It's not only about money

17 33
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Many has experienced financial losses and griefs but the last thing they want to hear at that moment of grief is: “it’s only money”.

Because it’s not just about the money...  

It wasn’t losing my family business or even my family home... what affected me the most was what it did to my self-esteem and how that hurt on the inside, where no-one could see.

It's about Lifestyle: Losing the money that afforded you a lifestyle changes everything. Vacations, shopping, eating out, recreation and hobbies, buying gifts for others and the many other lovely activities and moments you share with family and friends may all take a hit after a huge financial loss.

It's about housing: when you can't afford to keep your house and you have to sell it in order to repay debts or you are struggling to pay your mortgage. Selling your luxurious house may seem like the last straw.

It's about shattered plans, dreams, and aspirations: The ideas working and retiring in a few years, the college savings with thoughts of your kids going to top colleges and universities, can all be shattered and go out the window now due to your having to dip into your savings sooner than you thought. Your situation will look nothing like what you pictured in your mind - all plans may have to be revised and you will have to start rebuilding your life - something you never imagined could happen to you.

It is about reputation and self-image: losing your life savings or the money that gave you self worth as a successful business's person or entrepreneur or family provider, may leave the word 'failure' on your lips.

It's about the emotions and grief: The emotional response to financial loss - financial grief - is real, painful, and it hurts. There can be confusion, anger, denial, shock, panic attack, withdrawal, embarrassment and many more.

Closing Thoughts

 A financial loss such as an investment gone wrong can strike us hard and it can seem like life will never be the same again. However, looking at the bigger picture and taking the necessary steps one at a time to coping with a financial loss and rebuilding your financial status could be all you need to bounce back.

Financial loss is not just about the money. Though, it probably wouldn’t be so devastating if it were.


Don't forget to subscribe if you have not. Like and leave a comment.

Talking about comments, have you heard of the comment league project I announced recently? It's a platform based project aimed at encouraging valuable comments from readers. Visit the post and see if its something you do like.

14
$ 0.95
$ 0.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Comments

i understand the frustration about hearing that, but i would say those who say that are not delivering the message in the correct way.

the underlying message is that despite losing money, you still have good health, freedom, and opportunity.

i know some people who earn a lot more than i do, but they would trade that money for good health if there were able to.

having said that, if you were impacted by financial losses, i do empathize with you though. it can hurt a lot because of the effort and sacrifices required to earn the money.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remember these quotes while reading your post.

"Money can't buy us happiness, but it's more comfortable to cry in a Mercedes than on a bicycle."

Which is quite true right? We can't be a hypocrite and say it's just money. We all want to have money because it gives as happiness but also we must remember that money sometimes kinda take away happiness from us. We should know how to balance :)

And yeah to that, we have to bounce back! Cheers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believe having enough money makes things a lot easier, but focusing too much on money (once you already have enough) robs you of happiness. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is why attachment to money and the materials it bought is pretty hard yet so inevitable. Sentiments make monetary loss such a big deal but also the regrets that come with it, i guess

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Helping people with their losses is made possible by money. It is very unfortunate that people do not want to help anyone at a loss even though they have money. But great people are those who help others even they also have less money. But to help him in such a way that he does not feel ashamed from that period.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Very well written, my friend. I suffered some substantial financial losses this year with unlucky (or unwise) stock picks and therefore, I can relate to what you wrote. In my case, my lifestyle didn't change, because I already lived very frugally. What hurt me most was moving two steps further from financial independence.

Well, it is important to learn to accept losses. It was not at all easy for me to do that and to move on with my life.

After all, money can be re-earned. But in order to be able to do that, you need to get your life back in order.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I am glad you were able to pick yourself up after the incident. I know a fee who never did. Some have died from the shock, few get into depression and some remain poor.

Just like you said: money can be earned. But to do that we have to move aware from denial and accept the loss. Then take necessary steps towards regaining your financial freedom. If possible look for multiple source of income to speed up the recovery process.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's exactly right. It is also a trap to try and regain the money you lost with the same investment in which you lost it... I fell into that trap, too. I hope, I won't do it the next time that happens...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why I'm feeling that financial loss already with my 50£ loss in two weeks. I got scared now, I think I should withdraw it. It giving me a heart attack 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What are you investing in? Crypto?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes bought bch, btc, uni swap and ethereum all loss 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know from stock picking that it is pretty much luck what happens in the short term. That's why now I only buy with a long term perspective. I only buy what I'm willing to hold for at least 2 to 5 years. Then the short term is not that important. 😊 However, this is also not a fail safe method... 🙈

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I know, I said I'll keep it there and I'll not be bothered. But you know, still I check and check and check hahaha.. 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. I know that. The first year I checked at least one hundred times per day. 😂🙈

$ 0.00
3 years ago

See? It is normal then. 😂 BCH killing me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I was exactly the same. 😅 I believe that you will get used to the volatility and won't be worrying as much in the future.

However, if you won't, maybe you invested a bit too much money. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

"Money can Buy Happiness " .. I believe this quote. If we help poor people or street child. It's possible to make happy others. Sir you're absolutely right. Thanks for your kind sentence

$ 0.01
3 years ago