Three Possible Techniques To Challenge Yourself in Art

19 62
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
1 year ago

This supposedly my third article in Hive which I plan to publish October 13 but since I am having problem in that community, so let me share it here. By the way, how was your day everyone? I said in my previous article that I need to be productive here, but because of my busy schedule still can't accomplish it. But, happy to be here again, see your articles later.


Being an aesthete it always gives satisfaction everytime I share my work or piece. It might not that perfect but to finish atleast one art a day is already a big achievement.

When you're a newbie in making an art piece, you probably buy all art materials that you need but after that you get all of those, you will just stare in your sketchbook thinking what to draw. Although there are lots of ideas or subject that you can make, it is still not that easy to visualize on what will be your output.

There are three basic strategies to fill your paper based on how I start collecting sketchbooks.

1. Copy or Look for Inspiration

I am not talking about special someone as inspiration okay, what I mean is to search for art ideas that you can make. For example you might search, "Simple drawing ideas" in Google. But for most artist, they prefer to look in Pinterest when we can get thousand and millions of ideas.

This is an example of my copy artwork

I searched for a simple but cute ideas of drawing. What I want that time is to relax my mind. If you want to enhance your skills in drawing, I suggest you not to trace but to draw directly while looking at the picture, this will lead you to master your focus and measurement. I copy everything on it, even the color that I'm available with.

While this one, I used this house as an inspiration to create my own design

2. Prompt

If there are prompts in writing, you can also search for prompts in drawing. You can have 15 days challenge, or those prompt that is good for one month. This doesn't only give you the ideas but to challenge yourself to finish an art piece everyday. For example in your day one, it states "Draw an animal cartoon character", so the first thing that comes in my mind is Scooby in the Scooby-doo.

You can use markers or pencils.

3. Juxtaposition Technique

Juxtaposition is the technique of combining two unrelated things. To make myself more challenge, the strategy that I'm doing is to cut a strips of paper, and write those possible subjects that comes in my mind, such as flower, house, eye, pineapple, snake and leaf. I will fold it into half and keep in a box. Then everyday, I will pick two strips of paper, for example in day one, I picked candle and stone. In this case, it's my duty to create an art where the stone and candle mix together. Possible outcome might be a melting stone with a fire on its top.


Next time I will share some of my piece using Juxtaposition technique.

Hopefully you enjoy this short sharing of how I explore myself in the world of art. This can be a great hobby if you are willing to try. And one thing I learn is to trust the process. It might not look good for the first time but still learn and continue.


Disclaimer: This article aims to entertain and share basic information that I personal know and experience. All the photos above are personally made unless it was stated.

________________________

You can also find me in;

Noise.app

Or contact me in;

Gmail | Telegram

My appreciation to all my subscribers, upvoters, commenters and sponsor. GOD Bless! 
  • October 27, 2022

- ling01

18
$ 2.53
$ 1.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @reanbooks
$ 0.10 from @Alther
+ 14
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Brilliant artworks ling and also very good tips!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

From the look of it, I can say that you are really knowledgeable and have the passion in drawing. Thank you so much for this.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you Sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

scooby dooo! super cuteee

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Salamat Sis:D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Juxtaposition technique sounds interesting. That will surely bring out the creativity in you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, that's why I'm using it to challenge myself :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're really good in drawing 🥰.

Those days that I used to draw, sometimes I go in search of hard copy photos to draw. BUT I CAN'T DRAW ANYMORE 🙈

$ 0.04
1 year ago

If you continue it until now maybe you're sharing your works too here:D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like how you share all your works here, that mushroom house, hit me hard with those blue smokes, its feels like someone is tinkering and making good potions inside haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I've never think about the potions, but that's too witty of you hahha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just remember the enemy of princess sofia haha always making potions with blue smoke haha Perks of having a baby girl who loves watching that movie though hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You had made very beautiful art, I admired you in this regard. I wish you all the best in this regard. I am not able to participate in any art contest on hive.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Maybe you only need practice Sis:D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang ganda ng mga gawa mo sis. Gustong gusto ko. Mahilig din ako mag drawing sis pero tagal na akong natigil. Favorite ko yung art.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hopefully you will share some of your work Sis:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala akong picture sis kahit isa. Highschool pa ako nun sis ngayon wala na time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, very nice and good to look at. You're so blessed because you are good in arts,me I dont have a talent on that😢

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Just need practice Sis haha but thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago