Do you remember?:Games i played during my childhood days

16 256
Avatar for Loveleng18
2 years ago

-

This morning i woke up as early as 4 am and planning to write an article which i have on my mind before i forgot it. I prepared breakfast for us and sip a milk while thinking how will i going to make the flow of my article. When i finished my breakfast i checked already my readcash and there were lots of notifications so i check it first. Some is the upvote that i receive and also comment and replies and the published works of others. I read almost all of the newly published articles of different users. I should say that i enjoyed reading thats why i wrote this one in this afternoon already.

Before i start i would like to say thankyou to you guys who appreciates my works without you i think i stop making one since day one. You're my motivation and your works inspired me a lot.

Sponsors of Loveleng18
empty
empty
empty

Also to my sponsors thankyou again.

-

Do you remember your childhood days? Playing with your neighbors and friends outside your house? Thinking no problem at all. Spending most of your time playing. I bet some of you smiling while remembering those days.

As for me my only problem back when i was a kid is when my mother want me to sleep in the afternoon and guard me with a hanger on her hands because i might escape and go outside to play. And also when i forced to eat vegetables hehez i dont really eat vegetables but now i learn to eat some, my favorite is squash and eggplant.

While writing this, the rain began to poured down, lightning is seen and thunders startled you. It gives me vibes of reminiscing the past.

I start here.

Here are the games that i played during my childhood days : most of it are traditional filipino games that can be played in the streets.

https://www.pinterest.ph/pin/238972323948110166#imgViewer

Chinese garter

  • It is a game that is popular for Filipino children. In order to play this one you should have a garter around 2 to 3 yards long. But me and my friends use rubber bands and assemble it in order to make it long as alternative for garter. The game requires flexibility, balance and coordination. It is common to all girls. There are two people who stand opposite then hold the both end of the garter and the others will jump on it. I remember i am the most flexible that time and always saves my team. It is very tiring game since you need to jump and jump but its enjoying.

"Tumbang Preso" /(knock down the can)

Sample picture of the game

Source

  • To play tumbang-preso, you’ll need an empty can to serve as the center of the game and slippers to hit the can with. Five to ten children play with one chosen to be taya (“it”).

    The object of the game is to make the can fall to its side and retrieve the thrown slipper before the “it” stands the can back up. Source

  • When playing this one, i dont want to be "it", im scared they might hit me with their slippers or the can will go to me. But its fun playing this game especially when other players can't make the can down and they are all in the territory of the "it" they need to be careful in touching their slippers because if they touch it, the "it" will run to them and they will become the next "it".

"Pogs and teks"

Sample photo of pogs and teks

Source

  • Pogs and teks are piece of paper who has different print of either cartoon characters, artist, superheroes or anime characters and has a numbers which will serve as their power. You will going to flip this using your hands and wait until it touches the ground minimum of three players each and see if you win or lose.

  • I remember when i have lots of these "isang dangkal" thats what they called it when you have pogs and teks that is measure in inches long. I sell it to others so i have money for snacks. Hehez. Also others will scolded by their moms and say that they will going to cook it and let their kid eat it, well I guess that was a joke maybe they are just angry that they said things like that.

"Hide and Seek"

Sample photo of hide and seek

Source

  • I know some of you are familiar with this one. To play it someone needs to be "it" and other will go hide until the it finish counting. The "it" will going to find all the players and when he find someone he will going to say "boom" together with the person's name.

  • This is one of my favorite game when i was in childhood. We played it during evening so its more exciting. I remember when others are so silly, they will go home already without saying to the "it". I feel sorry for the "it" that time but that was for fun.

Tag game (outan/habulan)

Outan/tag game
  • Tag game is when the "it" will going to chase you so you need to run and run.

  • This was very tiring game because in able not to be "it" you need to keep on running. Or sometimes you and your friends will decide if you are allowed to climb in the high area or rocks so thst they will not chase you we called that place "langit". The "it" will not allowed to touch you when you are in the high place.

Jolens (marbles) game

Jolens sample

Source

Jolen or marble game

  • is also one of the game i played back then even if they say that its only for boys i insist to joined and play with them. In order to place this one, we will draw a square in the ground using chalk and put the jolens inside. We will target the jolens inside and when the jolens out to the square it means we own it already.

I think my article is long already and you might get bored reading it till the end so i decided to make a continuation of it.

Thank you for reaching this far :) feel free to leave a comment down there and let me know your thoughts about it.

Have you played some of these too?

-Loveleng18

All images are from google and cited the sources above.

7
$ 2.19
$ 1.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 3
Sponsors of Loveleng18
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Loveleng18
2 years ago

Comments

Parang kulang ang kabataan mo kung hindi mo nalaro ang mga yan. Yan yung mga panahon na wala akong iniisip na mga problema. Masarap balikan ang panahong iyan. Hindi pa masyadong mabibigay anh mga problema.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo true para satin yang mga ganyang bagay ang bumuo sa childhood naten. Walang problema laro lang ang nasa isip hehe. Thanks for reading :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ngayon parang wala nakong nakikitang naglalao ng ganyan, like karamihan sa bata ngayon puro gadget and online games na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mismo po totoo. Sosyal na mga bata ngayon may sarili ng gadget 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is brilliant, well I remember marbles or Jolen as you call. Of course hide and seek and Tag. It is a shame that nowadays so many children just play with their phones. I also remember playing football and basketball on the streets too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes such a good old days. I havent yet finish since i have lots of games that i played during my childhood. You're right that nowadays children is up to gadgets and online games.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh well I am looking forward to seeing some more, I love seeing the filipino words for them, and some games I don't even think I have seen, like the Chinese garter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope the continuation of it makes you entertain while reading :) thankyou

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've tried all of that! It is so much fun having this kind of childhood. I also shared my childhood memories a few weeks ago. What a good old days we had! 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its good reminiscing the past isnt it. Hehe, really i havent read it yet. I missed those good old days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is. 😁 2 weeks palang ako dito nung napublished ko yon hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lahat so far nilaro ko. lalo na chinese garter 😁 My memories nga ako jan kaso kakahiya ishare.. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Favorite kong laro yan hehez, share mo na po 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe thanks for the memories. I've played them all before, except for Pogs and Teks. I don't know what it is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really even the tumbang preso? Wow, it such a good memories isnt it. Imissed being a kid. Pog and teks are also fun games i guess its only in the Philippines.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The can game I tried playing but didn't enjoy. Boys liked it, though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago