What is a Narcissistic Personality?

21 59
Avatar for Luna1999
2 years ago

Have you ever heard the term narcissist? Is narcissism a disorder of a person's personality? Some people say that one form of narcissism is people who like to preen and beautify themselves. Is it like that? In an article on the www.helpguide.org site, I look at the characteristics of someone who has a narcissistic disorder including:

  1. Grandiose sense of self-importance

  2. Lives in a fantasy world that supports their delusions of grandeur

  3. Needs constant praise and admiration

  4. Sense of entitlement

  5. Exploits others without guilt or shame

  6. Frequently demeans, intimidates, bullies, or belittles others

source: https://www.helpguide.org/articles/mental-disorders/narcissistic-personality-disorder.htm

If you, your friends, or your family have six or four of the above traits, then you or someone you know is someone with a narcissistic personality disorder.

From the characteristics mentioned above, then we can imagine or visualize how the behavior of someone who has a narcissistic disorder. In my opinion, someone who has a narcissistic disorder looks arrogant and likes to show off what he has. If we talk to people who have narcissistic disorders, surely they like to exaggerate. And one more thing, they will often look down on other people, because they feel their status is higher than anyone else.

A narcissistic personality disorder is very similar to a histrionic personality disorder, in theory, the two have slight differences. Histrionic Disorder focuses on oneself, whereas Narcissistic Disorder focuses on overestimating oneself. Both personalities are very annoying and we would get annoyed if we were with them. Because people like them will constantly talk about their strengths and don't care about other people. I don't know yet if Narcissistic and Histrionic personalities are related. But this annoying personality must be dealt with immediately.

To cure narcissistic personality disorder does not seem easy to do, even quite difficult, because it is related to the mindset (cognitive). Healing like this is not as easy as dealing with someone who has an anti-social personality (schizoid), because an anti-social personality is related to behavior and anxiety.

The right way to handle cases of narcissistic disorder is with a psychoanalytic approach such as the application of catharsis which is used to release all emotions experienced by people with narcissistic disorders so that a psychologist can find out what happens to someone who has this personality disorder.

Thank you for reading the article I just wrote. I hope this article was helpful and I also pray that we all stay away from this annoying narcissistic personality disorder.

The lead image source by Unsplash

10
$ 6.74
$ 6.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 5
Sponsors of Luna1999
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Luna1999
2 years ago

Comments

This reminded me of people I have encountered who seem to be their own god. And I think it is true, that people who are narcissistic have previous bad experiences. I know someone who has been bullied in the past became one and he seems to enjoy doing it, without regard to other people's feelings.

Thanks heaps by the way for the sponsorship, Luna. You rock!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome CJ. Hope you're not surrounded by narcissists

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thankful that I am not. I'd go crazy if I am, haha. I hope you are not too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But the truth is, I have 1 friend who is narcissistic. We are at the same university, but in different majors.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh... when I encounter people like that, I just leave because I'm afraid I might say something hurtful :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang daming ganto feed lang ng feed un ego haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hi, you know that i don't understand tagalog hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the worst part of narcissists is when they are your family. I've heard many cases of people suffering becauses they are living with narcissists mothers, fathers or siblings. Hopefully, mental health will be an important topic in school and also for the goverment because it's a crucial topic to live in a better society.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know if psychology is appropriate in school, but it's a good idea. At least mental health is a subject in school

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A person with this personality is hard to be a friend because they surely take you down, and maybe she/he used you for their own good. Thanks for another knowledgeable article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. It's very annoying if you have a friend who has a narcissistic disorder, we can stay away from or no longer be friends with her. So, what do you do if one of your family members has this personality disorder?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe if one of my family has that personality I bring him/her to the psychiatrist to know how to cure it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

but it's not an easy thing. People who have narcissistic disorders have huge egos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe I'll try to convince her/him by saying that it was for her/him safety. Because you will never know what you can do if you had that kind of mind. If he/she did not convinced maybe I'll talk to my family and bring him/her even though he/she won't.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

but don't be too cruel with them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I will, I don't want to be cruel to them also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The NPD narcissists have one very telling habit and that is deception.
They can lie almost non-stop.
They have a need to wrap their self-perceptions as a kind of protection.
They have learned to believe their own versions of reality.
Many authors describe some of this as "gaslighting".

  • NPDs desperately need people to believe their version.

Inside, they have some tragic breakage,
so do not be cruel to them.
They are just people who need to be dealt with carefully,
from a very safe distance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've never had a case like this, so I'd better keep the limits to people with NPD. Even though they are in my friendship, I have to tell them how their words and behavior affect my life. However, I had prepared myself for the fact that they might not understand or even care.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Es triste ser así narcisista. Así tengo un hermano y por mas que hablemos y le expliquemos que esto no está bien no cambia y es tan feo ser así.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hay que tener cuidado porque son muy buenos engañando. Tampoco les importa incluso si les aconsejas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Si muy buenos y manipuladores diría yo. Que triste hallan personas así. Es duro. Linda mañana te deseo

$ 0.00
2 years ago