Unexpectedly Yours is Unexpectedly Great!

8 75
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Have you ever laughed a lot while watching a movie? Not because the punchlines are obvious and exagerrated but it's just naturally funny. πŸ˜† Unexpectedly I literally laughed out loud a lot watching this Sharon Cuneta and Robin Padilla romantic comedy film. πŸ˜‚ It is so underrated! πŸ˜…

On Saturday night, because I was able to use my sibling's computer I decided to finally watch a movie on YouTube. Well due to the pandemic a lot of Filipino movies have been uploaded by several film studios and are free to watch online.

Regal Films, Star Cinema, TBA Studios, etc., have old and new movies we can all enjoy watching. Ah thank you Lord more people can finally appreciate our movies.

Of course as with other countries not all are quality ones. But when you find the right one well you will definitely enjoy watching. Hahaha.

Last year I watched a lot of Filipino movies on Netflix too. Such a treat to finally get to watch these through legit streaming sites instead of in "pirated" entertainment websites. Hehehe. πŸ˜…

So anyway since I could finally watch on a bigger screen instead of just my mobile phone, I decided to search for something to enjoy. From the full movie search results I was able to find several Filipino ones. Eventually I ended up watching Unexpectedly Yours.

Poster found on Starmometer.com

When I first saw the trailer for this back in 2017, I somehow wanted to watch it. Well it seemed like a fresh concept at the time. I decided not to see it in theatres though because I didn't want to get disappointed as my expectations were low. Also I was already doing my double job stint at the time so I didn't really have the time to watch anything. I was working in the morning and at night just for the heck of it. Come on. πŸ˜… (Never again. πŸ˜†)

This is why it is such an unexpected experience watching it now. Literally it had me laughing out loud several times. I didn't even know it would make me laugh so much. πŸ˜† Like, it's an absolute thrill to watch. πŸ˜‚ The comedic timing and acting are just right, you'd never think it's fake acting or corny.

Sharon Cuneta has always been a great actress. I've watched several movies of hers and her acting is always authentic. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘ Robin Padilla on the other hand is more of the bad boy of Philippine cinema. Well until he became a Muslim after (or while?) being in jail, he had a complete turnaround since then. He has a lot of action films in his belt and of course several romantic and romantic comedies too.

Curious about the movie? Watch the trailer.

Trailer

Synopsis

From the YouTube trailer this is the summary:

For Cocoy, Jason, Yanni, and Patty, the end is the perfect place to start again.

The Megastar Sharon Cuneta (Patty) and Robin Padilla (Cocoy), Joshua Garcia (Jason) and Julia Barretto (Yanni) star in Director Cathy Garcia-Molina's rom-com "Unexpectedly Yours," about how love can and will surprise you (even if you don't want it to).

Story & Characters

This is a lighthearted film but it also has it's tender moments. It made me laugh a lot and in some scenes my tears also fell. Huhu. Despite the drama it is still not that heavy to watch. It's all fun and not slapsticky nor tacky. It's definitely done in good taste. I haven't seen this great quality of a movie in a long time!

Even my bitter heart found it wonderful to watch. It is not a fantasy story but it is lighthearted so don't expect and look for too much drama. This is not the movie for that.

It can be quite cheesy sometimes but it's always sweet. Awww. Of course the dramatic scenes are not that heavy but was enough to make me cry too.

There are some scenarios that you wouldn't find so funny but they made it seem fun. Call it a caricature of real life if you will but that's entertainment.

Screenshot from the trailer.

The characters on the other hand are quite relatable. Well I'm not saying I could relate with Patty being menopausal but with being a daughter instead. Cause there were times I also saw my mom being scolded by her mom (which happens in the movie too.) πŸ˜… Not such an OK sight to see but hey that's life. πŸ˜… Anyway the movie definitely shows how different generations were raised.

Usually millennials are more opinionated and communicative than the parents. The lead couple (Cocoy and Patty are in their 50's) were raised in a time when you're not really allowed to talk back at all. But of course it still depends as I have seen my mom arguing with my late grandma too when I was a kid. My thinking at the time was, well if she could do that to her mom then I would probably do it to her in the future too. πŸ€”πŸ˜†

There I was, a kid thinking parents should be respected, and then I would see my mother arguing with grandma whenever she would visit. Eh... πŸ˜… Well of course not all the time but they never fail not to argue.

It also slightly deals with separation, annulment, a broken family situation and a typical lower middle class extended family situation. I love that it doesn't dwell much on the sad moments because it wouldn't be such a romantic comedy if they treated the story differently.

Upon growing up I realized we can't avoid relationship problems as a couple and/or as a family. Those problematic situations will keep happening whether we like it or not. That's life. As is the case of the family in the movie. They have a different situation than us of course but still they are relatable. All in all it's a film that hits close to home.

On the other hand, the young millennial couple shows how life is these days. We are definitely into social media more since the last decade. Having a popular influencer as a neighbor isn't such a surprise anymore. Anyway their "love story" is cute but not really funny that much.

Screenshot from the trailer.




Acting

Watching Unexpectedly Yours was definitely an unexpected experience. Literally it had me laughing out loud a lot. Like, it's an absolute thrill to watch. πŸ˜‚ The comedic timing and acting are just right, you'd never think it's fake acting or corny. Everything was so natural like it's really happening in real life. (Except for the part where the owner of the company keeps going to her office instead of everyone going to his office.)

Sharon Cuneta has always been a great actress. I've watched several movies of hers and her acting is always true to life. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘ Robin Padilla on the other hand is more of the bad boy of Philippine cinema. Well that's only until he became a Muslim after (or while?) being in jail. He had a complete turnaround since then. He has a lot of action films in his belt and of course several romantic and romantic comedies too.

Of course not all acting scenes by everyone are perfect but overall they all did a good job! ❀

Production Design & Music

Since this is not a period piece, everything is just normal and nothing looks out of place. The hair, the clothes, the office, etc., are just right.

I like the color schemes of the clothes especially when the characters are at home. And they all have nice and big houses. Makes me wonder where the subdivision is located. Haha. Might go and review the Unexpectedly Yours again just to check where it is because they showed the location. Probably it was a sponsored movie that's why the actual subdivision name was shown. πŸ˜†

Screenshot from the trailer.

Also the theme song used is a revival music from the '90s. Hinahanap-hanap Kita is a popular song by Rivermaya. It gives the film an upbeat and happier feel to it despite some sad scenes.

It can make us reminisce those days when the song was new and popular. (Exactly like the movie since the lead couple have a history.) Good song choice to use as harana (serenade) material too!

Rating

Because I love it so much for making me laugh a lot and cry a bit, I give this movie a 10/10 rating! Haha. So much fun to watch. Good thing it's free to watch on YouTube. Also it has English subtitles so even non-Filipinos can watch it. 😁

Apparently this was a hit when it was shown in theaters and abroad. No wonder. Haha.

If you're still looking for a Valentine movie then this one is perfect for enjoying the funny and romantic moments. Sharon and Robin definitely still have that kilig factor. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

Have you seen this movie yet? If yes, did you like it too? In case you haven't seen it then I highly recommend it. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

Photos not mine and screenshots/images are from the trailer except for the poster.

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Come join us! Let's microblog onΒ noise.cashΒ too!

5
$ 2.72
$ 2.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Marts
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 3
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Comments

Haha! Was able to watch that too! Sa sine nga yata nun. Nakakatuwa yung chemistry and crazy banters ni Robin and Sharon. Nag-capitalize talaga sila sa nostalgia ng 90s haha! Naging decorative na lang talaga sina Joshua and Julia sa palabas. Hehe. Dami ko sinabi lol.

OK din talaga pagdating. sa romcom ang Star Cinema. Lakas maka-de-stress. Hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So true. Extra lang sila Julia at Joshua haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Where did my sense of humor go? I saw this one before but didn't enjoy it. Maybe because I was not into Filipino films. Glad you enjoyed :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ganern? Hahaha sad life d ka natuwa. πŸ˜… Dami kong tinawa nung pinanood ko eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakikita ko yan kaso Hindi ko pa natry panoorin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe ako rin so pinanood ko n s wakas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it was entertaining enough. Saw it on cable, I think. Good to de-stress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice. Long time no watch n ako sa TV. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago