Parenting Advice: Supporting a child's needs

1 25
Avatar for Love_16
3 years ago

Each of us has our own needs. The most common needs are food, water, shelter, clothes, and home. On the other hand, there are needs which can never be paid by money or any other material things.

When a parent works, his primary goal is to provide the needs of his family. He will work 24/7 if he can. He will always look for opportunities to earn money so he can secure the bright future is his child.

No parent will ever want his child to starve, be laughed at, be illiterate, or be stepped on by people. He will always want to be the one to take the blow his child will have to face if ever his child has done wrong. He will starve himself just to put food on the table. But this isn't all the needs of the child.

Child needs:

Child needs come in many forms. Others might have overlooked it but it will never change the fact that each of us has our needs which if not met causes a gap or misunderstanding between people.

Physical needs. A child needs to properly develop physically which is why natal care is important. As long as the child is inside the womb of the mother, the mother has to take care both of themselves. She's now carrying a baby. After being born, as the baby grows older, his physical needs differed firm what he needs since he was a kid.

Parents has huge part in the child development because they are the first people who was with their kids. If the parents were able to fulfill the child needs, it's a lot easier for the child to face the world. I'm not saying that the child will face less difficulties. What I'm saying is that whatever the child faces, things will be easier for him due to his family who supports them all the way.

Emotional needs. Women are more emotional than men. This is the saying that all of us has believed in since we were little but the truth is each of us has the tendency to become emotional. It's just that we handle it differently from each other.

Personal Experience:

My parents will never try to make me talk about something I don't want to talk about but they are always there waiting for me to tell them when I'm ready. They always make sure that me and my siblings never feels alone.

Financial needs. If adults needs finance to fend for themselves, the children needs it as well. It's not as though they can already provide for themselves at such a young age. Children needs financial support for their daily needs.

Personal Experience:

My fourth sibling was the one who supported my studies in college. Even if it's difficult, he made sure to provide me and my sister's needs at school. We're not rich so we must try to lessen our expenses at School. I learned that it was never easy to have my own money even though I experienced working for two years. If I hadn't experienced this, then I wouldn't know how valuable every single penny is.

Educational needs. The role of parents are not just to provide financially, they are supposed to be there whenever parents are asked to come to school no matter what the reason is. The number one priority of parents must be their kids.

Personal Experience:

Me and my siblings studied in public school since preschool. Whenever parents are asked to come to school my parents are often unavailable but they see to it that they come if ever they can. The only graduation when I have my mother is when me and my older sister graduated in college. I was thinking that if I was the only one to graduate, then she won't be there but that was also a very memorable one even if I wasn't able to take pictures with her.

Self-actualization needs. Achieving ones full potential which including creative activities. A child can't develop his talent by himself. He needs the support of the parents because they are supposed to be the first one to tell their kids that they are doing good in whatever they do.

Personal Experience:

I grew up without much resources to polished my talent. I'm quite talented in arts but I don't have the money to support it.

"When you're already earning your own money, you can buy more than the things we can't provide you."

My mom's words motivated me to do better for my good. I might not have been able to buy the things I like as of now but I'm glad to have the things I need.

Esteem needs. The first one to tell a child that he can is his parents. Even if the world around him says he can't as long as he has his parents by his side, he can surely do it. It's more than the words of affirmation, it's more in the actions done by the parents in order to make the child feel good about himself. His self confidence starts at home.

Personal Experience:

The first one who told me I can is my mother. She might not know what I'm doing but the fact that she takes some time to boost my confidence is more.thane bought for me to do a job well done.

Safety needs. The world is getting worst. You can't trust anybody about anything. There's danger anywhere you go. If the adults are prone to danger, how much more the fragile and vulnerable kids. They need to be surrounded with people who truly cares for them in everything they do.

Personal Experience:

Me and my siblings were never left alone at home without our parents or our older siblings. At this age of mine, I always have adults with me. Anything can happen to anyone that is why my parents always make sure that we have people to protect us.

Belongingness and love needs. A child who is filled with love can also pass out the love he has to others. A child needs to know that he belongs or he is important and the first one to make him feel that way is his family. Someone must be valued not for what he can offer but for who he is. Each of us wants to be loved. We want to live in a world filled with love. That can only be possible if love starts at home. If each person is able to receive the love he deserves, the world is easy to be filled with love.

Love comes in many forms but it all boils down to the fact that people are born and created out of love, hence, we are to share the love that we have.

Personal Experience:

I never felt unloved, pressured or unwanted because I have my family with me at all times. When I failed last year, they told me that it's okay and it's not as if it's the end of the world for me.

"There will always be next time. You weren't able to have what you want as of now, but you'll surely have it in the future."

That is what kept me going sane all throughout my whole 2020 journey. I am forever loved and they support me in everything I do. My failure is what made me see the things which I often take for granted.

Social needs. A child isn't born to be polite to everyone. He has his parents to teach him good manners and right conduct. It all starts from home. If a child is taught right, then the child is able.to act right, at all times. Yes, children has the tendency to have tantrums but that tantrums isn't for a life time. There will come a time when a child will need to become mature and be responsible for his actions.

A child must be taught that all lives matter and color is just color which doesn't make us lesser than others. A child must be taught that everyone is supposed to be respected no matter what his job is because job is just a title. A child must be taught about gratefulness, if not, a child can never appreciate the things he was given.

The root of it all is the home where the child lives. His needs must be met, not just out of responsibility but out of love.

Personal Experience:

You see, I'm not the kindest person you'll know but my parents raised me well to know my boundaries and respect every single person I meet. My parents are the reflection of every single thing I do so I always make sure not to worry them.

Spiritual needs. This is not everyone's cup of tea. The world is offering different things which aren't helpful. One of those is the belief that there is no God, when in fact there is. It's saddening because it's a fact that even if you don't believe, it doesn't mean that it isn't true. A child must know that there is God. It's his right.

Personal Experience:

I am not from a rich family so I grew up learning how to make out of all the resources that I have. I experienced recycling notebooks in order to lessen the school supplies that my parents will need to buy for us. I'm not excited to come to school to show off what I have because I somehow feel embarrassed with myself but I try to conceal it but keeping my distance and staying silent.

There was this one time when I forgot to bring my allowance at school. It was time for recess and I have nothing to eat because I don't have money with me. I have this one female classmate who walked over me and handed me her snacks. I know that it isn't much but still I happily accepted it.

"You can have that because I pity you."

I wasn't insulted because I felt her sincerity but that same things is what kept me from receiving help from others. I don't want to be someone they pity. I want to be someone whom they will think of if ever they needed something.

When I entered high school, I don't have that much needs at school since I'm studying in public school. Then I went to college where most of the times my friends will treat me with a meal. I felt so embarrassed with myself but they kept on telling me that it doesn't matter because I'm their friend.

It was etched in my heart and my mind to have a different tune of life the next time I meet them. I've seen this as the reason as to why I felt so pressured in going back to what I've finished in college. I want to become better in every single aspect of my life. That might not be possible for now but I'm sure that I'll get there soon.

You see, life isn't as easy it is for you. Others will have to work more than the working hours in order to feed themselves. Others will have to stay awake even at night just to have what they need.

I'll forever be grateful to my parents for raising me this way. It's what keeps me motivated to work harder and allow them to experience the luxury of life which they were never able to have. I'm proud with my mom for choosing to give birth to all of us eight siblings even if life wasn't easy. I thank them for sustaining my needs even if it wasn't a hundred percent. I'm blessed to have them.

Love_16

January 8, 2020

Friday

Sponsors of Love_16
empty
empty
empty

12
$ 6.12
$ 6.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Infinikxs
Avatar for Love_16
3 years ago

Comments

I totally agree.A child's needs is not limited to material needs but those mentioned here is also vital to raise a child.

$ 0.00
3 years ago