Books I Grow Up With

11 65
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Milestones are these progressive events that we learned and developed as we grow older. Like when you utter your fist word mama or papa at 10 months, and learn to walk at 12 months.

My journey through life with books were like milestones as I see it through now. I tried to jog my memories how it begun and I must say that it started in the library in primary school. The library perhaps was so enchanting for me in my childhood.

When I was a little kid, I can only remember my grandmother reading the newspaper and my mom on her favorite tagalog (Filipino) magazines. That was the only exposure I had with reading at a very young age when I even don't know how to read yet. Thus, my perusal with these things were only through photos, that's it.

Free to share with attribution https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nancy_Drew

On my elementary days, the school had a huge library, the smell of books was addicting and the silence of the place was fascinating. At this point, my love  affair with books started. I'm a fan of borrowing books from the library and even stayed there if we don't have "patentero" practice with my classmates. Perhaps at the age of 9, I explored reading thick hardbound books of Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys. These were the books, I could remember reading with. Most stories were suspense, mystery and thrilling kind of genre. Funny, I must've indulged so much on this stuffs that I started to have nightmares few months before our graduation, this time my mom started to become frantic and guess I had a long day of scolding from the books I've been reading. Mind you, these books aren't morbid and horrifying, just my mom overreacting.

Free to share with attribution https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Archie_(comic_book)

Since then, my mom forbids me to read books of that sort. However, in middle school I got hooked reading comics! This time I was not alone reading in the library because most of my classmates were a fan too- of Archie, Betty and Veronica, well Jughead too. I so love them way way back, lol! My age must be showing now. Obviously, these comical series can't be available in the school library, but that time there was this bookworm hub available in the city that offers books for rental, and this has been my sweet abode aside from my room. I always spare some money in renting books, eventually I got bored following Archie and his gang and started readiing Sweet Valley High - just a superficial romantic novels of high school drama, first love, crushes, and etc. Well, pretty much of an opposite from the first reading obsession so I didn't get any scolding from my mom.

Free to share with attribution https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Family_Album_(novel)

My literally book-ish milestone went up to college, this time with Danielle Steel's novels, and yes I'm still renting the books from that hub in the city. The bookkeeper already knew me, lol! And she even sponsored my membership that last year when the shop got closed. Sigh. Fortunately for some time, perhaps the reading population grew in number, another shop opened near our house. That time I'm all smile watching it open, it was like seeing ice cream in a hot summer day. However that time, I will be on my third year with my Physical Therapy course and reading pocketbooks was replaced with reading and studying absurdly thicker textbooks like the human anatomy, physiology, neuroanatomy, medical/surgical conditions and etc. It was a whole new world of reading exploration, this time not for a hobby but rather working on my future. For like four years I had completely forgotten pocketbooks. My face got stucked on the books I need to devote to pass the PT board exams. By God's grace I passed the exam and behold I'm done with the textbooks! Only for half a year.

Six months after passing the board exam, I got employed back to the school where I graduated as a College Instructor for the College of Physical Therapy, part-time with the College of Nursing. This time I have to love again the textbooks that was once thrown out from my life, for the sake of adulthood - career and work path. This time I juggle it with the books I grow up with, not the pocketbooks from Danielle Steel or Sweet Valley High, Archie, Nancy Drew and the like. The milestone leveled up, guess I mature somehow.

Free to share with attribution https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Little_Prince

The first comeback book I've read was the "Little Prince," those cute illustrations and drawings were maybe too childish but it has deeper meaning about friendship, family and life. This genre took me to the books of Mitch Albom, Paulo Coelho, Og Mandino and other authors who writes stories about life in general.

Today, I'm still on my reading streak with read.cash and I still love reading YOUR story and writing my story in between.

The bonus of earning and learning about BCH and cryptocurrencies will always be a new delight exploring at this new era of digital technology. Well, I love this part too!

Just amazing where my reading takes me!


Just a random article when I had a fun short chit-chat with a patient this morning while she's on treatment.


Photos 'Free to share' with attribution link on the image.

Lead Image from Pixabay 'Free to use'

Photo below is MINE.


#Books #NancyDrew #HardyBoys #ArchieComics #SweetValleyHigh #DanielleSteel #PauloCoelho #MitchAlbom #TheLittlePrince #OgMandino #textbooks #ReadingMilestone #ReadingJourney

9
$ 31.66
$ 31.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 4
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

Books we grow up with can hold a special place in our hearts. These childhood favorites often evoke memories of cozy reading nooks, imaginative adventures, and beloved characters that felt like friends. Sharing these books with a new generation can also be a wonderful way to pass on the joy of reading and inspire future bibliophiles. The books we grow up with hold a special place in our hearts and remain a cherished part of our personal libraries for years to come.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The Little Prince is an amazing book! There's a reason there are so many positive reviews for it. This book is filled with emotion, philosophy, advice, and reminders that the adult forgot what it was like to be a child. A very kind, sincere, cautionary tale. This book inspired me to become a writer. I wrote my first book when I was 15, and now I'm writing an essay for https://studyessay.org/do-my-essay/. I often think of this book when it seems that your world is falling apart and it's impossible to change anything, then "The Little Prince" helps me remember all the good and light in our world because you shouldn't live to make a career or something unseen, but to dream, love and become a better person.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Each book has its own meaning, you can grow and have certain views according to what you have read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love reading but I ended up in sleeping everytime I read a book 😆 I love mystery and horror novels, something thats have thrill.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. I only borrow books from the library when I was in elementary because it was required to have stamps on our library card. Our teachers always say that we wouldn't pass if we dom't borrow books. Of course we all did. I borrowed books but never gotten to read them.

But I don't know what grade or year I was but my brother and I used to buy books. Hardy Boys for him and Goosebumps for me. But my mom stopped buying us books because it was costly. LOL. I love The Little Prince. I'm not really a bookworm, I'm more of a comics and cookbook person. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're lucky you have library during elementary days.. my sister who was way older than me have those archie, sweet valley high, jessica and ashley kate (ata ung twins), Garfield(3 inch thick book which I keep bugging my mom to cook lasagna- the fav food of gar), and also nancy Drew's, I was also 9 that time when I keep getting these books from my sister na d q nman maintindihan maxado kya I always have my dad's dictionary. Toz ung mga comics, and tagalog magazines tulad ng liwayway, tsaka ung mga fairy tale stories

And yeah danielle steel, isa lng ung nabasa qng novel nya na non-fiction..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Na amaze nlng ako now ng maisip ko ang bata ko pa pala nagbabasa ng libro, hehe! Sikat pala ng liwayway noon, yan pala ung binabasa ng nanay ko 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga no, sikat xa.un din binabasa ng nanay q tsaka ung bannawag magazine prang ilokano version. I was only reminded about books when I read this and believe me dhil ata sa kagustuhan q lng na magbasa I have the new testament bible, paback to front ung way q ng pagbasa ksi na nabored aq dun sa mateo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was never in a library until I went to college. I remember reading a lot of books when I was a teenager but I don't remember the titles but the comic strips of rich Mc duck, Archie, Donald duck and many more, those I do remember.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Archie is so famous! Lol! A highschool friend of mine whom I've been exchanging comics before still loves reading comics until now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would still read them too if I could get my hands on those comics. But here it's been many years since I've seen them again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago