Squid Game and My Thoughts on The Big Hit Story Of Losers

9 41
Avatar for LucyStephanie
1 year ago

Finally I decided to watch Squid Game. Last year it was very popular but somehow I didn't feel like watching it immediately. I mean, why would I? I didn't even know what it was about. All I was reading about were their comments on childhood games, gruesome scenes and a Filipino being in it too. Despite that, it really didn't sound very interesting at all.

Of course I was curious but meh. I could watch it whenever I like anyway. And so last week I did just that. I was too stressed out from working everyday almost without rest that I decided to finally stop doing it. It's time to rest and do nothing for a few days. And so in the middle of the week, because I read that it's gruesome and I was feeling kinda "murderous" πŸ˜‚, I watched episode one.

Screenshot from the Netflix Squid Game website.

Okay this is not exactly a review but more of a commentary on life in relation to the Netflix hit show. When you're feeling down and negativity is around you, it is easy to be miserable. And so what is more miserable that could make you feel better than seeing others who have it worse than you?

Well anyway I didn't know it was really a story of losers. That's the first thing I thought of when I was watched the first episode. I did read something along how the characters are relatable and such but now I definitely understand why. When you're the bottom-feeder and still believe in luck, gambling and easy money instead of hard work then you're doomed indeed. πŸ˜‚

Actually in the first few episodes I was beginning to think I shouldn't be watching how losers live their lives. I mean, that's pathetic and something we should not identify with. (For sure it showed everyone how people like them actually think.) Alas, in reality there are many people like them. That's why I mentioned in my previous article, it's a lost cause when we live with thoughts of false positivity, hoping against hope and wishful thinking. Acceptance is really a hard and bitter pill to swallow.

If you haven't seen the show yet, here's the trailer so you get a bit of an idea what it's all about.

While watching I was thinking, people shouldn't watch it because they might imbibe the same thoughts as them. I mean, jeezus, why be a gambler and take on multiple loans from others when you will just lose all the money thinking and hoping you will win more? Better to start a business instead of just relying on luck and gambling!

It's best to start looking for another job instead of stealing from your old and industrious mom too! Good lord, the audacity. πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ But yes, storywise of course all of those are necessary to show how desperate the characters are. Way to set up a story huh. Good job Mr. Hwang Dong-hyuk!

Photo of Hwang Dong-hyuk by 이런 κ²½ν–₯ via Wikipedia. CC by 3.0

Halfway through Squid Game I wanted to quit watching entirely. During the course of the week I only watched when I could while I dealt with real estate work again. Ugh. Had to deal with a terrible headache inducing situation last week.

You know, greed will really bring out the worst in other people who would have been nice. It is disappointing to see the change happen right before your eyes. πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ We're talking about just a few millions of pesos here. Anyway I have prayed and given the matter over to God since I know I cannot do anything else. My manager and I have done our best but of course people will choose to do things on their own despite your advice and best intentions.

In the series, when people are put in a situation over a really substantial amount of money, you will definitely harm other people just to survive. Especially if you have nothing to lose, you would not think twice as long as you can stomach the consequences. Imagine, if everybody you're "playing" with dies you get billions of money?! OMG. It's literally a kill or be killed situation.

As the story progressed it started to get better. I thought that was good because otherwise I would really stop watching the next episodes. Hahaha. Who would want to watch the lives of losers and willing murderers? Their thoughts are not a good thing to put in your mind. We are what we eat, see and hear after all.

So eventually I finished the series last night and well, the ending is a pretty good one despite other people not liking it. Haha. It definitely sets the stage for Season 2 and I wanna know what happens next! That'd be a much better show for sure! I'm more excited to watch the next one. πŸ˜†

After watching everything that's the only time I read some articles about the show. Surprise! Even the writer/director said the same thing about Squid Game: "This is a story about losers." And yes it partly came from his personal experience and life situations too.

The question you may be thinking is, am I better off than people like them? Well, how about you? Because theirs is a fictional world we are definitely in a good place compared to them. Yes we have all become losers at one point in our lives. There are also those who choose to stay the same from birth 'til death. For some, no matter how hard you fight it, if you don't rise up to the hardest challenge ever and change your life without stepping on other people then you will stay as you are.

Squid Game Series Poster

The hardest thing to do is change ourselves. No we cannot change other people whatever we do too unless you are a master manipulator and have tons of money to force people to do your bidding. Except the mastermind of the Squid Game didn't really force anyone but just merely prodded them along. Haha. Ah rich people. What a great plot twist. Clearly Hwang Dong-hyuk knows how to make a great show. Kudos and I can't wait for the second season!

If I was to rate the series I'd say it's 8 out of 10. It's entertaining despite the harsh realities of their lives. Better to watch than be in it you know. Hahahaha. It should serve as a wake up call to everyone but it doesn't exactly show how one should get out of poverty and that mindset.

I can't say being successful is all about hard work because look at me now, still not rich enough at my age. πŸ™ƒ (They also say it's all about happiness and positivity. Well hey sorry if most of us are filled with doom and gloom.) You also gotta know some people. You know... connections.

Aside from that, the series didn't show how someone cannot change who they are immediately unless they really decide to. Yes of course, that would be a different story. You can't do a permanent 180Β° change of personality unless you have decided and committed to do it completely after being in a life and death situation.

Anyway that's all I have to say about it now. Have you also watched it yet or no? For me it's not really life changing or anything but it's entertaining enough. It can serve as another reminder to mind our greed. Let's not expect to get rich quick without grave consequences. πŸ˜‰

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

All images not mine and copyright of Netflix unless otherwise noted.

Other Movie/TV Series Reviews:

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Come join us! Let's microblog onΒ noise.cashΒ too!

4
$ 1.79
$ 1.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @DennMarc
$ 0.01 from @trifoi
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
1 year ago

Comments

The director of squid games confirmed the season 2 of the show last night. I can't wait!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah that's good news indeed. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've watched it too and can't wait for season twoo hehehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah I wonder what will happen next.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ’—πŸ’—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love squid game show and its games. You know, you will never understand the title when you didn't watch it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly. Hehe. That's why it was refreshing to watch too despite all the violence.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I didn't watch during the time it was popular. I am the type who are not into bandwagon, kind of stubborn about it, but now that you made a commentary, it sounds interesting!!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe me too. I don't join bandwagons as well. I hope you enjoy it if you watch it. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago