Many are misusing the move to comment feature

I for one can never think of spamming or even do it by mistake. But someone seems to have an issue with me. Marking my reply to a users comment on my article as a spam.

I have seen lots of post in recent week encouraging people to use the move to spam feature, but it seems some people don't know what a spam comment is.

In our fight to curb spamming, which is a much appreciated one, we should also try to educate users on what spam comment is.

A short comment or reply is not a spam

Let's stop spam the right way.

5
$
User's avatar
@Macronald posted 3 years ago

Comments

yes, I agree with that, we have oneanother here and we alone can help one another by educating one another on the features of this platform

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Spamming something is done mistakenly and when try to undo it disappeares, so why not better disable the spam button?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree it can be done mistakenly, but I don't think disabling it completely is the best call. perhaps they should change its location and add a confirmation prompt. With this users who mistakenly clicks it, can cancel it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is spamming too if you write exactly the same as someone else. At times I try to send my comment (never short) and I receive the message spammers wrote exactly the same (hard to believe if I read the comments given here). It turns out to be a problem with read.cash. I am my own spammer. Although my message isn't sent if I watch my screen is apparently is which means it thinks I am sending it again. I notice the same if I post: I click on publish and receive the message "you post too fast". It doesn't make any sense.

Fighting spam is fine with me because the useless comments and articles are increasing. I agree some do it out of fun same with 35 downvotes (and not one single comment).

$ 0.01
3 years ago

It is spamming too if you write exactly the same as someone else.

So, for instance, someone appreciated your article and you replied with a "thank you" at the end of your conversation with the commenter. And somewhere in the comments on the same article, there is a "Thank you" message. You are saying that's spamming?

Fighting spam is fine with me as well. I have always supported the fight against spam. But, we should be able to differentiate spam from what is not.

If we encourage users to "mark as spam" ANY comment that has the same message as another, then we are wrong. I may use "You're welcome" to end a comment conversation with more than one user... that shouldn't be marked as spam, just because it appeared twice.

Like you said, "some do it out of fun" and it's really unfair and doesn't really help in the fight against spam.

Let's hope for a better read.cash.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, like your example this is spam and it gets hard to be original. Someone else mentioned too he/she was labeled as a spammer because of the "thank you". Perhaps because not more text was added?

You can say " you are welcome" but I am not sure if that works if others on this platform said it too. I really have no idea. I just wrote read.cash about some issues/questions. Let's see what they answer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, I seem not to believe that such (the example I gave) should be labeled a spam.

Perhaps your interpretation of spam is way different from the actual meaning of spam.

BTW. I look forward to a feedback on your message to read.cash. I hope it gives clarity.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is NOT my interpretation but how read.cash works! I would appreciate it if you do not blame me for the way this platform works or it's abusers. I am for sure not one of them and always write original and long content and comments and am also NOT the one who is rewarded for it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Dear @wakeupkitty you are one of my favorite people here. I apologise if my words came out wrong and made you feel that I blame you . Why will I blame you? I don't

I am trying to say that when we encourage users to use "mark as spam" we all should also educate them or what spamming is and what should be regarded as spam.

Some users don't understand the social media spam concept. And someone may misinterpret this part of your message "It is spamming too if you write exactly the same as someone else." and go about marking all comments or replies that seems similar to another message in the article.

I know some people copy and paste others comments, but we should be able to figure out if it was actually a copied message before marking as comment.

Back to the reason for this post. Someone just marked one of my replies to the comment on this post as a spam. Is this spam. You can check if any message here is similar to that.

Your comment "It can be frustrating and annoying. And such act could frustrate ones effort, and affect ones rating..." was marked as spam. Spamming might get you muted or banned.

Many are misusing the feature. Doing it for fun or whatever their reason is.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's fine, no matter if I'm your favourite or not. A good discussion I can appreciate. Let's see if we receive an answer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Alright. Let's hope for a reply.

Like my reply on this article that was marked as spam, it could have been a mistake like someone stated or simply someone having fun with my comments.

If read cash can add a confirmation prompt when someone uses the mark as spam feature, it would help prevent the click mistake.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think some are doing intentionally

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes you’re right the users should be educated because other think that if the comment is short they think that it’s a spam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not all short comments are spam. And mine was a reply to a comment on my post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I feel you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah! True ! i have spammed to by someone even my comment is related on this article 10mins ago he said that accidentally click as spam😪...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have complaints of mistakenly using the spam feature. Perhaps read.cash should add a mark as spam confirmation prompt. Where you confirm that such comment be moved to spam.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you..hope the readcash responds to this.many members are still confused and accidentally click spam. or sometimes due to the slow loading of their internet. may that add confirm botton.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well there could be many reasons for such mistake. Adding the confirmation prompt will really help.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mine has been marked spammed even though it doesn't look like a Spam at all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Sydney . You marked my reply as spam. Why?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What? I don't remember marking your reply as spam..I don't even know you replied hahahah this is getting funny as we are talking about spam (lmao it happens to us for real 😂)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It can be frustrating and annoying. And such act could frustrate ones effort, and affect ones rating on the platform, if that's even a thing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. Stop spamming

$ 0.00
3 years ago