Home Remedy for Cough: Lagundi Tea and Lemon

19 57
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Food, Home Remedy, Herbs

Hello everyone! I’ve been away for the past three days because the bug got me, hopefully not Covid. Thank God, I’m a bit fine now, so I’m back on my computer to write this and publish. I promise myself not to indulge more than two hours of screen time, guess this will be quick.

Last Sunday afternoon it rained here like crazy and I got soaked after a day from work. Right there and then, I was sneezing, plus a terrible headache. I went to bed early hoping that it would be gone in the morning, but no. I woke up feverish, still with a little headache. In the afternoon, I was running with fever already, with a clogged nose and dry cough. My symptom thus looked  like Covid, but since my fever and colds disappeared after day three, I think I’m safe. I’m really praying that I would feel better Tuesday or Wednesday, so I could count this as an ordinary flu, and I am. Praise God!

Now, I still have a cough that is bugging me. I hate to leave home suffering from a cough because most often my throat gets itchy when I’m around people, and everyone will look at me like a consuming predator! Huhuhu! Facepalm**

Anyway, I started taking Carbocisteine, a mucolytic, every eight hours yesterday. Our doctor told me to take it only for three days. Hopefully this will work.

Moreover, my brother is a fan of herbal medicines and home remedies, and he is prescribing me to take 1 cup of lagundi tea, with a teaspoon of calamansi juice. I’m not so familiar with herbs, so he volunteered to get the lagundi leaves in someone else’s backyard, haha! He came home tonight with the leaves and the calamansi! Perfect! I did a quick research regarding Lagundi in English, and this is what Google has to say, “five-leaved chaste tree,” or “vitex negundo” its scientific name. It’s a shrub that grows perennially everywhere, so I think this is pretty easy to find.

Of course, I can manage preparing it with verbal instructions from my brother, so I’m off to the kitchen to make a miracle tea as what my quack doctor said, hehe!

How to Prepare?

Wash the Lagundi leaves 

Get a small pot, put 3 glasses of water or more depending on the leaves you have. I have 5 and my brother said 3 to 5 glasses.

Boil it for 5 minutes, low to medium heat. 

Pour a cup of Lagundi tea, and it is better to put a teaspoon of calamansi juice into it.

I already have my cup now, and it tastes fine. 

“Ahem,” Ahem,”

I still have a cough, I guess. Sigh. I told my brother “why it’s not gone yet!” 

Well, he just told me that “Nature takes time to heal.”

Awww, that really makes sense and I have to agree! Tomorrow, I’ll be drinking some more Lagundi tea.

Then, hydrate myself with lots of water infused with this lemon, so nature can finally heal me, by God’s grace!

This article might be confusing you because I'm in the medical field, but I'm into the traditional methods as well. In my opinion, there is nothing wrong with science and nature, giving us solutions for our ailments. As long as we know how to balance things, and get the best help you need if worst comes to worst.

Thanks for reading, guys!


All images by me

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

08/16/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Join us on #Club1BCH Discord Channel


14
$ 3.92
$ 3.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Food, Home Remedy, Herbs

Comments

effective na ba beb ...wala na imong ubo ug sip on? kaning pag uwan2 maka dalag sakit jud ni ba///.. amping lang jud pirme

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako naman po kuya at lemon minsan lalo na kapag nakakaramdam ako ng discomfort sa lalamunan. Naninikip kasi paghinga ko sa lagundi since bata pa, baka allergic? May ganun kaya? Hihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May ubo ako last last week ma'am lyca. Yung ininom ko lagundi pero hindi ganyan yung capsule ma'am pero feel ko mas effective yan maam. Kumusta ka na now ma'am lyca?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Get well soonest doc sis. I so wish our bodies cooperate better with natural cures.. and faster than when we take meds. Yun kasi ang blinding factor din ng mga meds.. mabilis lunas.

Natural methods though is less likely to abuse our liver and kidneys in the long run. Hahayst.

Yeh dami may ubo! Ay sis . Not sure if allow mo sa sarili mo. Pag nag sisimula maging makati yun lalamunan ko contributing to ahem.. i use strepsils hahahah.. pambawas irita sa throat.

**Not a paid advertisement hahahahha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Not a fan of strepsils pero meron na ako dito hahah! Sumakit lalamunan ko sa lemon today at calamansi kagabi, kaya naalala ko strepsil.. Naunahan na kita sa ads mo hahah! Thanks Pichi!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's true natural herbs are best cure for any sickness. I hope this tea will help you to get rid of this cough.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks sis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mas effective yang lagundi leaf kesa sa bumili ka ng tablet sa pharmacy. Anyway, di ko pa natry uminom niyan pero gusto ko malasahan. Mapait ba siya?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

medyo mapait pero mas dominant ang calamansi if malagyan mo ng isa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You should try cough care syrup sis that has good results to control cough and soar throat. I hope this remedy will also be beneficial. Wish you good health and fast recovery 😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh cough, magkaroon na ako ng lagnat pero wag na sanang samahan ng cough at sipon. Lalo kapag malala yong ubo na pati dibdib nananakiyt na kakaubo. Aigooo. Kaya ako ingat talaga algi ee para di na dapuan ng ganyan. Anyways sana mapagaling mo yaan. Kapag ako nay ubo warm water and salt lang para maalis agad yong nga phlegm ba.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hirap ng may cough madam..lalo na pag need magwork..more than a week din yung akin dati...nkakatrangkaso dn

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your brother is surely super caring and fun to be with. I also lagundi and lemon as a remedy for cough.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Also have cough and i'm using oregano, ginger and kalamansi mix for treatment. It's working. Our elders also use Lagundi to lower fever.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes I believe that nature heals din sis... when we have cough, we resort to Lagundi too! It's effective, you can also try oregano... pure oregano juice, or you can put honey on it...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These things act like decongestant and push unessential fluid outside from our air ways. Thanks for sharing such a good medical information with all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Napaka-beneficial neto po, halos ilang araw na rin po etong ubo ko. Papakuha po ako neto bukas. Salamat po ulit!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you rito ate! Huhu. Madalas magkaroon ako ng sore throat na nauuwi sa cough eh.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Welcome! Marami yata talaga Lagundi sa Pinas kya for sure may makita ka jan sa Luzon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago