Once a child

43 71
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Once I was a child. You were once a child, too.

An entire future stretching out before me with hopes and dreams untarnished. My smile was a permanent fixture of sincerity, radiating happiness. A gaze full of inquisitive wonders.

When I lay my head down at night, sleep came easily. My chest was not heavy with worries and cares. My mind was not filled with the "ghosts" of my past.

Blissful in my ignorance I lived, unaware that one day, the monsters under my bed would make a home inside my bed.

That the world I had known was a lie. I wasted all my wishes wanting to be older, age was overrated nobody told me.

Now, in my 20s, I'm stuck in a recession. I look in the mirror and despise my reflection. I am bent, bruised, and broken, a mess of imperfection.

Past mistakes, my tormenters, they tear me apart. My body, a cage, imprisons my heart.

Each breath is a burden as I lay in bed. I can't sleep at night, there is a war inside my head.

No one told me the price of getting older. They never said I'd have a crushing weight put on my shoulders.

Some days I wish I could go back in life. Not to change anything, but feel a few things twice.

I was once a child. A child I am no more.

27
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Comments

I miss being a kid, no problems to start with just playing all day having no responsibilities to think of. If only I could just travel back in time. What a masterpiece :') God Bless

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How I wish too sir. Being a child is a good feelings, free to play outside with your mates and you don't know what problem is, you don't what stress is, you don't know everything except playing and playing. That's why being child is awesome. I wish I could go back to the time that I cannot feel anger, sadness, being hurt, all I can feel is happiness. I miss being a child.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I agree. A lot of us miss childhood. But we are adults now. With lots of responsibilities. Time has taken our childhood away

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes we can only miss our childhood now. We can never go back to that time

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most people go through the same feeling. I do all the time. What can you do? As long as you don’t get trapped in the sandpit of remembrances, live your memories... I remeber there was a time where I spent a lot of time playing videogames in my room. But then my circumstances changed. I slowly started losing my stuff, was it for spoil or selling them, and things never were the same again.. I still remember those days with great joy, and cherish those memories as treasures. In the end that’s what they are: treasures we have to cherish and protect from our present reality, no matter how good or how bad it is.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Rightly said. The days of our childhood are now nothing but memories.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right.In our childhood we had no tension.We just played in whole day and slept at night easily.But by increasing our age we have so many tension and other physical and mental problems. That's why we can't get a sound sleep.But we should remember that life is not a bed of roses.So,we should solve our problems nicely and stay with all happily.πŸ˜‡πŸ€—

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thoughts of the memories from then are always good. it doesn't necessarily mean we want to relive it. Adulthood has its own fun

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, I mean u are right... Age come with its own responsibility unlike your childhood I so much cherish my childhood memories I would have loved to share mine as well, then u play freely they do everything to make u smile and stuffs like that but with age, you will realize that you won't get what u want from life but what u demand of it by your action and so leaving u with responsibilities as u age

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Wow this is beautiful,we all miss that peace and no worries that exists in the hearts of a child I do wished I could go back though but it's impossible I love this

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes. It's impossible. If only wishes were horses.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is really true.Age comes with a lot of responsibresponsible ability.You are very right.I like the peom alot.Keep up the good work.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

yeah everyone wants to be a child again that can onlg plag sleep no pronlem eat more and more

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Well, for me is not living it over again, is just for a moment. Adulthood also has its advantages and fun.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh yeah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes i want to go back to being a child, where I don't need to think of any problems, do responsibilities, and just play and enjoy life everyday 😁

$ 0.01
3 years ago

who wouldn't want that. Especially if one's childhood was fun.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Although mine isn't that fun. πŸ˜₯ at young age I became a responsible daughter, took some responsibilities which supposed to not mine.. lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You could still be a child at the silence of your own company. You don't need to be hung over worries. Being a child every now and then is highly attractive in these times too

$ 0.01
3 years ago

You could still be a child at the silence of your own company.

I do that often when I am alone. I also love working with kids.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I dislike kids but that's why I have pets instead, they're far more fun to play with

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am doing that sometimes.. With my kids' presence i'm imagining them to be me 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

While I'm always a child when i draw. Or so says the people I'm close to

$ 0.00
3 years ago

excellent article, subscribe me plz

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This article seems to be voiced from the perspective of a Millennial. Millennial's are brought up in such a sheltered life as to be complete thrown and bewildered when they are on their own out there in the real world. I am so lucky to be Gen X having learned what failure is and how overcome, learn from your mistakes and then to flourish when trying again and again and again. You millennial, grow up, stop being a child and face the world.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

"Some days I wish I could go back in life. Not to change anything, but feel a few things twice." This accurate there'll always come a time we want to go back and experience again what we've experienced before.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

I agree. I do have such moments. I will recall things I did as a child and want to relive such moments. Childhood is a bliss.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's the ugly truth of life. We all should live for it and accept what's in our hands right now. If I could just turn back to the times where I'm just a little kid I will. Being inoocent is really a bliss they say.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

The untarnished dreams, the innocence... I miss.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If i had the timemachine i want to go back in my childhood life. No stress no hardworking no heart broken.. But like you said im not child anymore. And nothing change.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes. We are not children anymore. We noe have responsibilities on our shoulders. We were once children. Children we are no more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Childhood is never been back but always in our memories.. A very sweet memories..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. But sometimes I can help wish I could enjoy those moments again even if its just for a minute.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would really like to go back, too because there are also things in the past that are really good and I would love to experience it again.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I have lots of sweet memories. If only wishes were horses.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I likewise wish to become a child... I want to feel being free from anxieties. 😏

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Not anxiety, but a lot more. You don't have much worries, you sleep better at night.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah a lot more but i want anxiety to be removed in my thoughts

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess we all have our demons. So what are you anxious about?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nightmares... I want it to be erased in my dreams... Thinking to be child again maybe .. Just maybe, things would change. Maybe it will create new memories so i may sleep silently at night. 😏

$ 0.00
3 years ago