Dealing with writer's block

5 36
Avatar for Love_16
3 years ago

I'm experiencing this as of now. I was having a hard time to write. I have so many drafts but I can't seem to add more details to it. I had to open my drafts one by one and not be able to add up a single detail to it. I never thought that I'll experience this.

Normally I write up to two articles per day. If ever I'm in the mood for writing, I can write up to three articles per day. One in the morning, one in the afternoon and one in the evening before I go to sleep.

I thought it was just my stress kicking in because I was experiencing hyper acidity and heart burn. I also thought that maybe my hands and fingers are just tired for typing too much but I was wrong. After allowing my hands and fingers to rest and allowing my stomach to calm down I still can't write anything. It's as if I've lost all the ideas I've had for a few days now.

This is my first time to experience it because normally I have so many ideas which makes me able to write a few articles, short stories or poems. I always have drafts so I won't need to think of a new topic everyday.

I started a series of articles by December 2020. I started my read cash journey last November 5, 2020 and now I have written more than 50 articles. But now, I'm having difficulty in writing.

It was new to me because most of the times I have too many thoughts running on my mind which is exhausting both physically and mentally. I've had to clean the house, make an art, or do a few house chores to calm my mind. Of course, the first thing to all of this is prayer.

This article is also dedicated to a reader who commented in one of my articles and asked me if I can write about writer's block.

What I write. I often write about my own personal experience. It's easier for me to write about something that I experienced first hand. I feel safe in writing in read cash because I'm using a pen name. My identity is unknown except for my age which I often write in my articles. I feel more at ease when I write something about myself.

When I write. I write depending on my mood or my journey for the day. If my journey is something worth sharing then I write about it. If I have my monthly period I can't write because most of the times my dysmenorrhea is unbearable. When I need to go out to finish up my requirements for my new job, I don't write. I write when I have the proper focus for writing. I don't want to feed my readers and subscribers with articles which aren't worth reading.

How I write. When I wake up, I fix my bed, eat breakfast, clean for a while, do my daily devotion then focus in writing. After writing one article, I will watch kdrama or interact with my friends through messenger. I even video call my siblings, nephews and nieces. My surroundings has to be quiet so I can focus in writing. I am easily distructed by the noise around me. So when I'm in the mood for writing, my family knows that they had to give me a silent space to write.

Since we live in squatters area, it's difficult for my surroundings to stay silent so I'll have to make sure that our home is conducive enough for writing.

Why I write. I write to express myself, gather my thoughts, organize my ideas and share my experiences. This is the right outlet for an introvert like me to connect with others. I'm filled with joy whenever there are people who takes time reading my articles, then leaving a comment, like or even a tip. It's like a fuel to my desire to keep on writing.

Who I write. I often choose to write about my family or those people around me. I also include a few bible verse as an encouragement to others. This is because I believe that God's words are the best encouragement more than the words I have written in my articles.

I often just write and when I finished writing, I'll be surprised for how long my article is. I also write all the titles of my article so that I'll be able to monitor if I'm improving or not.

How I deal with writer's block

Take a rest. I fast from social media which means that I don't use it for a day or for half day to rest myself from repetitive negative news. It allows me to detoxify myself from toxicity that social media gives me. I sleep as early as possible. I can't write good articles of I'm unwell so I take a rest. I make sure to have eaten before writing. It's to help my ming focus on writing than to focus on my rumbling stomach.

I take a bath in the afternoon and take a rest afterwards. Since I have hyper acidity, the doctor advices me to eat just enough every three to four hours. I can't eat too much because I vomit. I only eat a little every few hours.

Experience as inspiration. I can never force myself to write about something I can't relate to. Each article I've written has a personal touch in it. I value each of what I've written because it's a part of me which I share to others.

Break the daily routine. It's also good to meet with other family members or with friends. I also go to church every Sunday. I take time to talk to my family through video call or personal talk.

I even sing with my siblings so I'm not just focused on a particular thing.

Never force myself to write. I don't want to hate writing so I don't write when I don't have the inspiration in writing. I allow myself to take a break and calm myself down.

Eat what I want to eat. I eat dessert after my proper meal. Fruits or sweets makes my cravings satisfied.

Focus on what's important. Life isn't always the way I want it to be. I have struggles, ups and downs and a lot more, but I always see to it that my eyes aren't focus on what I can't do. I always set my eyes on the things which I have to do at the moment.

Take things slowly. When I'm overwhelmed, I have the tendency to lose my focus. Resting isn't enough so I pray and pray until I was able to pour out all my feelings and emotions to God.

Now, I see writer's block as a blessing in disguise. I won't be able to write for a while but it's like telling me to slow down and take a break from everything.

I also write a couple of drafts with only one specific topic since I'm now writing a series of articles.

I also set a specific goal with SMART.

  • Specific - One topic only

  • Measurable - Write until all my ideas are in written in one article

  • Attainable - I make sure that I'm not pressuring myself too much.

  • Realistic - I write my own experiences. In this way I'm able to relate and have a part of me in my article.

  • Time bound - I have a goal of at least two articles a day. One in the morning and one in the afternoon or evening.

After writing one article I allow myself to enjoy by watching kdrama series, listening to good music or just pampering myself with reading or eating delicious meal.

I have also started exercising after a yesterday. It's not just to lose weight but to become healthy. With this ongoing pandemic, it's important to invest in good health because health is wealth. I take my vitamins and intake water as much as possible because I'm prone to dehydration.

Writer's block is a little scary but it's part of being an aspiring writer. I can't always be in the mood to write. I also need to focus on other things.

If I've started my new job, I'll surely miss writing in read cash on a daily basis.

Experiencing writer's block is okay. It's part of being a writer. Never stop writing and never forget to take time for yourself as well.

Love_16

January 9, 2021

Saturday

Sponsors of Love_16
empty
empty
empty

8
$ 10.59
$ 10.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @DjennisQuant
$ 0.05 from @Morning_Star
+ 1
Avatar for Love_16
3 years ago

Comments

You are my new inspiration. I just love the way you write, its as if I am reading my own writeup. I love your laidback approach of putting your thoughts into words, slow and steady you move, little piece by little piece you feed your readers, with as little crumb at a time as possible. But they still are well fed in the end. Your humility and your introverted personality are so visible in your choice of words. I have learnt some valuable lessons reading this particular article and I am gonna make them count.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You just made me extra happy 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Super cool write up and totally agree with you on writing what you can relate to especially experiences...it's easy to joggle up an article from personal experience-i feel writing about your personal experience is a way of reflecting and honouring your past.

Often times it helps you appreciate life more, and it could be the help someone else needs to get off a similar situation.

One thing i do though, when i can find a quiet time or my brain is clogged up with a lot of different thoughts i just meditate to clear my mind...most if not all the time, something clicks and boom an idea is formed and the process begins.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so informative. But i can't eat what i like haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you'll be able to eat what you like soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago