Getting a dog

35 60
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

I love dogs!

And I have this yawn getting one. But I don't think I am ready yet. I don't want to make the same mistake I made with the previous one. I need to be able to provide the dog with the home they deserve.

Your life really does change once you have a dog, and for the better! However, I feel that I'm not at the stage in my life whereby this is right for you. Plus, I'm simply not able to at the moment. The landlady doesn't like dog. So dogs are not allowed.

Why we love dogs

They all give us companionship.

From keeping us safe, protecting out families and homes, working for the emergency services to supporting people who are blind, deaf, or disabled, dogs do a lot for us humans.

Additionally, they keep us safe, and they aid those in need. Dogs play. Well, they play many roles in our lives, too! They keep us healthy, both physically and mentally.

Breeds

Worldwide there are about 360 dog breeds.

Purebreds are animals whose parents were both of the same breed.

While seeking a new companion, be sure to consider the mutts, mixes, purebreds, and everything in between.

How do I choose if a dog is right for me?

Determine if you are willing to take on the responsibility of having a dog such as feeding, walking, vet and grooming visits. If so, then determine if you want a big or small dog, or a shedding or hypoallergenic dog and look for breeds that fit your needs.

When dogs find a forever home, their companionship creates lifelong benefits. They bring with them joy, loyalty, and devotion. Eventually, no matter the breed, these pets become family.


I will leave this short for now. I have been here for more than 3 months. During this period, I seldom see post about pets. Does this mean no user keeps pets or we don't like them. The only user I can recall made posts about pets is @wakeupkitty - I could remember reading her post "Lucifer". That aside, I can't recall reading any other. Perhaps I didn't subscribe to the users that publish pet related posts.

Immediately after this article, I will visit the communities page to find communities about pets and animals especially those on dogs as they are my favorite.

I will also organise a contest to promote pet related content. Hopefully with support from other users, I will be able to make the prize juicy enough to motivate interested users to talk about pets for a change.

Stay tuned...

13
$ 0.96
$ 0.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Comments

Noted

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Perhaps you didn't subscribe to my community either? If you ask me not many write about pets, neither about parenting. Strange if you consider people google a lot of it comes about gathering information about these two subjects.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

great article, i like it..love

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, I am impressed - not just with your article (well-written as always). What impresses me even more is the plethora of your ideas: The patronage (I have already two articles waiting for you 😉), the Comment League and now a contest for pet related articles.

I can tell already that you are full of great ideas and that you are not afraid of shaping the world around you. I'm certain that you will achieve great success in your life with that many ideas and enthusiasm to make them a reality. I also believe that you are capable of putting the effort in. Great combination! Keep up the good work and I'm curious to what you will come up with next. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You may want to check my article about my pet named Sunny. I created this article three months ago 😅

https://read.cash/@Jeaneth/my-baby-sunny-43f89b3a

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Have you submitted it to any community? If no you can submit it here https://read.cash/c/pets-9a8a

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes, dogs are awesome. many people underestimate what is needed to provide for them...physical and emotional needs of a dog. nice post!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish to keep one but I don't have the right environment for one now, So I will wait patiently till when I can provide better conditions.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Vice versa on how the benefits of humans and dogs as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have dogs.. I have 4 of them actually.. And I also have a community called animal lovers.. You should join tho.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have a community about pets - https://read.cash/c/pets-9a8a

You can share the link to the community you mention so I can check it out.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have one about pets too... Strange you didn't notice it. Good luck. 🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You'll be a good owner then! Hopefully one day you'll get your very special dog. And that's a very good idea! Pet lovers would love that! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I had a dong sometime. But I lose her. It was painful at that moment. So I will have to be able to provide a good environment for one to thrive before getting one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love dogs. I have always been sorry that I live in an apartment and I do not have the conditions to take care of one of them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same here. It's not just the apartment for me, its the environment in general. Not a good place to own a dog.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What kind of breed are you planning to get? I'm a few days away from not seeing my dogs anymore ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love GSD but can also go for Caucasian. They are the popular breeds in Nigeria.

I'm a few days away from not seeing my dogs anymore ;

Why?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What's a GSD and a caucasian dog ;;-;; I've never heard of those breeds before

I'll be moving out tomorrow. Can't bring my dogs into the new house

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love my dogs more than my siblings hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? A joke right? I may love dogs a lot, but my siblings are more dear to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can't get serious with it. Hahaha of course we always love our siblings even if we say we don't. 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, I didn't get serious with it. Family love is default. We can't help it.

I will be organizing a contest soon, about pets and owners. I look forward to your participation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will join. I wasn't able to participate in the patronage because i was still earnings some subscribers. I think i had enough already. I'm into it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay.

Well, about the patronage, there are many ways of participating - you can donate, nominate or promote via short posts or links in your article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gotta try that out.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

pets are forever friends they will never abandon us unless they die.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right. But when I was a child, we had a cat. She will leave home to return after a week or more. My dad nicknamed her "'Agaracha' must come back". Agaracha is an Igbo word which could mean a travel/wanderer. She left one day and never returned. Guess something bad happened to her.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, cats usually die along with their wanders because some people hurt them, cruel people.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. I have a neighbour that eats cats. According to him "Cat meat is one of the sweetest I have ever had". The man is above 60 years and has been eating them since his youth. There was no talking him out of it.

He sets trap for them and there have been cases when he shot at them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can remember in my childhood people are cat too. So did the Chinese restaurant sell it (just didn't tell it was cat).

Your neighbor should breed his own cats instead of stealing someone else's.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Eyyy, that's gross. I mean in our country it seems eating cat is gross.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it is. Eating dog is more acceptable among certain groups in the country, but cats...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dogs is not acceptable here either. For some reason certain pets cannot be eaten and others it's just fine. 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, here in our country too. Many are eating dogs but not cats.

$ 0.00
3 years ago