments of a wonderful Xmas celebration as I too won a $100

The bar where I won the $100 prize money for answering the question and my children some writing materials ๐Ÿ˜…

prize money for answering a question that was thrown at the entire public who had gathered also with their families to call to mind the said Xmas day and make it a memory of a thousand unforgettable experiences of a life time.

My children also engaged in the children's dance flair but unfortunately, won some pens and books hahaha...

for their participation as the prize money of yet another $100 went to other children that performed excellently well on the dance floor.

The fun was ceaseless as when we had been done for that day especially as it was already night, we then quickly booked the services of a cab driver

who drove us down home as we were filled up with some lovely excitements and memories that are never to be forgotten.

Then on getting home, my neighbor Vivian hurridely came to welcome us with her kids and then gave us some of the nicely prepared chicken and rice she had cooked for the Christmas while waiting for us to come back home and eat our own portion of it.

Image taken by meโค๏ธ

At this said time, I can guarantee you that we've already had our fill of good food and some enjoyable moments and memories but we still managed to eat her food since I saw that as an effort that is worthy of encouraging, appreciating her good intentions and genuine love that comes from only eating the said well garnished food that was kept for us to eat the moment we are back from our sightseeing events.

The joy for me has been well untold as I do want to also see myself engage with a celebration that is far more fantastic than the last very sweet ones I engaged in before and coupled with the assigned $100 amount I want to share to some of the very impoverished families in my village who can't even afford a cup of rice, let alone, a full chicken,

even makes the situation far too much of an expected beauty to come for me and guess what, iam more than happiness-personified doing that and also, justifying my kind late father's actions of giving as givers never lack.๐Ÿ˜ญ.

Thank you so so much for taking your very useful and valued time in reading my article as I wish to drop more articles of my own away from this challenge.

Good morning and Good bless you all as I wish you all a Merry Xmas

and a happy new year

in advance.๐ŸŽ‰โค๏ธ

Image credit: some photos were taken by me while some are from unsplash.com

6
$ 8.20
$ 3.35 from @Sammy1
$ 2.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.10 from @gertu13
+ 4
Sponsors of Manjudeck
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Manjudeck
2 years ago

Comments

That's a fantastic article! For me some people doesn't celebrate Christmas base on they are not aware the date Jesus was born. "which is fact" when I was young I celebrated Christmas with my parents precisely at Christians gathering or program but now I prefer either low-key or friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Greetings I added you to your $2 account that you have won in a random drawing in my challenge, gertu13. Congratulations!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my word, I can't believe I've won. Thanks so much indeed very very greatful that you considered me good enough for this coveted price.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One thing i really enjoy about you is how honest, direct and very creative you are with your articles. Pls keep on powering ok.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow that's a lovely one. The pleasure of reminiscing those happy times. You write it creatively.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your participation. How nice it is to remember our experiences with our loved ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a great deal ma

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is just good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a great article this is. You seem to me to have won the competition already if i'm i asked to be the judge cos this article is more than 100% execellently written and for this reason, i will give you $1.08 for this 100% sweet and a beautifully written article. Keep this up my dear and thanks for giving us such a fine story of the far back 80's

$ 0.00
2 years ago