Is It Worth It To Live Alone?

17 67
Avatar for Luna09
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Experiences

I can only speak from my experience, so here it goes;

When I graduated high school, my Lola passed away. So I decided not to pursue college and I started working. I lived with my aunt at that time while my 2 sisters lived with my father and stepmother. I was full of resentment towards my father so I'd rather lived with my aunt than lived with them. But now and then, I visit my sisters to make sure that they were okay and gave them money. While living with my aunt, I feel like I was suffocated. So I made a big move and decided to elope with one bag in my hand and some money in my pocket.

I had never lived completely on my own before so I was full of hope and excitement to live alone in a big city. This time, there are no roommates, or even family and friends close by. 

I look for a job and luckily landed on a fast-food chain as a service crew. My routine was home-work and work-home. It was hard at first, I need to adjust. So to feel less alone, I got myself a pet, which I found on my way home, a kitten. It helps me tremendously. She was emotionally intuitive and she often comforts me when I'm upset by sitting on my lap and purring. We take care of each other, this helps me feel less "alone." So I guess, that's my first tip, consider getting some sort of pet before you move.

One thing in living alone is you get to develop and nurture the most important relationship in your life, the one with yourself. This, I feel is essential to just exist on this planet, but most importantly, when you are going to be living on your own. However, if you are not in a good place with your mental and physical health, I would strongly urge you to not live alone. This is when you need to lean on the people the most. Don't force anything that feels like it will just cause you to go overboard or be way too stressed out. Live alone when you are ready and when it is safe for you. Of course, you can always call a friend or invite them over for the night, because, yes, nights can be scary living alone. Sometimes I find myself shaking and crying just to hear a loved one's voice or have someone give me a big warm hug. This of course was just my experience with anxiety and depression mixed with living alone. I'm not suggesting it will be this way for everyone, but this is why I would also suggest if you can, find a safe and friendly neighborhood. Develop good relationships with your neighbors if you can. Just smiling at someone and having a silly talk about the weather can help you feel more secure and grounded.

My last tip would be to adopt if you haven't already, a good routine. This will help you more secure and stress-free. Exercise, exercise, exercise! Yes, I feel exercise is vital for everyday well-being, of course, but to also keep a strong healthy vessel so that you can handle being on your own.

So overall, YES, I feel it is worth it to learn to live alone. But let me tell you, it's gonna be rough. No matter which way you slice it. Living on your own, especially when you didn't have the best family life growing up and you weren't given/taught productive and healthy coping skills, is going to be one hell of a ride. But I do think, it's an experience almost everyone should have at least for a year or two. 

My personal opinion is that, as humans, we are generally wired to thrive when we live with others who love and care for us. I gave it my best go and I'm stronger and more resilient for it. When living alone, you just learn so much about who you are without all the noise. You learn to love and care for yourself and it strengthens your bond with not only you but the other relationships in your life as well.

Wishing everyone who is living alone a safe 2021. Be safe and stay kind.

-

lead image source

11
$ 0.40
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
+ 3
Sponsors of Luna09
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Luna09
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Experiences

Comments

My mother always yelling at me why I prefer to be alone rather than playing or interacting with my friends. My father were angry when he said that I could not live alone without them but I know to myself that I can be alone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Being adventurous is a good thing, At some point in our life, I guess we need to live independently. But do it because you want it for yourself and not because may gusto kang patunayan sa iba.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have become independent when I used to live alone,I learn to do my laundry and cooking when I was in a boarding house.For me it really helps.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Yes sis, because there is no one that you can rely on but yourself.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can't imagine the hardships. But you seem well po. Grabe ang hirap lang siguro pero napakastrong niyo po, kinaya niyo.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Thank you, I was thankful na ginawa ko yun kasi dhil jn madame ako natutunan sa buhay at madaming experiences. Madami din akong nakilalang tao.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Realizations of someone who experienced living alone. I kind of relate with all that you said. And yes, we wish all those living alone security. It would be really good to find nice neighbors.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Yes, good neighborhood really helps when you live alone. It feels more secure. Thank you for stopping by..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woah, napaka strong po titaaa! Feeling ko d ko kaya yun. Tipong teenager tapos binubuhay mag isa ang sarili. You did great titawap :)) It makes me wonder how amazing you are in person for managing it for so long :))

$ 0.02
3 years ago

One

Hahhahaha, thank you. I guess what gave me courage to do it was the circumstances that im in. Of course, andun un takot pero mas nangibabaw sa akin yun kagustuhan ko na makawala sa sitwasyon.. Hehehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay oo rin po, kung Ganyan rin po sitwasyon ko, matututo ka talagang sumulong sa buhay. Wieee, so proud tita. What a wonderful life story to share :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you beh..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes po 'coz it will makes u to be responsible n will taught u to do things on your own po n it will also makes u matured din po kc ala po kaung aasahan kundi sarili nyo lng po

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Yes bheng, kaya siguro dapat once in our life need natin na mamuhay mag isa.. To be independent and strong.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Opo, tma po kau jn, salamat po sa upvote n salamat din po ky miss @Jane sa upvote nya din po, ndi po kc aq bnbisita po ng random rewarder po, 7 days na po, lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I started to live alone when I was in first year of college. After I graduated, I got a job immediately then live alone again.. And now abroad alone again 🤣🤣..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha,, pero malaki ang naitutulong satin, di ba. Naging independent tayo in every aspect. Yun lang, may downside talaga.

Btw, thanks for the upvote jane..

$ 0.00
3 years ago