Rain, More Rain and Nothing But Rain

18 48
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

“Rain, rain, go away.

Come again another day…”

Hello guys! Just singing this song for the rain to stop and halt all the worries away about flooding, landslides, traffic and all. We already had so much trouble from two days of persistent and intense rainfall.

The rain started Saturday night and I was so elated to sleep with the cold weather, it really feels like heaven, lol! Then morning came, and I could still see the rain. I would love to stay home and be lazy but I have work, so hustle bustle outdoors despite the rainy weather. Sunday night came and the rain poured so hard, almost zero visibility while driving, the heavy traffic started to escalate due to flooding in most of the streets in the city.

All night, I can hear nothing but rain, the sound of the rain hitting the roof has been like a sound of silence during the night. I was checking Facebook and the local government already issued warnings to residents near rivers and flood-prone areas to evacuate. Rescue units were already at disposal watching for the water level on the bridges within the city. Suddenly, around midnight, I heard a loud sound up in the roof, like something huge hitting the house. In the morning, my brother saw a spare roof on our roof, which must be from a neighbor’s house! Oh my! 

An image of the landslide on the main road nearby.

Sunday before sunrise, more rain and even heavier. Surprisingly, traffic started to build up in front of our house, which doesn't happen very often unless something serious like an accident or something like that occurs. I woke up early to check on our dog crying, and on the ealy local news my mom found out that there was a landslide just a kilometer away from ours, blocking the road thus explaining the traffic. Oh my…

The main bridge in the city swallowed by floodwater, no longer visible actually.

When I checked my Facebook timeline, I was dumbfounded by what I saw. The main bridge was swallowed by floodwater already, and the lane going to the city was closed after a crack was seen on the side rail. This photo below was the bridge, people living beside this area already evacuated for safety.

A steel bridge on the outskirts of the city got destroyed and no longer passable, it seems it got swallowed up as well when the floodwater rose during the night and had almost forcefully plucked the bridge out of the ground. I have memories of passing on this bridge several times before when the pandemic started, and my patient opted to be treated at home for the fear of Covid19. Now, this structure needs rehabilitation as well. On the photo below, you can see those lightweight houses unfortunately on the brink of destruction.

The steel bridge that was destroyed by floodwater.

In normal days, you can't see any water from this perspective, this river is so shallow. I can even see kids swimming and playing during summer. But now, it's filled with water!

On my way to work, I've seen this light post bent on the road. Of course, you can't imagine the traffic, and the threat to commuters while some workers tried to fix and clear everything. But, life goes on, with rain, more rain and nothing but rain there is work, errands and priorities waiting for you, so. Just stay safe, I guess.

Sigh.

This afternoon, the rain started to pour again, and this patient of mine jokingly sings this song out loud...

"Buhos pa ulan, aking mundo lunurin tuloyan..."

Please check the English translation, my foreign friends from here, hehe! I think that's one of Regine Velasquez's popular songs in the Philippines. I just want to include this part here because in spite of all the trouble this calamity has caused us, we still find some humor to laugh about, brighten our day, make solutions and move on by God's grace.


Thank you for reading once again everyone! This would be it. I still have to raid our closet for used clothing to donate to the affected families tomorrow. Ciao! God bless us all and stay safe wherever you are...


Lead image and last photo by me

The rest of the photos from Facebook

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

03/07/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Follow me in Twitter and Telegram @LycaLyke

Start mining, trading/ copy trading in Bityard



19
$ 8.51
$ 7.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 12
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

The rain is really good and refreshing, because it waters the crops, refreshes the climate, heals the places that had drought, but it can also be dangerous if it is constant and strong, as it has happened to you friend, I hope that soon the rain can stop, how sad what you have lived these days, it is really dangerous to continue raining like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All along I thought it's just rain and not that devastating but seeing this is just alarming. I wasn't that updated when it comes to news these days. I hope the rain will soon stop. Keep safe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh my God! That is very scary moment,i can't feel that sad pictures rain smashing every thing sometimes rain is a blessing but sometimes it is sign of danger we have also seen that moment in 2013 rain destroyed about 100 houses in okara city

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's my first time coming to Cagayan de Oro and I saw the roads blocked with logs when we passed by Iligan City. It looked like a flood just subsided in that area. Last night my brother called me because they got trapped as water had risen again.. he was worried about me travelling but thankfully we arrived here safe. Hoping this will end so we could enjoy our stay. Anyway, I'm praying for the safety of everybody in all affected areas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ingat po kayo dyan doctora. Napapakanta na lang po kayo bigla eh. Dito naman po sa amin tirik na tirik ang araw at sobrang init po talagang panahon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's just so sad to look at the pictures my friend as the area is greatly affected. Hope all of the people are safe, you also, keep safe my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omyy. The steel bridge is almost unpassable. Ganyan din sa amin sis tinangay na nga ng baha ang tulay nong Odette.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really sad to see what is happened there. God save them from the bad situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala! Grabe naman yung nangyari sa tulay sis..Tas katakot yung baha..🥺 Dito nga rin sa'min sis eh, palaging naulan. Buti nga ngayon, medyo nagliwanag na yung paligid pero di pa talaga kita yung sikat ng araw.

Ingat po kayo lahat diyan!❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halaaa, wala din masyado akong alam about sa weather pero nakita ko sa video sa kung asan kapatid ko da Batangas binaha din talaga sila grabi ee. Sana okay lang ang lahat tsk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala may bagyo na naman? Sana maging okay na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana naman tumila na. Kami kahit nasa Visayas, malakas din ang ulan ilang araw na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala grabeha diha doc ay. Diri gaulan man sad, wala say hunongay. Naa man lagi daw LPA gud sa VisMin. Maayo lag di mahimong bagyo gyud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rain drops on the roof at night gives special kind of rhythm. In my area it's also raining since morning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This rain isn't good😢. Spoiling properties and discomforting people. Sorry for the rain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe friend ang nangyari. Nakakapanlumo naman friend pagamasdan. Lalo na ang pag kasira ng bridgen. Ingat lgi ka diyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ma'am Lyca. 🥺 Nakita ko yang ibang photos sa Facebook account ko. Pinost ng workmate ko noon. Grabe yung baha tyaka nagulat ako sa bridge. Grabe nasira. Ingat kayo diyan lagi ma'am Lyca.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a terrible experience with the constant rains. My prayers for the rain to stop.

$ 0.00
2 years ago