When People Keep Asking Your Age

6 106
Avatar for LucyStephanie
1 year ago

What is age but a number, right? It can be any number from 1 to 100 or more if the person is lucky. But lately more people have been asking about my age. Haha.

"What's there to hide?", you might say. Well nothing at all, except that people won't expect the answer they would hear from me. This is why I would rather not talk about age most of the time but it almost always somehow comes up lately.

Naturally when someone is new many are curious about you and they will ask personal questions. One of them is asking how old a person is. Well I can only say, I don't look my age at all. Hahaha.

This is why I would rather not say my age but of course eventually I will say it. Lol. I'm too honest for my own sake. Haha.

So what's the point of this article? Just a reminder that life is not what it seems all the time. It is short and must not be taken for granted.

As people get older we realize how the old people are really right when they say, you must experience and enjoy life while you young.

Personally I was too much of a serious student up until I graduated from college. Sad huh? Haha. Not much of an enjoyment there. Lol.

I can only say I was only really able to have fun in life a few years after I started working. Lately am still not quite using my time on Earth really well as much as I'd like to. I'm trying to change it slowly but surely though it's not really improving that much.

When you're faced with mortality you will think about how you live your life too. Take for example, I recently "discovered" Nightbirde from a social media post of a former work colleague.

The celebrity singer passed away from cancer in February of this year and yet I'm sure she was able to live her life well. Watch this video so you'll know what I'm talking about.

From all the things I watched about her, time became the most important thing for her in the last few years. And even a little bit of hope is big enough for her so she could continue living life to the fullest, positively.

It's hard to really appreciate our life because we always take it for granted. Unlike the dying, they learn to take things as they are and change their mindset into a better one.

Of course some are never able to have a positive way of looking at things especially when hardships abound. Not everyone is equipped to handle life the way others can. There are people who can be independent and those who will always be dependent on someone no matter their age.

As you can see, it doesn't really matter how many years we've been alive. To some, what's more important is how they can spend time on things that they like to do or dream about doing. To others, being able to live happily without any burdens become an everyday goal.

"You can't wait until life isn't hard anymore before you decide to be happy." -Nightbirde

This is something we should keep in mind. It is always a choice to be happy or sad. We will never be able to avoid pain while we are alive. The best thing to do is live on and deal with it. Doing this takes the wisdom of having enough life experiences to become mature in mind and spirit.

What does it have to do with age? Time does. Again what we do with our lives is what matters. This is why I would prefer not to be asked my age at all. Haha.

There are times I feel like I haven't lived the best version of my life at all. I cannot accept how I don't seem to be improving my life as much as I like to. Why am I as old as I am when I haven't even done the things I wish I have already done at this age? Time passes so fast and then suddenly we're older than we prefer. It's just sad when life moves too fast and we are too slow to reach our life goals. T_T

How can we be happy and contented with our life and the number of years we have lived? That is the question.

I don't have all the answers but I definitely hope I can do more than I'm doing now. When you keep getting bored with life, someone said it means you don't have enough goals. Well I say, it means you may be taking your life for granted.

Yeah, we always disregard what we have. Comparison and envy is not good for us at all. Unmet expectations are what causes depressing thoughts. Life is not easy but we can look at it on the brighter side. We can choose to focus on the good and be grateful with what we have instead of always feeling bad for ourselves.

Easy to say but it takes a lot of practice to have happy and more positive thoughts than negative ones. Life is still good if only we can just focus more on the amazing and fascinating things we experience everyday

Did you know there are even several songs talking about time, aging and human life? Here's one of them.

Anyway I hope people won't ask my age anymore because it makes me go like this. Haha. (Do you think my thoughts are getting too long? Lol.)

But wait, I'm not that old yet as far as I'd like to think of the number. Haha. But I don't want to celebrate my birthday anymore. It's not part of our family tradition anyway.

I mean, why should it be celebrated when I don't even live my life to the fullest? I have regrets, hopes and dreams just like everyone else.

Perhaps I will just stop here and let you think about your age too. Lol. Do you like how old you are now? You see your parents aging and getting weaker and slower somehow, how does it make you feel? Will you continue to live the same way you do or do you plan on doing something else while alive?

XOXO

@LucyStephanie

* * *

All photos are from Unsplash.

Not a member of read.cash yet? Click here to join us in earning BCH! Let's microblog on noise.cash too! Noise app invite here.

7
$ 3.34
$ 3.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Itsfarah
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
+ 1
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
1 year ago

Comments

Old age anu yun? Kaya nga may Kid sa username ko eh hahha forever young yarn?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha sana di na lang tumatanda eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good or bad is a part of life, so instead of waiting for the perfect time, we should try to be happy in what we currently have. I don't know why people always stay curious about other's age.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, life can be hard but it can be amazing too. Lol I dunno why they ask the age question lately.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have a cousin who doesn't mind if people ask his age as what he always say, he is aging like a fine wine. I on the otherhand, sometimes think back on the memories I used to do when someone asks my age, then realizes I'm not getting any younger.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah for us women it's like, don't ask our age! Lol. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago