The Mysterious Cave Painting

11 37
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Random, Free write, Dream

It happened on an afternoon in the summer a few months ago. One middle aged amateur archaeologist was on his knees  digging in the rubble at the mouth of the recently discovered cave in my grandparents' ancestral place. I don’t know why I was with them, perhaps I have been assisting the kid who was so persistent to explore the cave with his dad, the archaeologist.

Suddenly, from the depths of a side chamber, came the muffled scream  of his ten-year-old son, “A cat! Papa, come quickly!”

Alarmed, the man dropped his pick and darted into the area where the little girl stood frantic pointing at the ceiling. Raising his flashlight in the direction of the girls fingers, I know, like me, he felt his hair stand on end as he saw the drawings on the cave wall, not only a cat, but prehistoric Saber-tooth Tiger, magnificently painted in lifelike poses, standing, pawing the ground, lying down, curled in sleep, rolling in the dust or dying of spear wounds. Exploring further in the labyrinth, we found dozens of other painted and engraved animals, like lions, wooly mammoth, rhinoceros, and so much more.

The momentous discovery was to open a great door on a totally unsuspected era of human history. The archaeologist knew immediately that the murals were unimaginably ancient. Most of the animals so vividly depicted were either extinct or had disappeared hundred centuries ago. 

Everyone in the village celebrated that night with the archaeologist and his son. I got bored with the singing, eating and laughing, so I have decided to go back inside the cave. An old woman appeared as I was about to enter, and told me that she also wanted to take a glimpse of the ancient drawings. 

We went in and I was so surprised to see her lying down staring at the drawings in the ceiling. A few minutes later, I was lured into imitating her. While lying down on my back in a padded niche of the rock platform, I had been gazing up at the huge scary tiger for perhaps five minutes. 

Then the old woman murmured in our dialect, “Do you see it yet?”

“See what?” I asked.

“Keep looking,” she said.

I stared for another few minutes until, suddenly, it hit me. “They’re breathing!” I gasped. “I can see their muscles quivering!”

“Yes,” the old woman nodded with a smile. “Hundred of centuries old and still alive,” She continued.

She grabbed my hand, and I woke up from my sleep. It’s already morning.


Ah! Yes! Just a dream, lol! This must be the result of binge watching Jumanji with my niblings. All weird things can happen really.

I've been missing in action for some days, sorry guys, I'll be catching up.

Before I end, heaps of thanks to @Pichi28 @Bloghound @JLoberiza @Infinity for the sponsorship renewal.

Thanks for reading!


I remember I wrote a story for promptlyJonica about myths;

The Mysterious Cave

Then, a prompt about a dream vacation;

Out Diving in Coral Sea

How about a crazy rich influencer for a day?

Meet the Land Baron


Lead image and article photo from Pixabay (free to use image)

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

10/09/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Join us on #Club1BCH Discord Channel


10
$ 2.34
$ 2.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @BCH_LOVER
+ 3
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Random, Free write, Dream

Comments

First of all, "Thank you sa sponsorship mo sissy or should I say, "DOC." 😊(hugs and kisses)

May mga times talaga pag may napapanuod tayo, parang nangyayari talaga siya sa panaginip natin. Yung tipong aakalain mo'ng totoo ba. Hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're welcome sis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iaask ko sana dito of true story ba to, doc. Hahaha. Buti nalang tinapos ko. 🤣

Pero what if totoo sila at gumalaw papunta sayo doc? Katakot. Haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Omg, haha kala ko real haha if ever very nakaka amaze yon ha. Huli ko napag tanto after the woman appear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What if you watched a scary one like van helsing with vampires, wolves, aswang and lots of creepy crratures, lol! Nice one!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha! No way i would be watching those kind of films.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. Kaka jumanji nga yan. Pero pano kaya no kapag totoo. Hindi naman siguro harmful kase drawing lang? Hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Uu nga buti nlng di tumalon palabas sa wall hahah! Sabagay just a dream

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting story my friend. I thinking that place would become a place for people to pay before they enter.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true. I would get rich, unfortunately just in my dream, 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What we had been thinking live, we can observe in our dreams with great probability. I didn't draw cave paintings even if it is mysterious one 😂.

$ 0.00
1 year ago