Color Coding Ipon Challenge

4 14
Avatar for Love_16
2 years ago

I follow Chinkee Tan's Facebook page. If you don't know him, you can search more about him on Google or Facebook. He always posts about money matters such as how to handle money, how to save up money, how to invest, where to invest and all the other things about money. He is also a motivational speaker.

As you all know, I was unable to save any amount from my two previous jobs, and so I plan to start saving up with my third job. I have to start saving up money. There's a lot of things I would like to buy for myself and for my family. I also want to be debt free even before this year ends. I make it a habit not to spend more than what I earn. I don't have any credit card. I always buy things in cash. I don't like buying something that will make me feel worried where I'll get the money to pay for it.

I've had my first ever cellphone which I bought using my 13th month pay in my 1st job. It's still the cellphone I'm using until now. I felt envious of my workmates that time because they don't have responsibilities to their families. While I on the other hand, has to provide for my brother's needs in his studies as well as pay for my licensure exams review. I also give money to my mom plus my tithes and offerings.

When I was in my 2nd job, I decided to buy my family the food that we don't often eat. I gave a portion of my salary to my parents and since it's online class, I only have to pay for our internet bill. I have money but since we weren't expecting what happened to my father, all the money I have was used up that time. My siblings will pay me back since we're supposed to divide it into us siblings but I don't see it as savings.

Then I saw one post of Chinkee Tan's follower of Facebook where his mode of saving up money is through color coding. Honestly, this is the first time that I'll ever do this. It's the first time that I'll intensionally save up money. I plan to keep it to myself but I would love to share it with all of you here.

The color code that he chose was green. Every time he receives 200 pesos, he saves it right away. He said that it took him a lot of discipline, self control and will power to be able to do so. He was able to save up 40,000 in just a span of a few months. It was such an amazing thing to read which made me feel more excited to start saving up.

Saving up is really challenging but what's more challenging about it is the fact that I'll have to cut down from buying the things which aren't even really important. I need to weigh my needs from my wants and I actually plan to do this for a whole year. Just thinking about it makes me feel so happy and excited.

As the saying goes, if there's a will, there's a way. I'll have to stick to my dreams and goals in life. I need to save up money. I don't have a specific target amount of money but I do have a goal of saving up even if it's too difficult for me to do so.

I'll update once I already started my journey towards saving up money using the color coding method. By the way,the color in my mind is the color yellow 🟡💛

Love_16

November 9, 2021

Tuesday

Sponsors of Love_16
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 2.20
$ 2.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bbyblacksheep
Avatar for Love_16
2 years ago

Comments

I'm also saving up for our future needs. My parents are old and they don't have a pension, so I have to save just in case something will happen to them. Not that I wish for it but preparing. What I did wasn't color code but I discipline myself to cut savings instantly from my wage every payday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's nice. Another way of saving up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good luck with your color coding savings challenge. You can do it. 😊 what color would you choose? We also have piggy banks that are color coded. But because my earnings go straight to my e-wallet, I was not able to put in some cash on each piggy banks. Most of my money on my e-wallet is sent directly to all of my debts and other payables so I got nothing much to withdraw as cash but I am still thankful that I was able to pay my bills on time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's nice to hear! We will welcome 2022 debt free 🥳

$ 0.00
2 years ago