Father's Day Out

21 30
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Today is Father's Day, celebrated every 3rd Sunday of June. I know we can make every single day special for moms and dads, but I think it's more okay to set apart one single day of the year to celebrate a super duper more special day for them. Anyway, not all men can be a father, only a man who has the audacity and determination to raise a child can be a FATHER. So, let's make it extra special.

My father is the simplest man in the planet, I guess. He does not shop for his stuff, the last time he bought himself a t-shirt was in a thrift shop 3 years ago. So, usually my mom buys what he needs - clothes, undies, caps, shoes, even slippers, lol! He is so uncomplicated and straighforward, but sets the rules. So, as I grow up I only see him as a good provider for our needs, but so stiff on his rules. However, as we mature, he became gentle too. Perhaps, the responsibilities of being a father of five growing up kids adds so much weight on his shoulders before, making him stern and unyielding. Now, that we've grown up pretty well, his stiffness wears off. And looking back to our life years back, made me think about a dramatic musical play. As an actor on a lead role, he has to set the mood of a convincing role to set an entire play convincing for everyone. I think, my dad portrayed that part of his journey as a father truly efficient.

Anyway, I had enough drama about my childhood so let's skip that part. Instead, let me talk about how we made father's day out special in a simpler way, guess it was so easy today on this time of pandemic. You see, he does not go out so often now and rarely allowed to eat some foods that might be high in cholesterol since he got mild stoke more than a year ago. So, we made Father's day a cheat day for dad.

The C3 Road

This afternoon around 5pm, we went to C3 Road - this road in the mountainside of Iligan City is famous for street foods. We had snacks there while waiting for sundown, the view was just so wonderful overlooking the city at sunset on this side of the city.

Later that afternoon was a beautiful sunset

Since it's dad's cheat day, he had his first "balut" after one and half years. He used to love this exotic food on his youth, but today he only eat two and he said enough. Well, dad I guess finally had a control in his eating and food choices, except Coke (He still loves to drink one everyday, sigh). Back to the balut, our youngest, my nephew and his dad had 4 each, gosh! I even can't eat a single one, neither stare at the inside of it. But, for them all 12 eggs gone in just a matter of minutes. Poof!

The ever famous "Balut" in the Philippines. Before and after 😂

Balut is a popular exotic food in the Philippines. It is a fertilized duck egg, incubated usually for 14- 21 days before it will be served boiled and hot in the streets. Its popularity can be seen in any street corner every night, and vendors would bring with them a bottle of vinegar and salt with chili peppers to accentuate its distinct taste. Balut contains lots of nutrients, especially protein. However, a single balut also has lots of cholesterol, thus also bad to eat many. The main reason why I don't recommend this to my dad.

Tempura and squid roll

Mom and I aren't into exoric food, so we had tempura and squid roll instead, with that spicy sauce. Before heading home we take-away some barbecue for dinner and dropped by to get the cake we reserved in a local bakeshop my dad loves. We had our dinner at home, with a 1.5 liter of coke, of course my dad had a big smile drinking, lol!

That was a fun Father's Day Out and a complete excuse for dad to go out and enjoy his favorite balut.


For my parting words, I want to ask, how did you celebrate Father's day?

But then it is more fun to ask, have you tried eating "Balut?" How was the experience? 🤔😀


Photos are all MINE.


13
$ 27.30
$ 26.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 5
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

(Belated) happy father's day to your dad. 🥳 o di ba andito pa lang ako sa mga babasahin ko sayo. June ang father's day eh August na ngayon. Hahaha.

Ayun na nga ang balut. Di pa ako nakakareply sayo pero alam ko nagcomment ka balut sa article ko. Grabe, 4 baluts each ba yun? Or tig 2 sila? Namiss ko na tuloy ang balut. Same pala tayo. Namild stroke na din noon dad ko. After few years (or months ata) nun gradually nagquit na siya magyosi. Kaso before pandemic nainom pa din pero shot-shot lang daw siya. Tapos minsan aasarin ko kapag lasing umuwi. Hahaha. Hinayaan na lang namin kasi retired na and happy-happy. Nung nagwwork kasi siya nun occasionally lang. Aba nung nagretire eh sinulit. Hahaha. Kaya ngayon uhaw pero mabilis na tamaan. Nakakamiss din naman uminom. Kahit ako namimiss ko. Gusto ko yung squid roll. Yan ang isa pang namiss ko ang mga fishball, squid ball, kikiam. Makatulog na nga. Hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha! di mo nmn kelangan balikan lahat, grabe na! hahah!

Dad ko since na mild stroke nag quit na talaga sa smoking at mga liquors, bisyo nya ngaun ay coke, haay nku ewan masarap daw kc.

goodnight na rin! pa sleep na ako at bukas na ako mag ikot2x at basa2x dito heheh!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I identify my husband with your dad but the father of my children continues to be rigid. He doesn't want to accept that his kids are grown ha,ha,ha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I noticed my dad changed when he slowly sees us leaving home and living our own lives I think that was the turning point 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we greeted them in person and in FB..that's it..hehe my father, my husband and my siblings.. they are all fathers now..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Happy Father's day sa kanila!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My innumerable love for your father. I am very sad that my father is not alive. He died many years ago. Today only his memory is remembered. Tears well up in my eyes as I think of his love.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Im sorry.. He must be a great father too well remembered... Thanks for dropping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa videocall ko lng sya nagreet 😅 nag celeb sla sa bahay last Saturday kc umuwi kuya ko

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hanggang ganyan lng talaga pag malayo ka.. Elan buwan nlng mkauwi kna, yey!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana nga, kaso hirap sla humanap kapalit ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nyee pending pa pala uwi mo 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gimingaw kog kaon sa tempura bay. 🤤 grabe ang balut. Pero di ko gakaon. Hehe. Happy father's day sa imo papa medem ❤

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Happy Father's day pud sa imo papa! Dili mn pud ko mo kaon balut, tempura ang squidroll noon mkahurot jud og dghan hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dad passed away 20 years ago, so prinay ko nma lang, doctora. HUbby naman nasa US, waley din hehe. Yung balut sarap naman nyan!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayy so sorry madam.. Yes prayers for them on fathers day is a great way to celebrate it...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's nice to spend some quality time with your parents. Let them feel the love as much as you can.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Totoo yan, i try to make the most of the time ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's nice to read that you spent a beautiful day celebrating with your father and that he spent it eating something special. I have never eaten of that exotic dish typical of your country. For me the favorite food dishes are those from the sea.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here I love and prefer seafoods too.. ❤️ Thank you my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago