Updates: Move to Spam is back with a new feature

63 89
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Hello readcashers, you should have noticed that the "Move to Spam" feature has been restored, but moved away from the "quick reply" button - this should minimize/prevent clicking on it accidentally like many users claimed.

Also a new feature has been added - the reading time for each article. A usability feature that indicates the estimated time it will take a reader to read an article.

Move to Spam

We are already familiar with this feature. It was removed few days ago due to it's abuse and complaints by users about it's location. Users accidentally clicked on it when attempting to click on "Quick reply". Now, the " Move to Spam" feature has be restored and moved away from the "Quick reply" button.

This is a good move from read.cash as it minimizes or prevents the "accidental clicks" users complained about.

I was surprised when the feature was removed, many were too. But I had this believe they had a better plan - it would be restored to a new location. I also thought they would add a confirmation prompt - where you confirm to move a comment to spam. But that wasn't added.

Well, guys the feature is back, let's continue the fight against spam. Spammers beware!

Reading Time

A new feature was implemented along with the "Move to Spam" feature - the estimated reading time. This is the estimated time it takes a reader to read an article.

You'll see this feature as a book icon next to the author's username before you open an article from the homepage or "My articles" page. It's not visible when article is opened.

This feature was probably designed to keep users longer on an article by letting them know about how long it will take them to read the article. It can be very useful for readers to know how much time they can expect to spend on an article before they engage.

You should keep in mind that the reading time is just an estimation. You might finish an article faster or slower depending on various factors - how fast you are, eye vision status, distractions, your age, and many.

Does the reading time affect the points earned on the article?

I can tell as this is still a new feature. This question will be best answered by read.cash. Don't keep your hopes high by expecting an update on this. We have not had any update since @Read.Cash account was banned.

The "Move to Spam feature is back! Let's not abuse it.

Thank you for your support so far. Let's support each other to grow.

Please share your thoughts on the new feature - Reading time. What do you think?


Remember to SUBSCRIBE and LIKE this article. Share your thoughts in the comments. No spam!

38
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Comments

Thank you for the update on the new features.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think reading time affects the point system. I mean, maybe it's just a feature which allows the users to know how long will it take them to read an article before they open it. Unlike before, you click an article and it was just a one paragraph short. But now, with the reading time feature, you will determine if an article is too long to read or too short. I think that is the purpose. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know that's the primary purpose of reading time. Like I have indicated on the article. But I still think there is a lot more to it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And we are looking forward to that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is not possible, a consecutive comments to an article where in am interested can still made you a spammer. Still a bad update

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What's not possible? Why comment twice on an article in the first place. You comment once then others should be replies.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is that how it really should be?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. You only need one comment in an article. But you can reply to other comments and also replies on your comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah, okay. Now i know. Thank you for the tips 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope this informations I am about to say helps. One of my friends says that her old articles don't have that book thingy in her articles. She tried to click and read one of her articles then after that the book was there. I think it's an overall estimation of the time it takes from all the users who read the article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, I beg to disagree. Opening the article only activated the new feature on the article. If you checked, its usually older article which hasn't been opened since the update that doesn't have the reading time.

The reading time is a programming and its been set. The way they calculate it is dividing the word count in the article by a fixed or standard reading speed in WPM - words per minute

I have an unpublished article that already has the reading time.

So its just the word count divided by a set read speed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What you have said is right dear. Although I just want to add that someone or you should click or visit the articles first before Read.cash calculates how much time it takes for that specific article to read. I just tried it recently. I visited one of your articles without indicated time then reload, then that's it the time just popped out. I did not read it, I just clicked it so what you have said is right. Thank you for the information dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome dear. I am glad we were able to agree on this. Immediately I noticed the feature, I tried several ideas. Just wanted to be sure its the usual reading time I knew about. And it is.

But I am still figuring out if it has extra role or function other than just showing a reader the estimated time to read an article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Please share it with us if you already knew about. It might help us all.😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know yet. Still figuring it out.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really am glad that they moved away the move to spam button, cuz I always got to clicked on it accidentall. One user did block me because of that accident and also one user take a screenshot, create an article and complain as to why did I moved her reply to spam. Fortunately they both had accepted my apology.. as for the reading time I think it's the solution for your concern few days ago, for the users who only take a glimpse of an article, get the idea and give some irrelevant comments.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It seems to me a good strategy to place "estimated reading time" of an article, I suppose that when it comes to scoring the reader this will affect them, if you meet the estimated time and also make a comment according to the publication they will score you well.

I was also very pleased that the "move to spam" returned because there are many users making copies of comments and that is not right.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh Thank God that they removed it. Once that type of mistake was done by me . For my mistake my friend points decreased .😔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We must commend the developers for having these brilliant ideas into reality. I must say, I have been a victim of that Mark to spam button before, and having it farther from the reply button is a wise move. Now, you can easily determine that your comment isn't really unintentionally marked. And I think there is a connection of the reading time to the points. Maybe the site can detect the time of when you opened the article and when you will leave it, so that they can determine if you read the whole article before commenting something in it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for always updating us.. I agree to this new feature in this platform. Keep up the good work.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks to your article that keeping us update

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It feels motivating to see these changes - it shows that this platform has not been forgotten or abandoned by the developers :)

I agree with the Spam link moving to a corner to avoid mis-clicking but I wonder if it will prevent spammers from abusing it. I haven't try it yet. Have you?

I think the reading time is a good addition for those who read. It gives an estimated time and if you have no time to read, you can read the shorter read time first and come back to the longer ones which will still be under the unread notifications.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah I hope the Move to Spam will not be abused again. I'm one of the victim of it. They claim it was unintentional but it happened 3 times. 3 times that my Legit comment or replies was marked as spam under my own article. Maybe the Reading Time is have to do with points too. Thanks for the update Sir.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome sir. I was also a victim of the "unintentional clicks on Move to Spam" more than three times and they were all replies to comments on my article. I hope we don't abuse it - I also suspect read.cash attached penalty for abuse of the feature.

About the reading time influencing points that I don't know.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also noticed that Sir. Sir, can I request the updated point system of read cash? I am almost 2 weeks here. I really don't know how to gain points. Because even though I am leaving a comments to the articles I've read, I'm not still gaining points. Just confused about the point system. Thank you and God bless

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Visit this article https://read.cash/@Macronald/readcash-a-complete-user-guide-25918d99 Scroll down to points and you will find a lot of resources on points.

To me, the random rewarder is still a mystery. But I believe you are awarded points from comments you make on articles and the engagement on your articles (comments, views and upvotes). This is what I believe to be true, but I could be wrong.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Im posting articles and leave comment in others articles. I don't know why I don't have points

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you are not the only one, this is probably another problem of read.cash by sending points to humans. For today there is 0 points in the pool not 500, thank you SirPotato

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for this update...Day 3 for me and there's still so much to learn on this platform! Any update on user points freezing? Mine still show 0.0 points for today...doing mostly the same stuff on RC as previous days. =(

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome. You may want to check this article for more info about read.cash https://read.cash/@Macronald/readcash-a-complete-user-guide-25918d99

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it comes back, better than before, to avoid accidentally moving spam comments. I hope more updates to improve from Readcash for our better experience in this site.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Have you noticed the reading time feature. That's a new one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It can be also the timer for the readers, but I don't think so, I'm not sure.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's the estimated time it will take a reader to read the article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I don't think the time reading is for writing an article because I can see that also in my other articles. Is this possible that every time someone visited your article the reading time will appear?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Like the name reading time. It is the estimated time it takes a reader to read an article. Not the writing time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It can be,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is called reading time for a reason. And the icon - a hand holding a book not pen.

And you still think it can be? Writing can take hours or even days to get completed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm sorry for having a slow understanding, I get it now. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not at all, you don't have a slow understanding, it's still a new feature and perhaps you are looking at it from a different perspective. I am glad we disagreed to agree. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago