Torn Between Not and Knots

39 69
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Hola! Readcashers! Como estas todos!

The bliss of social media give us opportunities to interact people from all around the world. In noise.cash recently, I had a fun interaction with a Spanish speaking user of the platform, and I have to go on translating her language to English to meet both ends, lol! That was fun learning, though the words retained in my memory were only "Como estas" and "Gracias." The next time I'll multiply those words to a hundred and you'll be surprised! haha!

Back to my topic, verily, just a couple of things I wish to share with you all for this free writing part of the week. Let's go!

Between Not or Whatever

Today, I had a little argument with our supervisor regarding her decision making about our patient load. Actually, it happened yesterday and I didn't get a chance to talk to her because my schedule won't allow me to drop by the hospital. So, today I confronted her when I got the chance. She kept insisting on about the "patient's right," but she missed my point that as health workers our patients need to know beforehand what's the best treatment and option for them before expressing his/her right for treatment. Moreover, that is also our responsibility to make patients understand the situation medically. Anyway, I don't want to go into detail, but that was my point in questioning her "decision making." In my understanding, she just decides based on what the patient like, like "I feel that I like this, "I want this and that." Seriously?! A patient needs an explanation why these things are done, we don't conform to it directly.

I was really disappointed. Decision making in medical practice should not be based on feelings alone, and not about people pleasing. The health and welfare of the patient should be a priority. So, I was torn between, to drop the issue and not tell our doctor about it, or call the patient and explain, or not or whatever. I don't know, maybe I just have to slide this off and hope for the best - for everyone.

Between Knots

Anyway, for a couple of days I've been working back to my yarns. Yah! I have those skillful hands, I guess, lol! Some years back, I've learned to crochet from my classmate in college. I was able to make a small handbag, and cellphone case, I hope to show it to you, but I could no longer find it in my dresser.

I'm making this mask headband strap, with the help of some YouTube tutorials I was able to decipher how those knots go from one end to the next. I have completely abandoned this hobby for a century, lol! and had forgotten how to start it and how to turn from one line to another. Well, after the tutorial I was able to relearn again the easy and those basic patterns. Looking back, I can't believe that I actually made a handbag out of the yarns, it's a tedious process for me now.

Why the mask strap? Apparently, for like almost two years now of using the mask for hours everyday, there are times that the skin folds of my ears gets painful. The strap would then help secure the mask in place without attaching it to the ears. Honestly, I don't like the presence of the straps because it's just another annoying thing attached to my head, but, I don't have much choice to alleviate the pain the mask brings. At least, I can do something about the discomfort. So, I'm just bringing this strap with me and wear it when the need arise.

I have seen those plastic mask headband straps from online shops and tried using one too, but the plastic was hard enough to create another source of pain in the area. So, I have decided to make this one and I find the crochet straps more comfortable that the plastic ones.

Great idea, eh?


"I've learned that whenever I decide something with an open heart, I usually make the right decision."
— Maya Angelou

I leave you with this quote, and remember we need some kindness in making decisions for others. We don't decide and push them to a disastrous situation.

Spread the love!


Photos and content by me.

Original Content ©️ LykeLyca

10/14/2021


17
$ 11.61
$ 11.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 11
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

Tienes razón el médico es quien determina el tratamiento del paciente. He visto mascarillas sujetadas con tela de Lycra, se ajustan muy bien por detrás de la cabeza, dejando libre las orejas, no son incómodas

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Goodness! My spanish friends are now leaving me comments in spanish as well, haha! You're all pushing me to learn. Anyway, i'm good with the ones I make, though the Lycra sounds wonderful too. Ty!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry, I didn't realize when I wrote it, I always use a translator. hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah! no worries, I can always turn to the translator as well. I though you did it by purpose like Infinity did haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ay ay. The patient should seek for the doctors advice first on what is the best thing that could be done. A patient can lay out what things she wants to do but it is the doctor who will redirect and guide the patient. Hahaha I really don't know doc. It is just my opinion. Anyway, my roommate here has crochet materials too but haven't had the courage and time to try making at least one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Siguro if ako yung patient, mas pipiliin ko makinig sa explaination and suggestion sa doctors kaysa gusto ko. Ano ba namang alam ko 😅. Anyways, doooooc, paturo mag crochet huhu wala talaga akong talent jaan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Medyo mahirap lang sa simula ang crochet pag nasanay na kamay mo mabilis nlng haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I lelearn ko talaga yan doc

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree talaga na need din ng patient maintindihan kung bakit kailangan gawin ang certain na gamutan and need talaga yun maexplain. And sana all ate, naay talent sa pag crochet. 💗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

very basic lang alam ko hehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sakin naman, isang line lang kayang gawin hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Expain mo nalang sa patient mas maigi pa. Safety lang nan iniisip mo ee saka mas better na yon. Pag buhay ang nakasalakay dapat di ora orada ng desisyon aba.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Un nga sis, ung sup namin ora orada mag desisyon kesyo gusto daw ng pasyente, sabi ko di mn lang nya inexplain..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Normal yarn lang po ba yan? Sobrang ganda siguro if lahat nag desisyon natin wala tayong pagsisihan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ung maliit na yarn sis, kc ung normal yan masyado makapal na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahilig din po pala kayo maggantsilyo. Dati din po ay ang hilig hilig ko dyan noong elementary ako. Hihihi. Tama po kayo napaka importante po ng Decision Making lalo na kapag po about medical.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. dati sis, ngaun lang bumalik ulit kaso parang hirap nmn gumawa ng mga complex na designs..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis yung ordinary yarns lang ba ang ginagamit diyan sa paggawa?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ung maliit na yarns sis, wag ung ordinary kc makapal sya pag nagawa na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Patients health and welfare will be priorities dear. Yup, in consistent COVID condition we move to the world of facility in SOPs. Mask strap will helpful when you wore it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's why I'm keeping one in my purse in case I would be needing a strap again.. thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel your disappointment and frustration with your supervisor's decision-making. More like she/he is losing the real sense of being in the medical field. Or maybe she/he is just tired.

Anyway, you have a great craft. Would love to see the finish one :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Parang ganun na nga cguro, tinamad na sya mag explain at hinayaan nlng ung patient mag desisyon. Haayy,

Ung crochet ko ngaun so basic nlng wala ng time hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana yung patient mag ask ng questions din pero baka hindi rin lang aware.

Basic is still okay hehe. I have not done any craft at all, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang talented mo madam.. Hirap tlga yung decision na hndi tlga match sa kung ano gusto mo...nauuwi lng sa pagsisisi minsan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're right, doc. Dapat talaga ipa intindi sa patient yung mga proseso at kung bakit kailangan yun gawin. Sila din kasi yung magsu-suffer sa pain kung sakali di nila masunod yung nararapat.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I can relate to this, patients kasi have these feelings. Yong mama ko when she was sick, dami nyang assumptions about sa sakit nya, then the doctor would really tell her and explain something to her not to the point na iplease sya and parang mag agree nalng sa mga sinasabi nya. Glad you go back with the knots, I remember doing one in HS, and hindi na yon naulit pa. hehehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes maam, ganun po talaga pag nasa medical field, dapat mag explain ng maayos at transparent sa patient at sa family ng pasyente. Ako nga rin college pa toh na hobby, ngaun lang naulit kc nag iisip ako ng magandang straps hahha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nice that you are practicing Spanish. I practice a little with English.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha! wish me luck my friend :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course. Very successful.!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayoko talagang deciaion is when I becaoke torn in between two opposite sides... absolute torment! Buti kinakaya mo. As adults, we tend to be in that situation all the time.Hahah. Fighting!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yep mahirap talaga. Kya i'll pray for them nlng pero syempre dapat malaman nila nararamdaman ko so speak up kesa nmn puputok nlng ako sa sama ng loob hehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i have been seeing crochets all over noise and amigurumi too and I wanted to learn crochet pero mukhang matatagalan ako before mkagawa ng amigurumi..hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayy mahirap un sis pero try mo lang hehe! Meron nmn yata mga tutorials sa youtube about sa pattern ng amigurumi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you let it slide po, what if something will happened to that patient? Hmm but if you insisted what you know maybe you will have conflict with that doctor. Its really hard to decide but always choose the right thing po. And sanaall marunong magcrochet hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ok lang nmn ung doctor namin kaso ayoko kc lumaki ung issue, nkakapagod na may conflicts sa work.. Im just hoping for the patient na sana okay lang sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hola amiga. Por aqui super bien. Aunque hoy ha sido un dia malo. Todo me ha salido mal desde que empece el dia. Espero que mejore con el tiempo. Te gusta el español? Ahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So far I only understand bien, tiempo and te gusta el espanol... Haha! I will learn I guess from my friends in both platforms lol! I hope the day improves for you hopefully.

$ 0.00
2 years ago