Bugged With The Flu

8 32
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Free write

Hello readpeeps! I’m a bit weak today because I got bugged with the flu virus, no worries it’s not covid, lol! I just had a negative result from the Covid19 Care Kit. I actually don’t have it, nor our hospital gives us some. A colleague of mine just dropped by this morning to hand me one so I can test myself instead. The kit was actually from her sister in London, so thank God for friends with overseas connections haha!

I got a fever aside from the sore throat and colds last Wednesday, and that fever made me paranoid that it might be the mild omicron variant affecting the upper respiratory system. I’m glad that my friend cared to drop by the kit to cancel all my worries. 

I’ve read some articles online and found out that the self testing kit gives a reliable result if positive, and may not be reliable if negative. Oh well, whatever. I’m confident that it’s negative because the fever subsides after a day, though I still have the colds until now. Anyway, claiming that I’ll be okay by God’s grace on Monday. 

Nevertheless, do you know that influenza was once a dread word that means plague a long long time ago. Today it is spoken lightly, like “I’m bugged with the flu.” Many believe that Influenza, in this age of miracle drugs, is an antique anxiety we don’t need to fear any longer.

Nowadays, we have the flu vaccine and I never got one ever since. I mean at my age, I think my immune system can combat the virus with proper nutrition, water therapy, vitamin C and a good sleep. In my opinion, the flu vaccine would be best for immuno- compromised patients and the elderly. Anyway, that’s not a medical advice. If you think you need it, so, why not? 

The other day my sister just had the flu vaccine. She got it for free as part of the company’s health benefits. She doesn't have any complaints of after effects, whatsoever. All good. Perhaps  in my case, I’m still a minimalist even with the medicines, lol! Thank God, I really don't get sick easily. The last time I had a fever, was I guess way back 2015 after traveling from Manila, anyway that only lasted for just a day.

Just some important facts about flu. 

  • Flu returns in cycles. So, we have to try to be healthy at all times. 

  • Pneumonia is a major complication. Don’t take it lightly, especially for the aged population.

I blame the weather for this bug. Usually when I’m a traveling PT, I can’t avoid being outdoors, and nowadays the humidity is excruciating. Then later in the afternoon, the rain pours and I think this stresses me out. On top of that, last weekend, I drove to the airport back and forth in just a couple of days' interval. The flight delays and extended waiting hours I guess had worn me out. 

This would be all for now. I'll try to go back to sleep. Actually, I've been sleeping and resting the entire day so I was able to find some time and energy to write something at this time.

I hope y'all are in the pink of health! God bless and thanks for reading!


Lead Image by me.

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

05/14/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Join us on #Club1BCH Discord Channel


10
$ 3.62
$ 3.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
+ 9
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Free write

Comments

yeah, it's the crazy weather for sure. Kaya ingat lagi sa ganitong panahon. Get well soon and stay safe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

so far miminsan lang talaga ako magkalagnat...pero yung migraine ko yung kadalasan nag ti trigger lalo na pag stress ako...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cgruro nga dhil paiba-iba ang weather toz lagi k ding lumalabas pra sa trabaho, iba ibang tao ang nkkahalubilo. Mabuti at ure better na

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis, paiba iba na kasi ang panahon ngayon. Ako doble ingat para di sipunin or magkaubo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hirap magka flu ngayon ate at uso ngayon dito samin dahil sa panahon na pagbago-bago. Water therapy lang ate or kaya gamot agad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am glad its negative.. si baby ko nagka lagnat din nawala na then tonighg bumalik ulit .... Ayaw pa.naman nya ng gamot

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Basta ako, doc kapag ka may flu, bioflu agad ang panlaban ko. Kumusta kana ate? Okay kana ba?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pero okay na okay kana sis? Mahirap maanuhan ng flu these days, sasabihin agad covid eh noh. Mabuti at nakapagcheck ka kung negative or positive ka sa covid. Keep safe always.

$ 0.00
1 year ago