My Favorite Tortoise Stories (3)

3 22
Avatar for Lucifan
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Fables

Hello guys. This is going to be the last in this interesting series as I think I'm running out of tortoise stories and you're probably getting tired of them. Forgive my manners. Hope your day went well my friends. By this time, I'm sure work has fully started. Hope it's not too stressful for you. Or at least I hope it is rewarding in it's own way. Take care of yourselves guys coz no one can do that better than you.

Now to today's stories. Prepare for a little more of tortoise the villain.

1) Tortoise and dog 1

Once upon a time, there was famine in the animal kingdom. The land was barren and the rivers were dry. Cannibalism was beginning to shine reasonable to most. Needless to say that all animals were getting so thing you could recreate a picture of their skeletons of you had a pen and paper and had only seen them once! Well, this was true for all except (yes) dog! Tortoise the cunning was of course the one to notice something as trivial as this. Just imagine that there's a whole kingdom of animals and he can tell exactly what's up with each one to the extent that he can tell if you've not lost enough weight! Well, being the cunning one he was, he approached dog about it in confidence. "Dog my friend how are you". "I'm fine thanks". "Really?". "Yeah". Tortoise bursts into tears. Aww man don't cry like that you know I'll do anything to help just tell me the problem. In tears "really? Any... (blows his nose) anything? " Yes my friend. Okay thanks dog. I want you to share your secret with me. Secret? I have no clue what you're talking about. Tortoise starts crying again. Aww man I really don't like it when people cry don't worry I'll tell you. You're talking about the famine right? Yes! Exactly! (His eyes light up). Dog agrees on a time for them to meet the next day.

On the morrow, tortoise arrives one hour before time and dog is not surprised. So dog goes in and brings a tuber of yam for his friend. Tortoise is surprised but a bit happy that at least his food problem for that day is solved. This happens the next day, and the day after that, and happens for weeks and after a while tortoise's curiosity gets the better of him and he starts persuading dog to tell him how he's doing it but dog puts up resistance for a while but tortoise resorts to his crying trick again but this time dog gets angry and even threatens to stop giving tortoise anything.

Dog knew his friend would try to monitor him and was always careful. He didn't accept any drink or even food from tortoise who he won't be forced to tell him. If anything at all, tortoise was persistent and wore down dog in the end. So he decided he would show him his secret. They agreed on a meeting time the next day.

Early in the morning before dawn two friends met and set out for dogs unending supply of food. After many hours they got to a farm and dog picked up a tuber of yam and was about to be on his way but tortoise reasoned that he couldn't go all the way just for one, so he helped himself to another, and another, and yet another until he could barely move. Dog waited patiently for his greedy friend got a while ago the time persuading him to let them go in time. As soon as they heard movement, dog started running back to the animal kingdom. But tortoise was too weighed down and there's a popular song my people in Yoruba land sing but I never could memorize it because I only understood the first line. Basically tortoise begs dog to wait for him and dog refuses. The owner of the farm caught tortoise and punished him accordingly making him work on his farm and preventing him from going back to his home and family.

Thanks for reading guys. I think there'll be one more of this because I wasn't able to tell more than one again. I'll see you tomorrow.

(:

7
$ 0.18
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 3
Sponsors of Lucifan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lucifan
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Fables

Comments

🤣 I like how despite how cunning tortoises tries to be, nemesis always catches up with him

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol... Yeah... Except when he's the protagonist!!! Lol...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago