Cleanliness Is a Mindset

14 39
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Random, Motivational

In my childhood days my grandmother would usually remind us about cleanliness. If there is someone who could influence me about cleaning up and organizing things I guess it would be her. Actually, I first hear this quote from her;

She would often nag me for a messy room. She hated to see my soiled clothes anywhere, and would wake me up so early so I could find time to help sweep the floor both in my bedroom and the living room. Right after sweeping the floor, she would intentionally walk barefoot across the room to check-smooth surface means clean and the opposite means sweeping it again. Well, I used to hate her for that, but now I realized that her teachings molded me for that cleanliness mindset. However, not as strict as her, because as I grew up, I realized that some people don’t have this attitude and I should not stress myself for that.

Anyway, I was reminded of the 'good old days with grandma in the house' while reading some trending articles from the FIFA World Cup, not from the game actually but for the Japanese players and supporters display of discipline and cleanliness. Wednesday, Japan and Germany had a football match and the latter was the winner. Japan also won the hearts of the people when they cleaned their benches in the stadium before leaving, the players also left their changing room “spotless” of any trash. This was the photo I’ve seen from Philstar news Facebook page, originally from Fifa.com Twitter. 

This is a great example for the whole world, that cleanliness is a mindset. The team must’ve been very excited and overjoyed with the result of the game, but that was not an excuse for them to leave the place filled with mess. There is always a time to clean and celebrate, for sure.

On a side note, just recently, there was an issue circulating on different social media platforms when the management of a certain beach resort in Davao Oriental posted on Facebook how untidy and messy the guests left the villa they had rented overnight. The management posted the photos and indeed it was a total mess, though I believe nothing was broken or damaged, but I just hope that guests could at least dispose of their rubbish in the garbage bins. I understand that guests can be so preoccupied, and we, as guests, were billed including housekeeping, but our attitude towards others and our environment is a display of who we are so keeping decency with the things we use (and rent) is also important. Anyhow, I still believe that the management made a wrong call about disclosing their guests to the public. That could be their downfall. 

CLEAN AS YOU GO

This has been a famous line everywhere, I think it’s really good to practice it. Unfortunately, some people won’t do it. 

Last week in Cagayan de Oro, we had our lunch at Burger King and I noticed this reminder written on the table- 'Clean as you go.' These plastic cups and wrappers from burgers, fries etc. in most fastfood restaurants are so easy to dispose of, and bins are accessible as well. In other countries, this has been widely practiced already, we should start now too. Anyway, I’m glad that authorities are now encouraging people to do it, at least this small reminder would help them understand that cleanliness should be a responsibility for oneself and our expression of love for others.

Let's do it! - Nike :)

Thanks for reading guys and spread the love...


Lead image, first and last photo by me

Second photo from Fifa.com Twitter/ Philstar Facebook

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

11/25/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Join us on #Club1BCH Discord Channel


9
$ 0.52
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 6
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Random, Motivational

Comments

Strongly agreed with your points my friend, you covered every aspect of the topic in a great way👍 May i add a lil bit more, in our religion cleanliness is half of our faith too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dapat ganyan ma'am lyca. Maging malinis always kahit saan man tayo. Nasa park, kumain sa restaurant, sa fastfood dapat i-practice natin yung cleanliness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same sa'yo, Ate. Ever since we're a kid pa lang, sinanay na kami na lagi dapat malinis. Sa bahay man, sa gamit & lalo sa sarili. Para kahit saan kami mapuntang lugar, mai-aapply pa din naman. And so, mas maganda din magiging impression ng ibang tao towards us. ✨

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is true. That's why I can't handle my niece's messiness.. she lives w/ our parents in town and everytime we visit, the house is full of dust. Sabi ng nanay q, kakapagod na laging pinagsasabihan at qng d pinagsabihan d rin magwawalis o maglinis man lng ng kwarto nya.. she is already 15 na kung mag-ayos sa sarili bago papasok sa skul will take an hour kaya d tumutulong sa gawaing bahay jajaja... Laging sinasabihan ng ate q at pati dn ako pinagsabihan q na din na d lng sarili ang laging inaayos.. ewan q n lng qng anong klaseng mindset meron xa. Regarding sa FIFA, nkakabilib nga ang ginawa ng Japan which I saw on Fb ung paglilinis nila sa benches

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True yan doc, sa taiwan ikaw din magtapon ng pinagkainan mo sa mga at nakasegregate tlga sya, sana dito din sa atin mapractice yan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not watching Fifa, not much time for it lol. But this gesture from Japanese people just won my heart, such coordination and unity is all we need for better and fast development. I am also being strict with cleanliness whenever we go for a party. At first my friends laughed a bit and weren't involving themselves, but a bit of lecture worked on them haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I dont watch it too but this news is just worth sharing and emulating.. I agree with you, we can set an example to people around us and hope they will learn from us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang awesome din naman talaga nila no. Talagsng nasa isip na nila na mahalaga ang cleanliness. Yong iba kasi, walang paki sa maiwanan nila na kalat ee but them, just whoa. Pero ako, ahahahaha I hate cleaning kasi ee HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis dba ang ganda tingnan kaya you should love cleaning as well hahah!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cleanliness is a beautiful attribute yet calling out your guests should be done privately(hoped they didn't named them). We love things in order.

Most Japanese are trained to be clean, aside from respecting women. Early age they left to find solutions 😂, go to school alone, go to market with lists-do what you fear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh yes! The hotel should've done it on private, public shaming the guest is a big no.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lalo at customers yon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You know madam, here we clean after kain namin sa mga fast food at ganon sya talaga. I read the Japan tweet from FB and di ba nakakatuwa and nakakaproud such manners? Congratulations to them for winning!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga sis developed countries do it, i hope dito rin sa pinas. I love seeing people who can ClAYGo dito sa pinas lalo na sa mga fastfoods kc bihira lang talaga gumagawa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago